Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-27-03, 09:12 AM   #1
DenverBuc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 137
Question Windows XP Memory Restrictions?

I just got a new stick of 512MB today and put it in my machine with 512 already in it. I am running XP Pro SP1 (rest of my vitals in my sig). (RAM is same spd and CAS)

My question is - anyone know of any issues with 1gig+ RAM on XP Pro machines? I haven't heard anything and am guessing my issues are because of a bad stick.

My specific issue is that after a random period of time (usually at least 10 minutes sometimes less) when playing battlefield 1942, it dumps to the desktop. This did not happen with just the 2 sticks of 256 in my pc and started happening right after I moved the stick from slot 1 to slot 3 and put the 512 stick in slot 1.

I finally took the stick out and started an RMA with NewEgg. I haven't played again, but am almost positive that is my issue since that was the ONLY thing that changed on my rig last night.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
DenverBuc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-03, 02:32 PM   #2
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default

Don't really know what your problem is... my system is Athlon XP 2400, Geforce 4 4600, Audigy 2, 1GB PC2100 Windows XP Pro SP 1 and I have never had any problems. Having said that, I read that if you have version 1.3 of the Battlefield 1942 patch installed then it causes crashes in the single player game and I think network play. They were supposed to fix it at some point. But my BF1942 was really unstable after patching to 1.3. Maybe when the new memory stick arrives you should test it on some other games too.
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-03, 06:22 PM   #3
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

is the ram the same brand?

and WinXP supports up to 4 gigs, AFAIK.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-03, 06:36 PM   #4
DenverBuc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 137
Default

Do you think brand would make a difference? I made very sure to get the same speed, CAS Latency, etc.
DenverBuc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-03, 06:40 PM   #5
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Brand VERY often makes a difference.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-03, 07:49 PM   #6
DenverBuc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 137
Default

I could see brand making a difference in overall quality, but incompatability between modules of the same speed and CAS latency, etc?
DenverBuc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-03, 08:04 PM   #7
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yup. Just one of those goofy little things. If the two brands use the same kind of actual CHIPS, then no, there shouldn't be a problem. But I really doubt this is the case.

Of course, one of the memory slots could be bad, but I doubt it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-03, 08:41 PM   #8
madthumbs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 188
Default

I've seen a lot of problems with Crucial (micron) ram lately. I've seen many times that it's the cause of the power supply that games crash to the desktop.
__________________
my pos
madthumbs is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-03-03, 04:35 AM   #9
Grechie
Powered By nVidia
 
Grechie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 554
Default

ill look into it more, but im sure there was a incompatibility FIX for xp for peepz with 1GB ram, ill try finding it and posting but im sure ive seen it

EDIT: i was looking on http://www.ethan-c-allen.com/xpsp2/ and i thought i found wat i was talking bout but i must of got confused with the fix that fixes u a freeze if u have 1GIG in hibenation mode, sorry my bad.....
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 || XFX nForce 790i Ultra || Corsair XMS3 PC10666 DDR3 2 X 2GB || 2 x GTX 295 Quad SLI || Antec 900 || Thermaltake Tough Power 1200Watt
Grechie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-03, 05:04 AM   #10
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Baron
is the ram the same brand?

and WinXP supports up to 4 gigs, AFAIK.
32bit CPUs also support 4GB max, so anymore is fruitless. Hence the limit.

Wait until 64bit CPUs for support up to 18EB of RAM. :evil:
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR

Last edited by Kruno; 04-03-03 at 05:07 AM.
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-03, 04:32 PM   #11
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
32bit CPUs also support 4GB max, so anymore is fruitless. Hence the limit.
Kinda. Both Intel and AMD chips have workarounds so that they can address more than 4GB of RAM (you know, server machines.. but damn, I'd like an nForce2 with 4GB of RAM!), but these decrease performance overall.

Oh well. Hammer soon.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-03, 08:29 PM   #12
Greg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,177
Default

If you've got more than 1 stick of ram, how about you use MemTest86 and try 1 at a time, and rotate them in the slots to find out if they are working individually and as a pair/set.
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
Hands-on: Windows 8's SkyDrive News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 07:30 PM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 06:20 AM
Sync it up: Hands on with the preview of Windows 8's cloud sync service News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 08:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.