Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-26-07, 11:53 AM   #1
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Upgrade from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista....

I currently have 32bit Vista Business.... much like XP, is it possible to upgrade to 64bit Vista Business for free? (i.e. is there a download for those of us who currently own the 32bit version?). Driver support is starting to improve some and i'd like to give the 64bit version a try as eventually I want 4gigs of ram, not to mention the ability to use features that will probably only be avaliable on a 64bit OS.
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-07, 02:16 PM   #2
Peoples-Agent
Vape Therapist
 
Peoples-Agent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,308
Default Re: Upgrade from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista....

Doesn't the 64 bit version come on the same DVD and you can choose?
__________________
For The Fallen
With proud thanksgiving, a mother for her children,
England mourns for her dead across the sea.
Flesh of her flesh they were, spirit of her spirit,
Fallen in the cause of the free.
Peoples-Agent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-07, 02:21 PM   #3
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: Upgrade from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peoples-Agent
Doesn't the 64 bit version come on the same DVD and you can choose?
No... at least there was no choice for me...
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-07, 04:43 PM   #4
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Upgrade from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista....

Quote:
Originally Posted by $n][pErMan
No... at least there was no choice for me...
My copy came with two discs, though I'm running Ultimate, not business. I'd just check the MS website. There's probably a place where you could have them ship the 640bit version of Business to you.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-07, 05:07 PM   #5
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Upgrade from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista....

Both the 32 and the 64 bit only come with ultimate. Any other version talk to microsoft and they will ship you out a 64 bit version.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-07, 05:10 PM   #6
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Re: Upgrade from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista....

Only Vista Ultimate retail ships with 2 (x86 and x64) DVDs. For other versions, you can order x64 media for some small fee, licence key remains the same:
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvist...a/default.mspx
__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-07, 05:57 PM   #7
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Upgrade from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista....

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvist...a/default.mspx

It took about 5 weeks for me to get my disc. Much worth it though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-07, 06:49 PM   #8
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: Upgrade from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista....

Badass .... thanks guys!
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-27-07, 01:55 AM   #9
j0j081
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: Upgrade from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista....

yeah I paid 10 bucks for my 64 bit Business media.
j0j081 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-07, 12:24 PM   #10
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: Upgrade from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista....

Just curious though... beside being able to see more ram, are there any other benifits? I am just wondering because my 32bit system is stabe as can be and I am starting to get a little weary of going to 64bit after reading all the issues. But if I have more to gain than just more ram it might be worth it
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-07, 12:28 PM   #11
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: Upgrade from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista....

I assume this service works only with the retail copies of Vista and not the OEM copies?
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-07, 01:28 PM   #12
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default Re: Upgrade from 32bit Vista to 64bit Vista....

Quote:
I assume this service works only with the retail copies of Vista and not the OEM copies?
I tried it with my Home Premium OEM key and it just said "No Offer Found".
__________________
Intel i5-2500K (4Ghz)|2 x Nvidia 560GTX TI (880/2100mhz)|Crucial M4 SSD
12GB GSkill PC3-12800 (1600Mhz 9-9-9-24)|Thermaltake Tough Power 700w|Razer Megalodon 7.1 Headset
BENQ XL2410T 24" 3D Monitor
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.