Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-23-07, 03:14 PM   #1
ets67
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default GeForce 5500 FX "no screens found"

I am having an issue installing the 9755 nvidia drivers for linux for an x86 using a 5500 FX card. I receive the following error message in my Xorg log file.

Code:
(II) Setting vga for screen 0.
(**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
(==) NVIDIA(0): RGB weight 888
(==) NVIDIA(0): Default visual is TrueColor
(==) NVIDIA(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "MetaModes" "1600x1200 +0+0; 1024x768 +0+0; 800x600 +0+0; 640x480 +0+0"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Enabling RENDER acceleration
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module! Please ensure
(EE) NVIDIA(0):     that there is a supported NVIDIA GPU in this system, and
(EE) NVIDIA(0):     that the NVIDIA device files have been created properly.
(EE) NVIDIA(0):     Please consult the NVIDIA README for details.
(EE) NVIDIA(0):  *** Aborting ***
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(II) UnloadModule: "ramdac"
(II) UnloadModule: "wfb"
(II) UnloadModule: "fb"
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found
I read a few articles and found nothing on this issue or just dont understand. Also I can start X server after reinstalling the driver. Any help for a newbie? Thanks
ets67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-07, 05:25 PM   #2
Schugy
Palit GF 7600GT AGP
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 55
Send a message via ICQ to Schugy Send a message via AIM to Schugy Send a message via Yahoo to Schugy
Default Re: GeForce 5500 FX "no screens found"

Type lsmod as root whether the module nvidia(.ko) is loaded.
If not try
modprobe nvidia.ko
run
startx /usr/bin/gdm (or kdm).

What's your distro?
Schugy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-07, 08:01 PM   #3
ets67
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: GeForce 5500 FX "no screens found"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schugy
Type lsmod as root whether the module nvidia(.ko) is loaded.
If not try
modprobe nvidia.ko
run
startx /usr/bin/gdm (or kdm).

What's your distro?
"lsmod | grep -i nvidia" gives me
Code:
nvidia               6837140  22 
i2c_core               22784  3 nvidia,i2c_ec,i2c_viapro
agpgart                35400  2 nvidia,via_agp
"modprobe nvidia.ko" gives me
Code:
FATAL: Module nvidia.ko not found.
running "startx /usr/bin/gdm" will give me:
Code:
(II) Setting vga for screen 0.
(**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
(==) NVIDIA(0): RGB weight 888
(==) NVIDIA(0): Default visual is TrueColor
(==) NVIDIA(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
(**) NVIDIA(0): Enabling RENDER acceleration
(II) NVIDIA(0): Support for GLX with the Damage and Composite X extensions is
(II) NVIDIA(0):     enabled.
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module! Please ensure
(EE) NVIDIA(0):     that there is a supported NVIDIA GPU in this system, and
(EE) NVIDIA(0):     that the NVIDIA device files have been created properly. 
(EE) NVIDIA(0):     Please consult the NVIDIA README for details.
(EE) NVIDIA(0):  *** Aborting ***
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(II) UnloadModule: "ramdac"
(II) UnloadModule: "wfb"
(II) UnloadModule: "fb"
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found
Im using Ubuntu 7.04 feisty with Linux Kernel 2.6.20-15-generic. Any other ideas?
ets67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-07, 01:32 PM   #4
Schugy
Palit GF 7600GT AGP
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 55
Send a message via ICQ to Schugy Send a message via AIM to Schugy Send a message via Yahoo to Schugy
Default Re: GeForce 5500 FX "no screens found"

Are the versions of the kernel module and of /usr/lib/libGLcore.so.1.0.**** the same?
Use dmesg to find out the module version.
Schugy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-07, 01:38 PM   #5
ets67
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: GeForce 5500 FX "no screens found"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schugy
Are the versions of the kernel module and of /usr/lib/libGLcore.so.1.0.**** the same?
Use dmesg to find out the module version.
I dont see libGLcore.so anywhere but i am getting nvidia and NVRM issues:
Code:
[   21.656000] nvidia: module license 'NVIDIA' taints kernel.
[   21.660000] NVRM: loading NVIDIA Linux x86 Kernel Module  1.0-7184  Tue Aug  1 18:38:58 PDT 2006
[   33.904000] NVRM: RM/client version mismatch!!
[   33.904000] NVRM:    aborting to avoid catastrophe!
[   38.008000] NVRM: RM/client version mismatch!!
[   38.008000] NVRM:    aborting to avoid catastrophe!
[   43.108000] NVRM: RM/client version mismatch!!
[   43.108000] NVRM:    aborting to avoid catastrophe!
I do however have libGLcore.so.1 and libGLcore.so.1.0.9755 in the /usr/lib directory
ets67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-07, 01:56 PM   #6
Schugy
Palit GF 7600GT AGP
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 55
Send a message via ICQ to Schugy Send a message via AIM to Schugy Send a message via Yahoo to Schugy
Default Re: GeForce 5500 FX "no screens found"

I guess you have a linux-restricted-modules package installed.
Try to archive the nvidia-driver in
/lib/linux-restricted-modules/2.6.xxx
with tar cvzf ~/nvidia-driver-backup.tar /lib/linux-restricted-modules/2.6.xx/nvidia*
After that delete the nvidia-directories from restricted modules.

This should be the right 1.0.9xxx-module: /lib/modules/2.6.xxx/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia.ko

If it isn't there you should rmmod nvidia and retry the nvidia-installer.
After that modprobe nvidia and try to start X.
Schugy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-07, 02:33 PM   #7
ets67
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: GeForce 5500 FX "no screens found"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schugy
I guess you have a linux-restricted-modules package installed.
Try to archive the nvidia-driver in
/lib/linux-restricted-modules/2.6.xxx
with tar cvzf ~/nvidia-driver-backup.tar /lib/linux-restricted-modules/2.6.xx/nvidia*
After that delete the nvidia-directories from restricted modules.

This should be the right 1.0.9xxx-module: /lib/modules/2.6.xxx/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia.ko

If it isn't there you should rmmod nvidia and retry the nvidia-installer.
After that modprobe nvidia and try to start X.
Okay i think i made it worse then what it was. I backed up the restricted modules. I had 3 nvidia folders and removed them all from the linux-restricted-modules directory. I did have that nvidia.ko but X still wouldnt start, so i went ahead and ran "rmmod nvidia" then reinstalled 9755 package. Now im getting:
Code:
Build Date: 04 April 2007
        Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
        to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
        (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Thu May 24 14:05:23 2007
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"

FATAL: Error running install command for nvidia
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to load the NVIDIA kernel module!
(EE) NVIDIA(0):  *** Aborting ***
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found
XIO:  fatal IO error 104 (Connection reset by peer) on X server ":0.0"
      after 0 requests (0 known processed) with 0 events remaining.
ets67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-07, 02:59 PM   #8
Schugy
Palit GF 7600GT AGP
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 55
Send a message via ICQ to Schugy Send a message via AIM to Schugy Send a message via Yahoo to Schugy
Default Re: GeForce 5500 FX "no screens found"

Do you have the module /lib/modules/2.6.xxx/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia.ko ?
Is it loaded? If not load it manually.
Backup your xorg.conf and try to get a usable configuration with nvidia-xconfig.
Schugy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-24-07, 03:17 PM   #9
ets67
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: GeForce 5500 FX "no screens found"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schugy
Do you have the module /lib/modules/2.6.xxx/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia.ko ?
Is it loaded? If not load it manually.
Backup your xorg.conf and try to get a usable configuration with nvidia-xconfig.
nvidia.ko is there. Its not listed in lsmod though. To load a driver you use "modprobe -f nvidia" right? but that gives me:
Code:
FATAL: Error running install command for nvidia
i ran nvidia-xconfig and it just gives the same error when i try to start X.
ets67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-07, 04:22 PM   #10
ets67
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: GeForce 5500 FX "no screens found"

bump
ets67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-07, 11:01 PM   #11
ets67
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: GeForce 5500 FX "no screens found"

No one can help me here? I heard their is a bug though for the 5500 with Ubuntu is that true?
ets67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-07, 12:38 AM   #12
Kerrysucks
Registered User
 
Kerrysucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wasilla Alaska
Posts: 117
Default Re: GeForce 5500 FX "no screens found"

No offense, but interrogatives regarding an archaic video card and an OS that very, very few people use will result in the responses that you are getting.
Kerrysucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
Enhance Max Payne 3, Diablo III with GeForce R300 Drivers News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 06:30 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM
Worked fine before, now getting "no screens found" HansBoldt NVIDIA Linux 3 08-22-02 06:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.