Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-23-03, 07:10 PM   #1
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Thumbs up 3DM03 Score

Kicks the crap out of my 9700 Pro. I get 6253.
Man it runs the bench like butter.
Smooth and superfast.
I love it.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=646933

This card kicks @ss.

The effects even seem better than my 9700 was.

My best with the 9700 Pro was 5300 at a core clock of 380/333 memory.

This thing is not even overclocked yet.
I'm using 43.51 drivers.
__________________
Notebook!
Compaq Presario CQ60-215DX
AMD 64 Athlon X2 @ 2GHz (QL62)
15.6 inch HD WideScreen
Nvidia 8200M-G 895mb
2Gig system ram
250Gig SATA 5400rpm HDrive
Vista Premium

Last edited by bkswaney; 04-23-03 at 07:14 PM.
bkswaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-03, 07:24 PM   #2
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default

Awesome score, if i was able to OC my processor id probly beable to get a higher score. But i love system stability and i use an Intel mainboard (ooooooh yeah, stability with no OCing features)
and so on hehe.
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-03, 07:36 PM   #3
ricercar
fugue master
 
ricercar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: silicon valley
Posts: 1,603
Default

if you please, tell us where do you get 43.51?
nvidia.com still shows 43.45.
__________________
I used to drive a Heisenberg, but whenever I'd glance at the speedometer, I'd get lost.
ricercar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-03, 07:47 PM   #4
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Default

I wish I knew.
I was reading boards a few days back and saw a direct download link. I grabed them.
bkswaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-03, 07:48 PM   #5
VoodooNinja
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Rocky Mountains
Posts: 63
Default

Nice. Now is that at default 500/1000 or is it overclocked? I just wanted to know, because 3DMARK 03 doesn't report FX Ultra clocks correctly.

How is the gameplay? How is running games at 4XAA/8AF? Noise/Heat? More stable on your Granite Bay board than the 9700 Pro?

Thanks for any additional info.
__________________
------------ WATER COOLED--------------
Intel Core2Duo 6420
MSI P6N SLI-FI
2GB OCZ Reaper HPC
EVGA 8800GTS 640MB
74GB WD Raptor
300GB Seagate Barracuda
Creative Audigy 2
Asus 52X CDROM
LiteOn DVD R/RW
Samsung 226BW
Win XP
VoodooNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-03, 07:57 PM   #6
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by VoodooNinja
Nice. Now is that at default 500/1000 or is it overclocked? I just wanted to know, because 3DMARK 03 doesn't report FX Ultra clocks correctly.

How is the gameplay? How is running games at 4XAA/8AF? Noise/Heat? More stable on your Granite Bay board than the 9700 Pro?

Thanks for any additional info.
I'm reinstalling my games now.

Codecreaters runs a lot better and my 3DM01 score is about the same as my 9700.

I put a small homemade card cooler fan on the card and the noise is not bad at all.
No heat problems at all.
I do not know why everyone say they are so loud.
That score is at 530 core. My memory does not seem to overclock.
It only says 1gig. Whats up with that?

Stable as a rock so far.
bkswaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-03, 08:09 PM   #7
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bkswaney
I'm reinstalling my games now.

Codecreaters runs a lot better and my 3DM01 score is about the same as my 9700.

I put a small homemade card cooler fan on the card and the noise is not bad at all.
No heat problems at all.
I do not know why everyone say they are so loud.
That score is at 530 core. My memory does not seem to overclock.
It only says 1gig. Whats up with that?

Stable as a rock so far.
memory is apparently locked for the time being.. nvidia may unlock it with future driver versions... who knows...

but as of now... it is locked...
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-03, 08:26 PM   #8
VoodooNinja
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Rocky Mountains
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
I put a small homemade card cooler fan on the card and the noise is not bad at all.
??? Any pics?
__________________
------------ WATER COOLED--------------
Intel Core2Duo 6420
MSI P6N SLI-FI
2GB OCZ Reaper HPC
EVGA 8800GTS 640MB
74GB WD Raptor
300GB Seagate Barracuda
Creative Audigy 2
Asus 52X CDROM
LiteOn DVD R/RW
Samsung 226BW
Win XP
VoodooNinja is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-23-03, 08:34 PM   #9
solofly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 213
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sazar
memory is apparently locked for the time being.. nvidia may unlock it with future driver versions... who knows...

but as of now... it is locked...
I saw a review with the 5800 Ultra (don't remember where) and the reviewer was able to overclock both core and mem. All he used was coolbits. Drivers for sure... (I recall something around 1150mhz for the RAM)
solofly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-03, 08:45 PM   #10
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Default

Unreal T 2003 runs GREAT.
All setting are set to highest at 1024 Res.
Is there any ultra high setting for the FX?
I was thinking I read there would be higher
setting for the 5800 Ultra.

Where can I find updates for Quake III Gold Arena?
I just got it. I just have started getting into FPS.
bkswaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-03, 08:49 PM   #11
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by solofly
I saw a review with the 5800 Ultra (don't remember where) and the reviewer was able to overclock both core and mem. All he used was coolbits. Drivers for sure... (I recall something around 1150mhz for the RAM)
I am just saying what I got from checking out a few websites concerning the 5800ultra...
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-03, 08:50 PM   #12
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bkswaney
Unreal T 2003 runs GREAT.
All setting are set to highest at 1024 Res.
Is there any ultra high setting for the FX?
I was thinking I read there would be higher
setting for the 5800 Ultra.

Where can I find updates for Quake III Gold Arena?
I just got it. I just have started getting into FPS.
you need a 256mb video card in order for that..

max texture size takes upto around 180mb memory
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What You Can Expect From GeForce GRID News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 04:20 PM
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.