Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-16-07, 01:32 PM   #1
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default p5b + e6400 + 2gb corsair never been clocked :(

Ive had it quite a while now and never overclocked my current pc at all, Im just too much of a chicken with all my new(ish) parts.

Can somebody PLEASE throw some numbers at me ,A nice gentle OC bios configuration to start me off please, But something that will show a difference in fear or whatever..

PLEASE
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-07, 06:43 PM   #2
stevemedes
Intel Virgin
 
stevemedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,716
Send a message via AIM to stevemedes
Default Re: p5b + e6400 + 2gb corsair never been clocked :(

Here ya go!

http://www.thetechrepository.com/showthread.php?t=41
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400 | Asus P5B Deluxe w/ Thermalright HR-09 | 4gb Crucial BallistiX Tracer PC2-8000 | eVGA 9800 GTX | Tuniq Tower
2x36gb WD Raptor RAID-0 | 750gb WD SE16 | Samsung SH-S203B | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Corsair VX550
Coolermaster Stacker 832 | Klipsch Promedia 2.1
stevemedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-07, 06:54 PM   #3
buffbiff21
*B4NNED*
 
buffbiff21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,002
Default Re: p5b + e6400 + 2gb corsair never been clocked :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevemedes
Tony's guide is the best guide out there

THough what type of Corsair RAM is that? you may struggle to break higher than 400 FSB with the junk Promo chips. EDIT Hmmm XMS will be a toughie to overclock.

P5b Dlx goes above 500 easily.. but Promo IC chips DO NOT.
__________________
GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
buffbiff21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 02:03 PM   #4
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: p5b + e6400 + 2gb corsair never been clocked :(

i think pushing up ram for its own sake to be mostly fruitless anyway, but I do have an ocz ram cooler that might help a bit (if I ever get around to fitting it) if I rip off the heatspreaders and put some nice sinks on there, But then id have to sell them if I wanted 4gb because of the lack of space between slots.
But then I think more ram is better than slightly faster ram anyway.

I have a lot of small mosfet heatsinks left over from an old build ,is there any place on a p5b that would be good to use them on?

Is the p5b optional heatpipe fan always a no no with air cooling?
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 02:28 PM   #5
stevemedes
Intel Virgin
 
stevemedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,716
Send a message via AIM to stevemedes
Default Re: p5b + e6400 + 2gb corsair never been clocked :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger
i think pushing up ram for its own sake to be mostly fruitless anyway, but I do have an ocz ram cooler that might help a bit (if I ever get around to fitting it) if I rip off the heatspreaders and put some nice sinks on there, But then id have to sell them if I wanted 4gb because of the lack of space between slots.
But then I think more ram is better than slightly faster ram anyway.

I have a lot of small mosfet heatsinks left over from an old build ,is there any place on a p5b that would be good to use them on?

Is the p5b optional heatpipe fan always a no no with air cooling?
Yeah dont use that heatpipe fan if ur using an air cooler.

I noticed when i was running my mobo outside the case once that theres these little chips in the far bottom left corner of the board that gets SUPER hot. Maybe you could put mosfet heatsinks on that. Let us know how the overclocking goes!
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400 | Asus P5B Deluxe w/ Thermalright HR-09 | 4gb Crucial BallistiX Tracer PC2-8000 | eVGA 9800 GTX | Tuniq Tower
2x36gb WD Raptor RAID-0 | 750gb WD SE16 | Samsung SH-S203B | X-Fi XtremeMusic | Corsair VX550
Coolermaster Stacker 832 | Klipsch Promedia 2.1
stevemedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-07, 07:57 AM   #6
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: p5b + e6400 + 2gb corsair never been clocked :(

Ok , I just went ahead and set ddr speed to the lower than ddr800 setting (647 or something I cant remember) then pushed up the fsb up so its back at ddr800 so the ram is at stock, so the cpu is running at 2.56ghz, vcore left on auto for now,

Speedfan is showing idle cpu 37 Core1 40 core2 39 -+3 degrees fluctuating
Am I safe temp wise, to load the cpu or is it a little too warm
edit; just ran vista experience index thing and core1 went up to 50 during the cpu test, this seems too hot

Does auto vcore push up the voltage needlessly ,I see you run at 1.35v for a much bigger oc, mine says 1.38v on auto IDLE

Another edit , Whats the vdroop mod thing this guy is talking about... (the this months winner)
http://www.custompc.co.uk/custompc/r...ry/page11.html
(4ghz e6400 with phase change nice)

Edit, Im trying stock voltage now, vcore 1.29 (vdroop 0.03 ish) cpu 2.6ghz idle cpu-33 core1-35 core2-35,I need to put a fan on my nb
Havnt loaded yet but i'll probly get a bsod.

My cpu is only unlocked for 6,7+8 not 10 ,thats a downer I think.

I got a memtest error at about 80% last night @ ddr800 ,Probably a lack of voltage(left on auto) or overheating the nb ????

Any chance you could point out the hot spot.. (what makes that group of vrm's at the top(with the sink) more important than the ones on the side?

Also ive read that pushing the pci-e clock up too much mucks up the sata controller causing data corruption ,would sinking it help that.
My expected answer is "just do it ya big nancy" Im such a wuss (2.6ghz oc meh)

ANOTHER THING, Is it easy to pop the cap off the nb so I can put a fan on there?

More Edit:- Going from 2.6 to 3.2 has made zero diffrence to load temps(max 44),

Although the vcore is 1.31v ,I should expect to be unstable with it that low??

I guess thats down to the individual cpu though isnt it.

Cut from some thread:---The revision B2 E6400 could run 3200 MHz reliably at a default of 1.325 volts. Some people over volt their cpu when maybe it's their northbridge or memory that could use a little extra voltage. end quote
I got a b2 so thats ok
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)

Last edited by XDanger; 05-23-07 at 05:43 PM.
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-07, 03:26 PM   #7
HYBRID
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 495
Default Re: p5b + e6400 + 2gb corsair never been clocked :(

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=77462

the link above has a picture of the TT chipset fan I use on my board take a look.
__________________
[Asus Extreme Rampage III| Asus GTX580 Matrix |Intel I7 950 @ 4.011GHZ vcore 1.275| Corsair H80 Liquid Cooler| Intel SSD 80GB & 1 150 GIG Raptor|Corsair Dominator GT CMG6GX3M3A1600C7 | Asus Essence STX|Plextor PX-880SA|Asus BluRay Drive |Cosair HX-850HX| Corsair Obsidian 800D ||Win 7 RTM 64-Bit OEM|Samsung T-240 24" 1920X1200 5MS
HYBRID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-07, 03:41 PM   #8
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: p5b + e6400 + 2gb corsair never been clocked :(

Yeah I was looking at that with my previous build, I should be ok just adding a fan to the stock nb sink though (if that cap comes off easily)

Does nobody use the asus ai booster because its crappy ,or because everyones used to using the bios?

DAMN SUMMER STARTED TODAY SO I HAVE TO CLOCK DOWN ,I PREFER WINTER.

Having said that about just using a fan on the nb ,Ive read that the whole nb heatpipe thing is stuck down (badly in some cases) with pads,
I should really change that situation or risk frucktication.

IM VERY SORRY ABOUT THIS THREAD, ITS ACTING MORE AS A MEMOPAD THAN ANYTHING ELSE

I need more Northpole vrm sinks as I only have 2 of the tiny ones left

I notice the mounting holes for the missing right hand heatsink are still there, I wonder if there are any available to buy from anywhere?
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-31-07, 01:50 PM   #9
alitayyab
Registered User
 
alitayyab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 122
Default Re: p5b + e6400 + 2gb corsair never been clocked :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger
.......

Does auto vcore push up the voltage needlessly ,I see you run at 1.35v for a much bigger oc, mine says 1.38v on auto IDLE

....

there are a couple of posts on anandtech forums with regards to Vcore (and other Voltages) on the p5b-xx series.
keeping the voltage on auto does exactly that.. automatically adjust the Voltage(s) .
its best to set all Voltages to manual (value) if u plan on oc'ing or even otherwise!

i have a c2d-e6400 @2.8, keeping the voltage on auto takes the Vcore to 1.4, manually i can keep it at 1.29 and it still works great.

(that reminds me... i have to update my sig!)
__________________
PC: Intel Ci5-2500k || AsRock Z77 Extreme6 || 8GB RAM || Sparkle GTX680 || Thermaltake Tough Power XT 775W PSU || Xigmatek Pantheon Case||
alitayyab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-07, 11:57 PM   #10
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,060
Default Re: p5b + e6400 + 2gb corsair never been clocked :(

XDanger, the NB runs pretty cool but I did add a 40x40mm fan on the NB & SB. From what I have read if your OC the ram 1:1 stay out of the 360 to 400 range because of the strap it runs the NB up pretty hard and generates a lot of heat. Once you get above the 400 range the timings are relaxed on the NB thus bringing down the heat some. I hope I made since.

stevemedes posted a great link that will help explain it a lot better.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-07, 01:03 PM   #11
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: p5b + e6400 + 2gb corsair never been clocked :(

I was running it at 3.2 @400 for a while but game music was running fast/looping so I stopped that, no other problems though.

Did you just put a fan on the NB?
If you took the cap off how did you fit the fan?
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.