Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-31-07, 05:49 PM   #1
Pixelsmack
Registered User
 
Pixelsmack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 194
Default Why does Vista pretend to be loaded after log in?

I can browse my computer, click the start menu but what I cannot do is get any application to run, delete things from the trash can and I get empty "info bubbles" over anything in the systray. Also my wifi is frozen.

It stays like this for about 30seconds then the screen flashes and my wifi connects and all else is well.

It's like an odd limbo-semi-awake moment at every cold boot.

I've searched the net and all I can find are others asking my same question but no answers.

Ideas?
__________________
Back Seat Racing

Coolermaster 690 case, i7-920, 6GB DDR3-1600, 2xEVGA GTX260-216 SC in SLI, EVGA X58 SLI, Tagan 700w PSU, 2TB RAID0 Seagate SATAIIs, Win7 Ult. 64bit.
Pixelsmack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-07, 06:00 PM   #2
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Why does Vista pretend to be loaded after log in?

If you can find which process is loading last you'll have your culprit. You could disable them one by one, rebooting after each.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-07, 06:04 PM   #3
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Why does Vista pretend to be loaded after log in?

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
If you can find which process is loading last you'll have your culprit. You could disable them one by one, rebooting after each.
Even though this could prove to be extremely time consuming, it is probably your best option.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-07, 12:54 AM   #4
Nitz Walsh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 622
Default Re: Why does Vista pretend to be loaded after log in?

Not sure there's much that can be done about it, it's just how Windows has always behaved and I was really hoping MS would remedy this. If I'm at my desktop, the system should be _ready_. MS was boasting how quickly Vista would boot up, this is no the case on either a new laptop or a new desktop install I've done.

OSX is much better at this, albeit the dashboard widgets aren't activated upon startup like they are in Vista (not until you enable dashboard), and you're usually not loading an AV.

Still, it's annoying. MS can do better in this regard, SP1 may improve things.
Nitz Walsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-07, 11:03 AM   #5
Badboy_12345
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: Why does Vista pretend to be loaded after log in?

I thought it was supposed to be like that?
well I have tested it on 4 different computers and its like that on everyone of them
it boots up right away but you cant use most stuff beacuse it still "booting"
Badboy_12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-07, 11:50 AM   #6
WaterPartys
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 50
Default Re: Why does Vista pretend to be loaded after log in?

same happens at XP... Windows uses a lot of resources and logging in is helly slow for us PC addicts
WaterPartys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-07, 06:57 AM   #7
Darkoz
lurking
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 677
Default Re: Why does Vista pretend to be loaded after log in?

I've installed Vista at least 6 times and I've never seen that happen.
__________________
Intel Q6700 - XFX 8800 ULTRA xXx - Gigabyte P35-DQ6 - 4GB Patriot DDR2 800 - x2 Seagate 320GB SATAll - DELL 2408wfp
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-07, 04:02 PM   #8
Ikshaar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 72
Default Re: Why does Vista pretend to be loaded after log in?

This is typical behavior... windows finish booting after starting the desktop.

It allows to claim a lower boot time

True it depends on HDD speed and CPU and what is installed - so lucky ones like Darkoz never seen the problem, but it is quite common.
Ikshaar is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-05-07, 04:12 PM   #9
Wolfhound
Moving to new home
 
Wolfhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,358
Send a message via MSN to Wolfhound Send a message via Yahoo to Wolfhound
Default Re: Why does Vista pretend to be loaded after log in?

I hadn´t see this in any of my reinstalls with Vista and XP
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3,4 | 4Gigs (2x2) OCZ Reaper PC-8500 | Gigabyte P35-DS3R | Western Digital 500G Caviar SE16 SATA2 NCQ | Seagate160 Gig 7200.9 SATA NCQ | Maxtor 300Gig SATA NCQ | Asus Geforce 260GTX | Samsung Syncmaster 930BF 19'' | BeQuiet Straight Power 700W | Cooler Master CM690 |Windows Vista x64 SP2 |Windows XP SP3 [Deceased PSU, no money for new one, stucked with laptop and XBOX 360]

Macbook Pro 13': 4gigs | Core2 Duo 2,53Mhz | 250Gigs HDD |geforce 9400M| aluminium unibody | Mac OS X 10.6.2 Snow Leopard |gentoo Linux 2.631 kernel


Wolfhound´s Brute: http://wolfhound77.mybrute.com
Wolfhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-07, 05:28 PM   #10
Dragunov
Mister Anderson ... !!!
 
Dragunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Why does Vista pretend to be loaded after log in?

I have this problem aswell, had this problem on my old machine with XP too.
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- WD Caviar 750GB
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL

3D mark 05: 13321

3D Mark 06: 8065
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-07, 06:43 PM   #11
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: Why does Vista pretend to be loaded after log in?

I think if you check the service list, some items are probably set to delayed start. So, it's probably normal behavior.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-07, 06:57 PM   #12
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Why does Vista pretend to be loaded after log in?

I agree with OWA.

Upon entry into my desktop environment in Vista, I can typically start using apps like normal. I will agree that some apps do take a little longer upon immediate bootup compared to others, but the majority work fine.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 11:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 10:10 AM
How to ensure that nvidia-settings have been loaded? PeterTaps NVIDIA Linux 2 06-05-12 05:14 PM
Event Log Explorer 4.0 News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 11:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.