Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 06-05-07, 11:04 AM   #1
physix

Unhappy Upgrading to Ubuntu 7.04 killed my nvidia drivers/Xserver (SLI system) - need help

Hi,

I am still relatively new to the Linux community. The last time I installed and configured linux was about half a year ago, and I seem to have forgotten everything about it. Let me describe my problem.

I had a running Ubuntu 6.10 that one day suggested to upgrade to 7.04. After a few days I did so. After the upgrade my Xserver refused to work. I googled a bit and decided I had to install new nvidia drivers.
I downloaded and installed the x86-1.0-9755 drivers, removing old stuff before like described in the readme on the Nvidia website.

The driver was installed and I chose to let it handle the Xserver settings as well. Everything seemed to work. After restarting I get the following error message:

Code:
Failed to start Xserver. It is likely that it it is not set up correctly
..and the X server output is as follows:
Code:
WW: NVIDIA No matching Device Section for instance (BUS ID PCI:2:0:0)
FATAL Error running install command for nvidia
EE: NVIDIA(0) Failed to load NVIDIA kernel module
EE: NVIDIA(0) Aborting
My graphic card setup is 2 6600GT cards on 2 PCIe slots in SLI mode. I guess the above error appears because only one card is properly initialized in the xorg.conf. I remember weakly that there had to be 2 sections in the xorg.conf, one for each card, but I cannot remember the exact way and of course I forgot to backup the old version.

I need some guide on how to get this running in general and how the xorg.conf needs to look like (structure and syntax)...

My system: Athlon64 4000+, ASUS SLI PCIe board, 2GB RAM, 2x GF 6600 GT in SLI mode.

Thanks in advance for the help!
physix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-07, 01:02 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation