Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-05-07, 05:08 PM   #1
anon2149
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Default TFT,CRT primary screen issue *without* TwinView/Xinerama

Nice of you guys to finally provide the XineramaTwinviewInfo option, but what about those of us who don't use either either or those two options?

I have a simple setup. Two screens. Physically, an LCD connected via DVI ("TFT") and a projector connected via HD15 ("CRT"). No Xinerama, no TwinView -- I don't want desktop stretch, and the aspect ratios are different (1280x1024 for the TFT versus 1280x720 for the projector).

The projector is naturally off most of the time. Thus, it *must* be the secondary screen. However, I cannot accomplish this. The "CRT" is always :0 and the TFT is always :0.1. The results are awful: gdm paints the login screen on the projector, which is off, gnome paints the desktop there, etcetera.

It seems bizzare to me that the long-awaited "fix" is specific to TwinView or Xinerama configurations only. Why not simply allow the configuration to give priority to TFT devices over CRT?

The only workaround that work are either using analog connection to the digital monitor. Needless to say this is more than just a little bit undesirable.

Does anyone from nvidia (or otherwise) have any light to shed on this? Am I missing something?
anon2149 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-07, 05:29 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: TFT,CRT primary screen issue *without* TwinView/Xinerama

Without seeing a bug report, its hard to comment on what you could change in your current configuration.

Are you stating that the UseDisplayDevice option does not provide the intended behavior?
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-07, 05:54 PM   #3
anon2149
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: TFT,CRT primary screen issue *without* TwinView/Xinerama

netllama-- thanks! It actually works perfectly. This is why I didn't file a bug report before asking first. Thanks again, your quick reply is much appreciated.
anon2149 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Responds to Reports of Kepler V-Sync Stuttering Issue Rieper NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 13 03-03-13 11:56 PM
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 07:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.