Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 06-06-07, 05:29 AM   #1
InsaneRhino

Default FC6 Driver Installation Problem

I have a problem when trying to install the nvidia drivers on my new FC6 installation. When I run the driver instllation, after I agree to the EULA (or what ever agreement it is) I get an error message about. Not being able to find the precompiled kernel, and do I want to try and download it from nvidia's FTP. If I say yes it does not find anything on the FTP and just errors out.

Im fairly new to Linux in general, however I have read through the forum as much as I can, I have read the sticky http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=72490 over a dozen times, and run the commands and kernel-devel, xorg-x11-server-sdk, pkgconfig, are all installed, and when I run uname -a all the kernels are the same version and are all i686.

Im very sorry to post this, but I have tried to look on google as well as on these forums, but have been unsucessful. I can post the logs later on today as I do not have them here at work.

Thanks for any help in advance.
InsaneRhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-07, 01:11 PM   #2
InsaneRhino

Default Re: FC6 Driver Installation Problem

Turns out I didnt have GCC installed so the nvidia installer couldnt compile the kernel. I now have a new problem. My monitor has 'Not optimum Mode, recommended mode: 1280x1024 60hx' message on the screen, however the highest resolution I can set the screen resolution to is 1024x768 50hz, I know the card is capable of a greater resolution as the default is 1280x1024 on the windows side of the dual boot.

Is this a known issue, or is this something likely to be caused by the monitor?

Thanks
InsaneRhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-07, 02:20 PM   #3
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation

Default Re: FC6 Driver Installation Problem