Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-13-07, 05:05 PM   #109
Jonelo
Registered User
 
Jonelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out



Some screens in DX 10 mode please , with impr /paint or with

http://d3dgear.com/products_d3dgear.htm !!!
Jonelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-07, 06:18 PM   #110
Dragunov
Mister Anderson ... !!!
 
Dragunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin
After playing COJ demo I see that all those Crysis trailers weren't great because of dx10 but they were great because of Cryengine 2.

I tried the COJ benchmark before playing the demo. I was like, "wow, dx10 is so cool." But after playing the dx9 demo I see that the game engine is what made it look so cool. In dx9 I have the depth of field effect, moving tree leaf shadows, sunbeams, plenty of foliage, etc. I thought maybe the demo was dx10 until I checked the fireplace bricks.

DX10 only adds some subtle effects that you can only notice when standing still or taking screenshots. The only thing you notice about dx10 when you're actually playing is how slow your framerates is.

DX10 is just a little graphical polish which only people with 2x8000GTX+C2D@3.5GHz will use. What's the point of using dx10 if you have to scale back your resolution or move to medium/low settings?

DX10 requires a generation of GPU's that doesn't currently exist and a generation of games that have yet to even be designed. So yes, it was all M$ marketing hype.
Like Company of Heroes (dx10 patch) they just added dx10 graphical updates to a directx9 game, so a directx9 engine, there is nothing directx10 in the engine itself, just the graphical engine, so no speed improvements can be made if the engine is not completely dx10, I guess with games like this (dx10 dressing on dx9 game) dx10 GPUs need to calculate even more than necessary
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- WD Caviar 750GB
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL

3D mark 05: 13321

3D Mark 06: 8065
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-07, 06:21 PM   #111
Dreamingawake
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 806
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

Well if the DX 10 content is on the U.S version I'm having my girlfriend pick it up for me on her way home from work from Futureshop.

I'll post some screen shots later this evening for you all.

I hope it's really DX10 ! -And just out of curiosity, if it IS then why
the hell haven't they released the patch yet, if the DX10 content is
already out there??????????????????
Dreamingawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-07, 07:16 PM   #112
Arioch
Registered User
 
Arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

The US version already has the DX10 content available - people who have the European version will need a patch.
Arioch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-07, 08:03 PM   #113
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

Ok, I picked up the US version at Wal-Mart last night. The game comes with two executables, one for DX9, the other for DX10 (Vista). I installed it in Vista and I'm using the 158.45 drivers at 1920x1200 all settings maxed except AA which I set to 2x in the game.

Initial impression...game looks good visually but has horrible load times and the frame rates are maybe, and I'm guessing, about 20. I gave the frame rate a boost by switching the shadow map size from 2048 to 1024. I could not see a difference after the switch, so I left it there.

I only messed with it about thirty minutes and went to bed, but it looks like it will be a fun, different, but linear game with good eye candy that will probably play ok once tweaked. I'll report more later as I get some more time with it.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-07, 08:41 PM   #114
Arioch
Registered User
 
Arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

Try changing the shadows to low also - I honestly can't see a big difference between low and high. Anyone get SLI working yet? I won't get home from work for another 4-5 hours.
Arioch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-07, 08:43 PM   #115
esir
Crysis
 
esir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Posts: 255
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out




and i want my patch
esir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-07, 10:47 PM   #116
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

I know the initial load time is ridiculous (like BF2). But even the other load times I find a bit long. Maybe I've been spoiled by playing Command & Conquer 3 so much. Even when I played the demo in August 2006 I had a mixed opinion on the graphics though. Those shadows are quite nifty but some things look just "ok." Apparently this is based on the Chrome game engine. So it is quite an improvement.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-14-07, 02:13 AM   #117
Dreamingawake
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 806
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

Got my copy.

Direct X 10 right out of the box.

Fired it up, and a flood of memories came back from the first time I played
the European version a while ago.. except this time, I'm
truly immersed.

I'm really impressed by the textures of the ground and the mountains,
everything looks really cool, like it exists independently from each other.
And the textures are pretty high res. The lighting is also very good.

Combined with depth of field there are quite a few times your brain
questions if you're looking at real life, or not.

In my opinion worth the 50 bux, and performance is actually quite good.
Better than I expected what with the benchmark and all, but the retail
is actually for me, running allot better.

I don't know FPS but I'd say it's around mid forties, that's with everything maxed, except shadows on 1024, and a screen resolution of 1680x1050.

Going back for more, it's intense !!
Dreamingawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-07, 02:29 AM   #118
Jonelo
Registered User
 
Jonelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

Eu version DX 9



Jonelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-07, 02:35 AM   #119
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

why the different resolutions?
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-07, 02:36 AM   #120
Jonelo
Registered User
 
Jonelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out


Jonelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Max Payne 3 Feedback Thread Ghosthunter Gaming Central 94 10-05-12 07:00 AM
Detonator 40.72 feedback thread mongoose NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 94 12-03-02 11:45 AM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 07:54 AM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 10:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.