Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-09-07, 10:52 PM   #13
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

I have the US version i believe, and theres no dx10

There's going to be a patch soon i beleive
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-07, 11:09 PM   #14
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

Not sure if he's being truthful or not, but someone posted on another forum that if you right click on the shortcut in the Vista games explorer, there is an option to run it in directx 10 mode (only in the US version that launched this week in stores).
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-07, 11:16 PM   #15
Saintster
Registered User
 
Saintster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 784
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

Just played it for the second time. It's a great story but the game is a little on the short side. Like breathemetal said it's a great game dx9 or dx 10.
Saintster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-07, 11:26 PM   #16
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

I dont see that option for dx10 anywhere
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-07, 11:32 PM   #17
Elvin Presler
Registered User
 
Elvin Presler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 633
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

This game, crushes my rig. I have to play at 1024x768, Shader Model 2 (+20 FPS over SM3), medium textures, no AA, no shadows, everything else low or off just to maintain 40+ frames per second.

Shader Model 3 and shadows (even low setting) cost 20 frames per second each. With both on I get like 12 unplayable frames. With one or the other on it goes up to 22. Kill the remaining one and I'm up to 42+.

The thing is, it doesn't look anywhere near good enough to be running like this. It looks good, don't get me wrong, but I think Far Cry even looked this good (better) and it ran better at higher settings and res than this 2 PC's ago.

In short. Performance is atrociously bad.
Elvin Presler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-07, 11:35 PM   #18
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

It must jsut be your system.

Im running it maxed at 1280x1024 and everything in the CP is maxed as well

Never once had a stutter or lag
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-07, 11:45 PM   #19
Elvin Presler
Registered User
 
Elvin Presler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 633
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

Well, look at your system compared to mine. You'll have to take my word that mine is a lean and mean as it can be for the hardware it has though.

I stuck Vista *cough, spit, gag* on just out of curiosity and it ran the same, maybe a tad better even surprisingly, and the sound was really good on Vista. Wow, was it good. I don't know enough about Vista yet to say why, but man it was crystal clear with very distinct positional audio. Every bird chirp came from a separate speaker, very clearly.

Now, I'm off to restore my Windows XP image and try to get that same kind of sound!
Elvin Presler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-07, 11:50 PM   #20
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

Looks like it may be time for a upgrade bloke
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-10-07, 12:00 AM   #21
Arioch
Registered User
 
Arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

The performance in DX9 isn't so bad and the game still looks pretty good. Hopefully Nvidia gives us some "magic" drivers early next week for DX10.
Arioch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-07, 12:09 AM   #22
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

New drivers + a DX10 patch would be wonderful
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-07, 12:43 AM   #23
MowTin
 
MowTin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,205
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

I saw some vidoes of this game on youtube. The fire looks cool.

Sometimes you can't trust reviews.
MowTin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-07, 12:46 AM   #24
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: Call of Juarez is out

The games awesome...there are single and multiplayer demos out if u wanna try before u buy.
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Max Payne 3 Feedback Thread Ghosthunter Gaming Central 94 10-05-12 06:00 AM
Detonator 40.72 feedback thread mongoose NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 94 12-03-02 10:45 AM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 06:54 AM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 09:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.