Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-23-07, 12:49 PM   #229
MowTin
 
MowTin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,205
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonelo
But this is a DX10 feature or are new textures ?
- old DX 6 textures -

I think DX10 improves performance and makes it possible to use higher res textures. Also the textures wouldn't look the same in dx9 because of different shader model. The extra detail may look fake without the extra depth that SM 4.0 gives you.

But the last two images you see are clearly SM 4.0 features. The etchings on the stone floor tiles really stands out. And the rock clearly appears to have deep grooves that aren't possible in SM 3.0.

When you're in the caves there is no doubt you're in dx10.

MasterCrasher,

This is the US version. It's dx10 right out of the box no patch needed.
MowTin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-07, 07:17 PM   #230
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

Finally got the game! How is SLI with the DX10 version?
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-07, 08:27 PM   #231
MastCrasher
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 13
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin
MasterCrasher,

This is the US version. It's dx10 right out of the box no patch needed.
Right out of the box? Is this PC or 360 dvd?
MastCrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-07, 09:12 PM   #232
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by MastCrasher
Right out of the box? Is this PC or 360 dvd?
PC
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-07, 09:23 PM   #233
MastCrasher
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 13
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnt_Ram
PC
So you just need to install the PC version on Vista and it's DX10?
MastCrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-07, 09:31 PM   #234
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin
I think DX10 improves performance and makes it possible to use higher res textures. Also the textures wouldn't look the same in dx9 because of different shader model. The extra detail may look fake without the extra depth that SM 4.0 gives you.

But the last two images you see are clearly SM 4.0 features. The etchings on the stone floor tiles really stands out. And the rock clearly appears to have deep grooves that aren't possible in SM 3.0.

When you're in the caves there is no doubt you're in dx10.

MasterCrasher,

This is the US version. It's dx10 right out of the box no patch needed.
Personally I think they could have done the same sort effect in many cases with DX9, especially with the rocks (it appears they are just plain textures using none of DX9's shaders to give them depth). They also could have done more bump mapping in the DX9 version. Sure, DX10 obviously has more capabilities and can give even more depth. Not to knock DX10 but I think they went out of the way to enhance an aging game engine to use DX10 (for bragging rights? marketing to engine to other developers?) when it could just as easily be enhanced using DX9. It will be even more interesting to see games that have both DX9 and DX10 versions released at the same time, ie Crysis, and compare their use of shaders.

Not sure about increasing performance though. It really looks like there is some degradation. It's hard to say if the textures are higher quality. I think they are just different as to make the shaders work better with them.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-07, 11:59 PM   #235
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

DX9 mode was better with performance by quite a large margin before the recent patch, but now the gap is a little closer. Still, I can max the game in every way on DX9 and have some shadow settings lowered on DX10 to stay at what I consider a good framerate. Fraps doesn't work so I can't measure exactly.

Great DX10 screens above, that's how mine looks as well... I was surprised to see the textures as improved as they are.
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-07, 09:09 AM   #236
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by MastCrasher
So you just need to install the PC version on Vista and it's DX10?
i think after you install it on Vista you will have 2 executables, one DX9, and one DX 10. and of course you need a DX10 capable vid card.
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-24-07, 10:37 AM   #237
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

Ok, Didn't read the thread but a simple question, is it worth it to buy this game if you already own the Import? I have yet to complete the game but been hearing there are some major changes to the USA version.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-07, 12:33 PM   #238
esir
Crysis
 
esir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Posts: 255
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
Ok, Didn't read the thread but a simple question, is it worth it to buy this game if you already own the Import? I have yet to complete the game but been hearing there are some major changes to the USA version.
If you have a UE copy,DX10 patch coming.Unfortunately we don't know when its coming
esir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-07, 12:42 PM   #239
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

But does it also have the gameplay changes made to the USA release?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-07, 12:57 PM   #240
esir
Crysis
 
esir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Posts: 255
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
But does it also have the gameplay changes made to the USA release?
Hımm..i am not sure about it.
esir is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Max Payne 3 Feedback Thread Ghosthunter Gaming Central 94 10-05-12 06:00 AM
Detonator 40.72 feedback thread mongoose NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 94 12-03-02 10:45 AM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 06:54 AM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 09:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.