Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-07, 02:15 PM   #301
Dragunov
Mister Anderson ... !!!
 
Dragunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
only word i have from Techland, that there will be one. When they didn't say.
It takes them way too long, or do they rewrite the engine aswell?
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- WD Caviar 750GB
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL

3D mark 05: 13321

3D Mark 06: 8065
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-07, 12:35 PM   #302
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

Well, I finished up the game last week and it did have a nice story line and decent graphics, but it was very linear. Overall I'd give it a 7 out of 10.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-07, 01:09 PM   #303
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

If anyone gets tired of listening to the talking at each loading (I sure do, especially after playing it more than once), there is a way to get rid of them.

Open the "SpeechEn.Pak" file with Winrar.

Go to "Data", "Sounds", "Speech" folder.

Scroll down and look for the .ogg files that say "intro" at the end. The list is quite long so just look for the really big ones as you scroll. You can double click each one to listen to it if you're not sure.

Delete them in Winrar, one by one. Might be a good idea to backup the .pak file first in case you make a mistake as the deleted files do not go to the recycle bin.

That's it. Now at each loading you will see the text to read (and hear the music) but without the talking audio (I have verified it).

I have been trying to get rid of the intro screens but haven't been successful at it. There is a "Data4.Pak" file that has the three intros in it but deleting them results in the opening screen getting stuck (at a black screen and have to alt tab out of it). I saw a cheat to do this involving adding a command line to the shortcut and an entry in a .scr file but it doesn't work.

I am also still looking for a no DVD solution (as I don't like having to insert disk each time) but haven't found one. There is only one that I've seen and it's for version 1.0 (US game ships with 1.1) that doesn't work (I could get into the game menu but the text was so screwed up, I couldn't even navigate through it). In fact when I tried it, I ended up having to un-install and re-install the game because even when I put back the original files it replaced, the game wouldn't start (I may have screwed up but I don't think so).
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-07, 09:42 AM   #304
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

Is this game worth buying Vista for? i.e. to get DX10

I know the visuals are better but does the frame rate tank like in other DX10 game versions?
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-07, 10:07 AM   #305
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

I would sure have to have more reasons to change an OS than one game. So far I haven't come up with any reasons yet to switch to Vista. Right now even DX10 isn't enough to sway me to change an entire operating system. If Microsoft's new OS is really coming out in three years, I may skip Vista entirely.
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-07, 11:29 AM   #306
Dragunov
Mister Anderson ... !!!
 
Dragunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

Normally three years, Vista (in those times codename Longhorn) was also planned to be released three years after Windows XP hit the market, it took them 5 years, so I guess, three years is just a mininum time...
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- WD Caviar 750GB
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL

3D mark 05: 13321

3D Mark 06: 8065
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-07, 06:59 PM   #307
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

So still no european patch yet?

Is there a site I can just buy/download the DX10 version of the game? Kind of sucks after already spending $49 on it last year.
__________________
EVGA Z77 FTW | Core i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz | 16GB G.Skill Trident-X 2400MHz | SLI EVGA GTX Titan SC's | Intel 520 SSD's RAID-0 | ThermalTake 1475watt | 3DMark Fire Strike Extreme - 8941 | Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | NVIDIA 3D Vision Surround
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-07, 07:45 PM   #308
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

This is the only game I think is worth upgrading to Vista for. This game has very in your face visual differences unlike BioShock or WiC.
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-02-07, 01:54 AM   #309
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

Yeah, what happened to the EU/Asia Pacific DX10 patch?
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-07, 12:33 PM   #310
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

i e-mailed techland again, lets see what they say.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-07, 03:10 PM   #311
SwedX
*BANNED*
 
SwedX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 554
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

Nice I have wondering the same and the damn game waiting to being played so bring on the patch now so some DX10 godness will come
SwedX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-07, 03:46 PM   #312
Dragunov
Mister Anderson ... !!!
 
Dragunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Call of Juarez - Feedback Thread

Yes, still waiting too to continue this game until those patch
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- WD Caviar 750GB
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL

3D mark 05: 13321

3D Mark 06: 8065
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Max Payne 3 Feedback Thread Ghosthunter Gaming Central 94 10-05-12 06:00 AM
Detonator 40.72 feedback thread mongoose NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 94 12-03-02 10:45 AM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 06:54 AM
Detonator 30.30 feedback thread Matthyahuw NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 26 07-31-02 09:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.