Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-13-07, 03:49 AM   #13
WeReWoLf
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,015
Send a message via MSN to WeReWoLf
Default Re: Play Halo 2 and Shadow Run on XP, soon.

Strange, you'd think they'd be able to read. Under the Games for Windows Logo is three words that are clearly stated. "Requires Windows Vista"
WeReWoLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-07, 06:42 AM   #14
Bokishi
NV THIS
 
Bokishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hutt Space
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Play Halo 2 and Shadow Run on XP, soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcrackr
The number of people that bought it without knowing it was vista only I'm sure is probably near 50%.
I think that too lol
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz
EVGA Z68
Ripjaws X 16GB 1600MHz
EVGA GTX 680
X-Fi Titanium HD
Intel 40GB SSD (SRT Cache)
Hitachi 1TB Boot HDD
7TB Storage HDDs
Coolermaster 750w
Bokishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-07, 09:16 AM   #15
Dragunov
Mister Anderson ... !!!
 
Dragunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Play Halo 2 and Shadow Run on XP, soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qlitchford
Neither of those two games are DX10, so why are they Vista only? It's not about adding new features to an old OS, its about keeping games off of a system just to strong arm consumers into buying a new OS.
Yeah, that's a bad move indeed.

But DX10 is Vista and has nothing to do with those two games

They could have made them XP and Vista
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- WD Caviar 750GB
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL

3D mark 05: 13321

3D Mark 06: 8065
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-07, 12:02 PM   #16
flukester
*BANNED*
 
flukester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 505
Default Re: Play Halo 2 and Shadow Run on XP, soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
That is PC only sales.

Surprises me, I didn't think it would sell very well with its heavy O.S. requirement.
Doesn't say how many 'units' are sold and imo, PC games aren't selling all that well these days, I mean look CiV 4 is back on there as is HL2 EP1....
flukester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-07, 10:22 PM   #17
Shamrock
Royalty gone awry
 
Shamrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: Play Halo 2 and Shadow Run on XP, soon.

It's not called Falling Lead...it's Falling Leaf (with an F, not a D). It's called the Alky Project.

Here is the website:
His blog...
http://alkyproject.blogspot.com/

Official website...
http://www.fallingleafsystems.com/
__________________
They're after me Lucky Charms!

AMD Phenom II 955BE
16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1333Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Logitech Z-5300 5.1 THX surround sound
HANNS-G 28" LCD
ZBoard Merc Gaming Keyboard
CoolerMaster HAF-932 Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Pro x64
Shamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-07, 02:18 AM   #18
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Play Halo 2 and Shadow Run on XP, soon.

Halo 2 XP patch in the torrents ... any idea if its working or just another tricky file ? (size 119k )
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-07, 02:23 AM   #19
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: Play Halo 2 and Shadow Run on XP, soon.

download it and report back before the virus rapes your computer.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-07, 02:40 AM   #20
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Play Halo 2 and Shadow Run on XP, soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
Halo 2 XP patch in the torrents ... any idea if its working or just another tricky file ? (size 119k )
Works 100%, thanks a lot

Now I can play it on XP before I switch back to Vista next week when the 8800 DV driver comes

If you dont trust my word for it, I will post a screenshot.

So much for 'paying' for it on XP
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-23-07, 02:50 AM   #21
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Play Halo 2 and Shadow Run on XP, soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by flukester
Doesn't say how many 'units' are sold and imo, PC games aren't selling all that well these days, I mean look CiV 4 is back on there as is HL2 EP1....
PC Gaming is selling better this year than past years.

But even so, it is still in the top 10 list, meaning it is one of the top 10 selling PC Games, regardless of how many units are sold.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-07, 02:58 AM   #22
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Play Halo 2 and Shadow Run on XP, soon.

Ok perhaps I spoke too soon.... for some reason even though I'm signed into Live the Network and Live buttons on main screen are greyed out...

Also performance seems.... BAD lol... I have no idea why.. ran decent on Vista when I had Vista installed recently. Also the audio seems to be stereo only, whereas 5.1 worked in Vista. Not sure what's up with that, I thought it was an OpenAL game (hence 5.1 working on Vista).. perhaps it's something different again... (Xaudio?)

Hmmm... I'll be back on Vista soon anyway
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-07, 03:02 AM   #23
Jonelo
Registered User
 
Jonelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Play Halo 2 and Shadow Run on XP, soon.

Quote:
Performance goes up 30% with XP. Graphics detail high! Everything loads faster too!



Quote:

Code:
http://rapidshare.com/files/38788150/WowLoader-0.2.rar
Code:
Installation Instructions:
  1) Extract the archive.
  2) Insert the Halo 2 DVD
  3) Run Startup.exe on the Halo 2 DVD using the included Loader.exe
     Ie.: Loader.exe D:\Startup.exe
  4) Install the game.
  5) Install XLiveRedist1.0.6027.msi and vcredist.msi from the \redists dir on the Halo 2 DVD.
  6) Copy the following files into the directory you installed Halo 2:
     dwmapi.dll, mf.dll, MFPlat.dll
  7) Finished. To play the game, run halo2.exe using the included Loader.exe
     Ie.: Loader.exe "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo 2\halo2.exe
"
--

Performance goes up 30% with XP. Graphics detail high! Everything loads faster too!

MEGAUPLOAD:
Code:
*********





Jonelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-07, 03:29 AM   #24
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: Play Halo 2 and Shadow Run on XP, soon.

lol can u play online with it?
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.