Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-12-07, 10:12 AM   #1
simonporter007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Default Confused with resolution output

I have a samsung 42Q7HD which as I understand has a maximum resolution of 1024x768 (which i think is pretty pants and wish i had seen this before i bought it)

What i don't understand is how i can have my xbox at 720p or 1080i but not my PC with a new 8800GTX card in it. Is this because of the connection? Currently it is a DVI to a SVGA adapter which i imagine would make the difference.

So what im asking really is if i get a DVI to HDMI adapter, plug it into the TV through that, does that fool the TV into thinking it's something else and display a higher resolution? Or would it still be determined by my PC drivers. Bit confused about the whole thing!

Also, would it load up the screen automatically through HDMI? or would i have to load it up and then tell it to output it my TV?

Many thanks, sorry for the noob question!

Simon.
simonporter007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-07, 10:25 AM   #2
thor1182
Spelling Expert?!?
 
thor1182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indy, IN
Posts: 812
Default Re: Confused with resolution output

TV's overscan. To get what you need you need to either enable custom resolutions and tinker to you find one that fits, or look for drivers that correctly compensate for the overscan.

I am connecting to my Samsung dlp via a dvi - hdmi and with a 6800 gt and I had to go the first route. I haven't digged for an updated Vista 64 driver that can adjust for the overscan correctly.
__________________
-"Aqua 2": Water Cooled Intel i7 960, 12 GB DDR3 PC 12800, 3x Intel X-25-M 80 GB SSD RAID 0, SATA 1.5TB WD, EVGA GeForce GTX 470 Supper Clocked Water Cooled, ASUS P6X58D, Corsair 800D w/ Koolance cooling
thor1182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-07, 11:32 AM   #3
Ancient
Occasional User
 
Ancient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Too far from the beach
Posts: 619
Default Re: Confused with resolution output

Over an SVGA input the best resolution you're going to get is 480i. So you're not getting anywhere near the best picture you could have, if you're using that input. I've never heard of a DVI to SVGA adapter though. I'm not sure why anyone would go that route.

Yes, you could use a DVI->HDMI cable from your PC to your TV. It should show up on the screen just fine, though you may have to designate the TV as the primary display if you have a dual monitor setup. Using a DVI->HDMI cable you could output a 720p resolution. As was already mentioned you'll need to adjust for overscan. The 160.03 drivers are the only current non-hacked drivers that allow that adjustment in XP or Vista. I haven't tried the recently released 160.04 drivers but more than likely they permit overscan adjustment as well.

Give the DVI->HDMI cable a shot and if you have any more questions feel free to ask them in here.
__________________
"You know the difference between cannibals and liberals? Cannibals only eat their enemies."
Ancient is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-07, 12:49 PM   #4
simonporter007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Confused with resolution output

Hi thanks for the replies, i stopped off on the way home and got a HDMI/DVI adapter. Yeah it now works as 720p which is perfect, just as you say i need to sort out this overscan thing. nvidia drivers let me adjust scaling but it does nada, so i'll try the powerstrip route or something.

Cheers for the quick replies, i'll see how i get on.

Simon.
simonporter007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-07, 01:57 PM   #5
Ancient
Occasional User
 
Ancient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Too far from the beach
Posts: 619
Default Re: Confused with resolution output

Quote:
Originally Posted by simonporter007
Hi thanks for the replies, i stopped off on the way home and got a HDMI/DVI adapter. Yeah it now works as 720p which is perfect, just as you say i need to sort out this overscan thing. nvidia drivers let me adjust scaling but it does nada, so i'll try the powerstrip route or something.

Cheers for the quick replies, i'll see how i get on.

Simon.
Install the 160.03 drivers and use the Resize HDTV Desktop option in the NVIDIA control panel and you'll be able to adjust for overscan.
__________________
"You know the difference between cannibals and liberals? Cannibals only eat their enemies."
Ancient is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-07, 02:52 PM   #6
thor1182
Spelling Expert?!?
 
thor1182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indy, IN
Posts: 812
Default Re: Confused with resolution output

does those work right with the 6 series stuff?

I have like 2 days worth of experience with Vista.
__________________
-"Aqua 2": Water Cooled Intel i7 960, 12 GB DDR3 PC 12800, 3x Intel X-25-M 80 GB SSD RAID 0, SATA 1.5TB WD, EVGA GeForce GTX 470 Supper Clocked Water Cooled, ASUS P6X58D, Corsair 800D w/ Koolance cooling
thor1182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-07, 02:40 AM   #7
simonporter007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Thumbs up Re: Confused with resolution output

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ancient
Install the 160.03 drivers and use the Resize HDTV Desktop option in the NVIDIA control panel and you'll be able to adjust for overscan.
Cheers, installed the 03 drivers and was able to fix the overscan issue no problem. It's pretty much sorted now, text isn't as clear as what i thought it might be but it's better than my last resolution!

thanks again,

Simon.
simonporter007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-07, 06:26 PM   #8
googler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Confused with resolution output

you post some pictures maybe?>
googler is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800 GT and Ubuntu - Plymouth low resolution legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 3 06-24-12 03:22 PM
Opinions on 1280x1024 resolution skipparoo NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 103 06-22-12 11:38 PM
Unable to get other display resolution jcdole NVIDIA Linux 0 05-11-12 04:25 AM
Confused Philibob Feedback Forum 3 09-12-02 03:19 PM
30.82 and 40.41 resolution + monitor OSD. Max3D NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 09-05-02 02:15 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.