Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-16-07, 07:42 AM   #13
SwedX
*BANNED*
 
SwedX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 554
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

I got a e4300@3GHZ and it still dont run like I want..have to scale down on the settings then it's okey but with this system it should freaking fly.
SwedX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-07, 07:43 AM   #14
Jackrabbit710
The NVNEWS thread killer
 
Jackrabbit710's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 208
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Got the game yesterday, its absolutely brilliant, good balance of sim and arcade, the crashes look great, i love watching a good crash in slow motion.
Using my logitec G25, took my a while to set all the options up so it feels right but got it near perfect.
Runs great to, 25+fps, everything on Ultra with 4xAA and 16xAF
Its such a well polished game
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @2.95ghz
Geforce 8800GTX 768mb (630/13.2)
2Gb OCZ DDR800 Rev 2
Asus P5W Deluxe
SB Audigy 2 ZS
Jackrabbit710 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-07, 07:43 AM   #15
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_ice
no wonder with that CPU
your 8800GTX is only running at half the speed
buy a C2D and overclock it and you have doubled the FPS right away.
Running at half speed?

I ran the game at absolute minimum settings and it ran in slow motion half the time. It was obviously some kind of performance glitch.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-07, 08:34 AM   #16
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

You guys w/ GTXs should be able to play this game just fine. Just run it at high settings (Ultra shadows take over 512MB of framebuffer) like I do on my 2900XT. I get around 40FPS on the buggy track. It never drops below 38FPS while I'm driving:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...&postcount=412
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-07, 08:40 AM   #17
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,794
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Went to the local shop....they didn't have it. Guess I will try sometime next week. Anxious to get my Momo wheel going again
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-07, 09:09 AM   #18
pg_ice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 247
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Running at half speed?
time to wake up.
your X2 cant feed your 8800GTX
your 8800GTX is waiting and thinking why the hell it takes forever to get info from the CPU.

C2D is the only way to go
as i said you will be able to get twice the performance.
__________________
C2D E4300 3.5GHz WaterCooled |Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4 | Corsair TWIN2X 6400 DDR2 2048MB CL5 | Corsair HX 520W |
BFG 8800Ultra OC WaterCooled
pg_ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-07, 09:12 AM   #19
[BANDIT]
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 152
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

" Ultra graphic settings modified slightly to be usable with hardware of today." - so graphic is better or worsed?
[BANDIT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-07, 10:50 AM   #20
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

demo runned perfectly for me !!

i so ****ing want teh full game, best rally game ever.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-16-07, 11:49 AM   #21
SwedX
*BANNED*
 
SwedX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 554
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Yepp as I said turn down it a little and now runs just fine
Just started played and it seems like the Colin game I dreamed of and looks extremely good, it shows its a new engine, total nexgen.

Xion really nice pics there.
SwedX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-07, 12:10 PM   #22
pg_ice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 247
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter
In the meantime I found a good G25 setting, it's not that bad now but still to arcade-ish.

Here are a few shots (haven't tried AA yet):
damn!
best graphics so far
if you didnt know it was a game you could take it for a real rally coverage on tv
__________________
C2D E4300 3.5GHz WaterCooled |Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4 | Corsair TWIN2X 6400 DDR2 2048MB CL5 | Corsair HX 520W |
BFG 8800Ultra OC WaterCooled
pg_ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-07, 12:25 PM   #23
pg_ice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 247
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

i dont have a proper graphics card yet and i dont have the game
but if you want a sharper and more realistic looking graphics it shouldnt be a big deal to fix.

i did some changes in Photoshop but the same changes can be done in the nvidia control panel
all i did was to add some sharpening and a higher gamma setting.

try to higher the "image sharpening" under Color Correction to around 50% (slider in the middle)
and also higher the gamma to something like 1.64 and you "should" get the same effect as in the picture.





Edit: Gamma at 1.16 and image sharpening at 25% (slider 1/4) seems to be best
__________________
C2D E4300 3.5GHz WaterCooled |Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4 | Corsair TWIN2X 6400 DDR2 2048MB CL5 | Corsair HX 520W |
BFG 8800Ultra OC WaterCooled
pg_ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-07, 02:02 PM   #24
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackrabbit710
Got the game yesterday, its absolutely brilliant, good balance of sim and arcade, the crashes look great, i love watching a good crash in slow motion.
Using my logitec G25, took my a while to set all the options up so it feels right but got it near perfect.
Runs great to, 25+fps, everything on Ultra with 4xAA and 16xAF
Its such a well polished game
With this game anything hovering around 30 seems more than playable to me.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.