Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-19-07, 11:19 PM   #37
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

performance is not a issue for me.

there is a huge problem in retail game with sound engine. When more cars are on the screen sound cuts off. after the race it turns into slide show.

Seems like the game overloads the sound buffers.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 02:22 AM   #38
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
performance is not a issue for me.

there is a huge problem in retail game with sound engine. When more cars are on the screen sound cuts off. after the race it turns into slide show.

Seems like the game overloads the sound buffers.
Yep, it runs like horrid crap when there are a lot of cars driving around. My brother has an xplosion and I have an x-fi and we both have the same problems.

Disabling the sound card in device manager almost triples the framerate and gets rid of 99% of the stuttering\surging effect in the multi-car races.

Playing the game on ultra settings with sound disabled is perfectly smooth in XP (xp runs it better than vista) on the buggy race in the demo... playing the game with sound on at minimum settings is almost unplayable in the same race, especially in Vista.

More quality codemasters programming.

What an ironic name for a company.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 05:08 AM   #39
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Performance was excellent here, everything maxed out (Ultra), 1280x1024, 16AF, 4AA, no matter what cars, tracks or view (love ****pit/helmet view!), felt like solid 60fps to me (XP, 158.27).

I did have some sound issues, some sound channel volumes (5.1, actual engine sound and voice channel) were messed up both in OpenAL and DirectSound (highest settings, no fps impact that I noticed, latest XFi drivers, full audio acceleration).

More annoying was the fact that everytime I exit the game the dirt.exe caused the standard windows error/crash message. While it didnīt obviously affect gameplay or game stability, I still find it odd that the .exe crashed like that at the exit. Another annoyance was that everytime I wanted to play and was not connected to the internet the game profiles got corrupted after quitting/restarting the game. When I was online, this did not happen.

Overall I really like this game, it does not have the gameplay and physics of RBR but the graphics and cars alone make this one worth the purchase.
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 06:49 AM   #40
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Yep, it runs like horrid crap when there are a lot of cars driving around. My brother has an xplosion and I have an x-fi and we both have the same problems.

Disabling the sound card in device manager almost triples the framerate and gets rid of 99% of the stuttering\surging effect in the multi-car races.

Playing the game on ultra settings with sound disabled is perfectly smooth in XP (xp runs it better than vista) on the buggy race in the demo... playing the game with sound on at minimum settings is almost unplayable in the same race, especially in Vista.

More quality codemasters programming.

What an ironic name for a company.
well, all i will say is that Demo runs great for me, no issues.

Retail has the sound problem
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 08:14 AM   #41
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Did you guys try Software sound mode? The audio doesn't seem to be that great anyway, so who cares if it sounds like ass.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 08:56 AM   #42
Dragunov
Mister Anderson ... !!!
 
Dragunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Well I first wanted this game, but with this negative feedback, I think I just watch out for another game...

First and for all, protected by Starforce!!!!

Then those low performance, even with top notch systems!!!!

Not only WRC rally in the game, but also other off-road stuff found in it (see Toca Race Driver games)!!!!
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- WD Caviar 750GB
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL

3D mark 05: 13321

3D Mark 06: 8065
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 09:18 AM   #43
PaiN
Don't make me MAD!
 
PaiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,111
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

The demo ran fine on my system, I played everyday to hone my skillz for the full game ....I'm using the XB360 controller and have np with the handling, the demo was damn fun. Looking forward to the retail, GS pre-order should be in today.....
__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.2ghz | EVGA Superclock M020 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8gb G.Skill Ripjaws X PC1600 | EVGA GTX570 760/1950 | SB X-Fi Xtremegamer | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610w PSU | (2) WD Black 640gb in RAID"0" | MSI SATA DVD-RW | Saitek Eclipse kb | Logi G5v2 mouse / Steelseries QcK | Antec P182 "Gunmetal" | Logitech 5300a THX 5.1 speakers | ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD
-Windows7 64bit
PaiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 09:22 AM   #44
turdhat
Registered User
 
turdhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 379
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

1.1 patch appplied, Core 2 @ 3.45, Gtx 8800 OC edition @630/2000 (default)
1280x720, AA set to 4xS super sampling with Transparency supersample enabled using Nhancer, 16 af, sound set to openal, everything maxed accept the in car characters which is set to low. Ran fraps in benchmark mode for one minute during a replay with camera view set to show broadcast style coverage. THis was a big rigs race on some desert track.

Min 38
Average 48
Max 60 (vsync on max refresh for my DLP set is 60)

Ran again bench again for 60 sec fron inside view.

Min 42
average 53
Max 60

Love this game. Using a Classic Xbox controller with usb adapter and its a bit touchy and easy to oversteer but still love it. May buy a 360 pad today to see if there is a difference.
turdhat is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-20-07, 10:59 AM   #45
Single Player
Бля, нахуй в рот!
 
Single Player's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 579
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

is there any cheats!? i wanna drive big trucks!
Single Player is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 12:24 PM   #46
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
well, all i will say is that Demo runs great for me, no issues.
The slow downs related to sound are all over the official forums. Hopefully they can actually fix it.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 01:28 PM   #47
SwedX
*BANNED*
 
SwedX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 554
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Had to scale down the game a bit. mostly on medium settings with my 8800GTX / e4300@ 3200Mhz, yepp i finally get my C2D stable at 3200Mhz after a burn in time

Cant stand getting any lower then 30 FPS and mostly runs stable at 40 - 50 FPS now witch is the treashold for what I can take so guys scale down a bit if your as me and cant take any lower crap fps.
SwedX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 03:38 PM   #48
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
The slow downs related to sound are all over the official forums. Hopefully they can actually fix it.
i been exchaing e-mails with codemasters for two days now.

Its weird, you know the buggy race, it works perfectly in demo. In retail version after half the race sounds goes out.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Đ1998 - 2014, nV News.