Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-21-07, 01:14 PM   #61
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

those look at least to be medium, but it could be low too. probably not set to 2048 either.

textures look different also
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-07, 01:15 PM   #62
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by agentkay
Game mode and audio acceleration set to max, right? Or do you use a different setting? What Nvidia driver do you use? Im wondering if Im the only one who gets .exe related crashes when I exit the game. TIA
mine never crashes, just after sounds goes out, it slows down to about 1 frame every 5 seconds.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-07, 03:43 PM   #63
SwedX
*BANNED*
 
SwedX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 554
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

360 version oh yeah nextgen looks worse then all set to min
Glad I sold that POS
SwedX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-07, 05:20 PM   #64
PaiN
Don't make me MAD!
 
PaiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,111
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Ok ...Super Fun Racing I don't know how else to describe this game. It is the best I've ever played, not the most realistic, just the best. Driving has the right balance, presentation is beautiful, damage modeling is unbelievable(the good unbelievable ), control is spot on (using an XB360 pad) and the AI....well they totally seal it for me. AI is challenging with out being impossible, they make plenty of mistakes which make perfect times to capitalize and gain position. there are no "majic" drivers...the leaders are there because they drive well, but what is great is they can be "pressed" into making boo-boos. They even press each other
I have it maxed out @ 1680x1050...sound OpenAL/high quality. performance is fine the only thing I notice is in multiple car races the first bunch up causes a frame rate hit and some studdering....it only lasts a few seconds, then the race is smooth after that.
__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.2ghz | EVGA Superclock M020 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8gb G.Skill Ripjaws X PC1600 | EVGA GTX570 760/1950 | SB X-Fi Xtremegamer | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610w PSU | (2) WD Black 640gb in RAID"0" | MSI SATA DVD-RW | Saitek Eclipse kb | Logi G5v2 mouse / Steelseries QcK | Antec P182 "Gunmetal" | Logitech 5300a THX 5.1 speakers | ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD
-Windows7 64bit
PaiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-07, 06:25 PM   #65
vert305
Registered User
 
vert305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 223
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

(((Much Better then the DEMO)))) Drives great, plays great ... all settings max, Vista, 1920 X 1200 ... I love it!
vert305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-07, 10:01 PM   #66
pg_ice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 247
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

super graphics!
man it almost feel like you are driving for real it looks fantastic

but its heavy on the GPU
i must overclock my new 8800Ultra to get a smooth 60fps

im running XP do you think Vista is faster? havnt tried it yet but i will

posting some screens
MAX ingame settings 4xAA at 1280x960





__________________
C2D E4300 3.5GHz WaterCooled |Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4 | Corsair TWIN2X 6400 DDR2 2048MB CL5 | Corsair HX 520W |
BFG 8800Ultra OC WaterCooled
pg_ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-07, 11:06 PM   #67
pg_ice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 247
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

i think im in love with this graphics engine!

i have never seen graphics this realistic on a PC!!
even at the truck race with 10? more cars all over the FPS didnt went under 40,often around 60 and smooth as water.
ok it maybe look a little blury on the screens but in motion when you drive you dont see that.

the damage model is also frigging amazing
the hood popped up and was bounching up and down when i drived.

im must post some new screens







__________________
C2D E4300 3.5GHz WaterCooled |Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4 | Corsair TWIN2X 6400 DDR2 2048MB CL5 | Corsair HX 520W |
BFG 8800Ultra OC WaterCooled
pg_ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-07, 12:38 AM   #68
Single Player
Бля, нахуй в рот!
 
Single Player's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 579
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

is there anyway to make particle effects , guess that's the name of this effect more this i remember some rally game there was a huge dust effects,kinda like it.
Single Player is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-22-07, 12:39 AM   #69
Single Player
Бля, нахуй в рот!
 
Single Player's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 579
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

edited
Single Player is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-07, 12:41 AM   #70
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by vert305
(((Much Better then the DEMO)))) Drives great, plays great ... all settings max, Vista, 1920 X 1200 ... I love it!
What drivers are you using? Interesting to note that at least one person has good performance while others with similar setups have major issues.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-07, 05:40 AM   #71
PaiN
Don't make me MAD!
 
PaiN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 2,111
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121
What drivers are you using? Interesting to note that at least one person has good performance while others with similar setups have major issues.
I use 158.45

If you want to improve the performance of the of the game.....there is a utility to remove the bloom effect on some of the overbright lighting....
imo, the game, especially the textures look much more sharp (you'll see )
(sry, if this has been posted before)

http://community.codemasters.com/for...d.php?t=189628

http://community.codemasters.com/for...74&postcount=7
__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.2ghz | EVGA Superclock M020 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8gb G.Skill Ripjaws X PC1600 | EVGA GTX570 760/1950 | SB X-Fi Xtremegamer | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610w PSU | (2) WD Black 640gb in RAID"0" | MSI SATA DVD-RW | Saitek Eclipse kb | Logi G5v2 mouse / Steelseries QcK | Antec P182 "Gunmetal" | Logitech 5300a THX 5.1 speakers | ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD
-Windows7 64bit
PaiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-07, 06:44 AM   #72
pg_ice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 247
Default Re: Colin McRae DIRT and patch 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaiN
I use 158.45
so Vista is faster than XP?
no way that you can run the game maxed out at that res with a smooth framerate in XP
__________________
C2D E4300 3.5GHz WaterCooled |Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4 | Corsair TWIN2X 6400 DDR2 2048MB CL5 | Corsair HX 520W |
BFG 8800Ultra OC WaterCooled
pg_ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.