Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-07, 02:10 PM   #61
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Post BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.21

Update 05/11/2007 (Version 1.21)

This is a quickfix for the HUD options. They should work now in all the resolutions.
Also, new options to resize/move the HUDs of the bosses have been added.

Thank you very much & enjoy playing with Rayne !
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-07, 03:39 PM   #62
Buio
Registered User
 
Buio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,092
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.1

Hud resize works fine for me in 1920x1200 now.

Out of combat hud and nice shadow


In action hud (warning gore)
Buio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-07, 07:18 PM   #63
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.1

Here I was not mentioning it to anyone and you had already released it to the public a long time ago. Guess I have been missing in action for a while. Anyway, like I said in PM, great job with this!!
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 07:45 AM   #64
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Thumbs up Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.2

Well,

If nobody hasn't any problem to fix, or any other feature to request, i can conclude that the patch is finished.

I can't add more enhancements with the actual method (at least, not the ones that i would like).

I would like to enhance the shader programs of the game, but, i need their source code before. I'm trying to write a shader disassembler to do this, but, it's a project that i dunno if i could accomplish. I need help.

Thank you very much, and i hope that you've enjoyed my work.
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 09:23 AM   #65
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.1

You have done an awesome work, it's very difficult to accomplish this: writting a wrapper, without any source code to work with, just by reading D3D8 tutorials, intercepting calls, lots of guessing and trial-and-error. But it has been worth and I know there are tons of Bloodrayne fans that love this work.

Congratulations!!!
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 12:46 PM   #66
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.1

Many thanks for your awesome work!
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-07, 03:34 PM   #67
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by LordJuanlo
You have done an awesome work, it's very difficult to accomplish this: writting a wrapper, without any source code to work with, just by reading D3D8 tutorials, intercepting calls, lots of guessing and trial-and-error. But it has been worth and I know there are tons of Bloodrayne fans that love this work.

Congratulations!!!
Second that in a big way!
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-07, 01:59 AM   #68
Elvin Presler
Registered User
 
Elvin Presler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 633
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.1

I have no in game videos at all using any form of wide screen. AA or not, as soon as I turn on wide screen, the videos break. I just get sound and a black screen while they play, usually I see about 1 frame of the video before it goes black. I already tried useOldFSAAmethod = 1 and every other combination of settings I could think of in the INI file and my Forceware drivers, but I'll try a different set of drivers (was 94.24) and whatever else I can think of.

Even if I can only play in non-wide screen, it will be great with your patch. I have had this game sitting around for ages and never played it yet. It'll be really nice to tweak it up like this the first time through.

EDIT: Got it all working fine with the 169.09 drivers.
Elvin Presler is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-20-07, 07:52 AM   #69
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Post Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.1

Are you using a nvidia 8x00 card ? I remember that the original BR2 wasn't working properly on these cards till nvidia released driver version 100.x or so.

The pre-rendered videos have been always an issue for a lot of people, even without my patch (personally, i never had problems with them, in any of my old rigs: 9800Pro, 6800U, 7900GTX & 8800GTX).

The patch has been developed on a 8800GTX with several Forceware versions, starting from version 15x. through actual version 169.x.

I'm glad to know that the patch works for you after the driver upgrade.

Enjoy it !
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-07, 10:54 AM   #70
Athena
spirit filled
 
Athena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: US
Posts: 329
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.1

thanks for the patch work. I will be installing this game now later today, I had been waiting for something like this. thanks
__________________
The only reason we are all here is because we are not all there!
Athena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-07, 01:14 PM   #71
Elvin Presler
Registered User
 
Elvin Presler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 633
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.1

I am using a 7800GS. There are a lot of things that could have caused my problem. Codecs, Desktop Theme (modified theme files), Something with my custom resolutions or the timing, who knows. Long story short, I restored my backup image of my Windows partition before any "extras" were added, updated the driver to 169.09 and dropped in the 1.21 patch (I tried all versions before that) and it works great now. I'd love to be able to say exactly what the trouble was, but I really don't know.

And yes, thanks for your work on this. Wide screen will be excellent. It's funny, Bloodrayne 1 had near perfect wide screen support natively...then BR2 has none. Odd.
Elvin Presler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-08, 09:22 AM   #72
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Talking Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.1

Welcome to the public version 1.4 of the BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch.

This new version adds custom shader programs to enhance the following effects: wave pools, water & blood fields. These new shaders use reflection, perlin refraction & bump mapping techniques. The shaders are written in D3D ASM, & they require VS 1.1 & PS 1.4.

Enhanced Blood Fields / Enhanced Water / Enhanced Wave Pool:



Perlin effects need a huge computing power. My decision here has been to use the CPU power, cause the game is very bounded by the GPU power. Therefore, i've developed a multi-threaded perlin algorithm optimized 100% in assembler with SSE3. As result, dual core users won't have any performance hit on the FPS, and quad core users will enjoy smoother effects. In the future there will be a SSE4.1 version too (as soon as i get my Q9450 )

Remember to set 'numWorkerThreads = NumberOfCores - 1' to avoid a performance hit on the FPS. Dual core users should set '1', and Quad Core users '3'. This way, you'll enjoy all these enhancements without any drop in your FPS. Single core users must set '1', and they will have a performance hit on the zones with the new effects.



Also, the configuration program includes a new 'benchmark tool' for your multi-core CPU. It has profiles for different sorts of benchmarks. If you configure a custom long benchmark, i can tell you that it will overheat your CPU to unknown levels It's an excellent test for any multi-core CPU. You can run it without the game. I hope to see your results soon (Less Total Time = Better Result).

About the Forceware drivers, i can tell you that the patch works perfectly with version 169.01, but, SSAA is totally broken since 169.21, and 171.x causes huge stability problems while running the game. About ATI users, well, i'm sorry, but, i haven't any ATI card installed atm to try it, but i really would love to investigate it, in special for CF setups on Intel mobos.

Last, i would like to announce that i'm going to start another project with a good friend, to remake the textures of the game in high resolution. The project might be called 'BloodRayne 2 HD'. Therefore, if you can contribute, send me a pm or something. Artists are needed.

Special thanks to the game developers & publishers (Terminal Reality & Majesco) for allowing me to release this patch.

Thank you very much & enjoy playing with Rayne !
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.