Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-08, 02:20 PM   #73
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Post Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

Quick Update: I've fixed a problem with the configuration tool for the US/UK users. If the configuration tool is crashing for you, re-download the patch again. Sorry for the inconveniences.
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-08, 03:12 PM   #74
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

thanks
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-08, 02:15 PM   #75
JohnDio
Registered User
 
JohnDio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

Amazing work as always walterman. Really looking forward to the HD project too
JohnDio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-08, 01:38 PM   #76
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

The benchmark mode is sweet Check out my score at 4.4GHz

__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-08, 09:06 PM   #77
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Smile Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

jAkUp, you're holding the record atm. You broke the 1s barrier. Your system is absolutely outstanding !

As reference, my Athlon X2 4400+ @ 2.75 GHz needs 3.5s, and a Q6600 @ 2.4 GHz needs 1.5s

The benchmark is highly optimized using 100% assembler with SSE3 instructions. I needed 2 weeks to optimize the code, and i've been coding in assembler for more than 15y now, and i used all my tricks in this code.

About the patch, it means that you will enjoy smoother animations on the perlin effects.
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-08, 08:01 AM   #78
Buio
Registered User
 
Buio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,092
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by walterman
As reference, my Athlon X2 4400+ @ 2.75 GHz needs 3.5s, and a Q6600 @ 2.4 GHz needs 1.5s
I got a 4800+ @ 2.4 GHz.
* Dual Core: Total Time: 7.003203
* Dual Core - SSE3: Total Time: 4.418877

I'm planning an upgrade to a SSE4 Quad Core when they become available though. Q9450 I guess.


Btw Walterman, do you think it would be possible to alter the body fade time? I guess its not possible to change without hacking the gamefile though.

Graphically the game is perfect with your mod.
Buio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-08, 04:00 PM   #79
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Smile Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buio
I got a 4800+ @ 2.4 GHz.
* Dual Core: Total Time: 7.003203
* Dual Core - SSE3: Total Time: 4.418877

I'm planning an upgrade to a SSE4 Quad Core when they become available though. Q9450 I guess.


Btw Walterman, do you think it would be possible to alter the body fade time? I guess its not possible to change without hacking the gamefile though.

Graphically the game is perfect with your mod.
You have my same upgrade plans

The patch will support SSE4 as soon as i get my Q9450 to code it. I have the latest Intel manuals, and when i was writting the SSE3 code, i put some SSE4 instructions 'by error', to save some clock cycles.

Sorry, but i can't change the fading time of the corpses
I only can alter what the game sends to the Direct3D pipeline.

Btw, try to run the benchmark under XP, some users reported about a 10-20% better score than in Vista.

And thanks, i'll keep trying to enhance the gfx quality.
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-08, 10:43 PM   #80
AdamK47
 
AdamK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 984
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

This patch overrides D3DOverrider. I can't get vsync working with this. If I remove this patch vsync works. Put it back on and it's broken.
AdamK47 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-29-08, 07:59 AM   #81
Buio
Registered User
 
Buio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,092
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamK47
This patch overrides D3DOverrider. I can't get vsync working with this. If I remove this patch vsync works. Put it back on and it's broken.
I'm no programmer, but afaik it works by intercepting the games directx output using its own d3d8.dll library (you see it in the patch, and its copied to the game folder meaning the game uses that lib before any other one). This probably means that other apps working by hooks to that lib can get broken. Just my guesses though.
Buio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-08, 08:36 AM   #82
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamK47
This patch overrides D3DOverrider. I can't get vsync working with this. If I remove this patch vsync works. Put it back on and it's broken.
Weird, i have tested VSync here, and it works like a charm. But this is XP. Are you under Vista perhaps ?

Try to create a profile for the game with nHancer, and check 'Vertical Sync' to 'On', and tell me if it works.

D3DOverrider changes the calls to the D3D API, but, i do it too from my patch. nHancer tells the driver to do the changes, it should be more direct & efficient.

The patch needs to do miracles in order to run the game with FSAA.

Hope this helps.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buio
I'm no programmer, but afaik it works by intercepting the games directx output using its own d3d8.dll library (you see it in the patch, and its copied to the game folder meaning the game uses that lib before any other one). This probably means that other apps working by hooks to that lib can get broken. Just my guesses though.
Yes, that's what i was thinking too.
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-08, 07:24 PM   #83
AdamK47
 
AdamK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 984
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

I'm using Vista x64 SP1 and have a GeForce 8800GTX with the 171.20 WHQL drivers. Vsync is always forced on in the nVidia control panel. It's like this:
If I play the game without your patch and with D3DOverrider I do get vsync.
If I play the game without your patch and without D3DOverrider I don't have vsync.
If I play the game with your patch and with D3DOverrider I don't have vsync.
If I play the game with your patch and without D3DOverrider I don't have vsync.

The only way I get vsync is without your patch and with D3DOverrider.
AdamK47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-08, 08:37 PM   #84
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Post Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamK47
I'm using Vista x64 SP1 and have a GeForce 8800GTX with the 171.20 WHQL drivers. Vsync is always forced on in the nVidia control panel. It's like this:
If I play the game without your patch and with D3DOverrider I do get vsync.
If I play the game without your patch and without D3DOverrider I don't have vsync.
If I play the game with your patch and with D3DOverrider I don't have vsync.
If I play the game with your patch and without D3DOverrider I don't have vsync.

The only way I get vsync is without your patch and with D3DOverrider.
Ok, i tried D3D Overrider, and it doesn't work with my patch, but, it works without it.

Could you try with nHancer, please ? It's working for me on XP.

Also, nHancer is the only way to enable SSAA in the game. I highly recommend this tool to manage the image quality in BR2 with my patch.

Hope this helps.
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.