Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-08, 08:39 PM   #85
AdamK47
 
AdamK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 984
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by walterman
Ok, i tried D3D Overrider, and it doesn't work with my patch, but, it works without it.

Could you try with nHancer, please ? It's working for me on XP.

Also, nHancer is the only way to enable SSAA in the game. I highly recommend this tool to manage the image quality in BR2 with my patch.

Hope this helps.
Tried nHancer. Same results as with just using vsync in the nVidia control panel.
AdamK47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-08, 07:43 AM   #86
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Post Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

Ok, now this is weird.

I need feedback from other users running the patch under Vista. I just have XP on my rig, and i'm not planning to install dual boot with XP/Vista till i get my Q9450 (i hope that this month, if Intel wants).

Still there're some things that you can try:

- In the Config Tool, check 'Use Old FSAA method'.

- Unload RivaTuner monitoring parts.

- Check if nHancer is pointing to the proper executable in the BR2 profile (rayne2.exe, br2.exe, ...). Also click 'Options -> Allow override of predefined options'.

But first, i need feedback from the Vista users about VSync.

If we discover that VSync doesn't work under Vista, i could try to hard code it into the patch as another option.

Edit: Check also this thread please: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...t=86756&page=3
Maybe it's an issue with the Forceware drivers.
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-08, 06:36 AM   #87
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

i will try to test it today, was a bit busy yesterday
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-08, 01:59 PM   #88
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

Vsync not working for me under Vista64, nHancer 2.4.0 beta 5 and Forceware 169.61 (the quadro version)
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-08, 01:22 AM   #89
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

Using Patch 1.4. I notice when Blood Rage is on, I now see kind of a darkish circle around Rayne. I never noticed that before.

Is there a way to eliminate that?

I notice too that I'm still having some issues with the pre-rendered videos (even with the Use Old AA Method enabled). Not the videos so much but a few times when it's about to go to the save screen, I get a black screen. I can still hear the sounds of the game. If I alt/tab out and back in, I can then see the save screen.
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-08, 09:32 AM   #90
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Question Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike89
Using Patch 1.4. I notice when Blood Rage is on, I now see kind of a darkish circle around Rayne. I never noticed that before.

Is there a way to eliminate that?

I notice too that I'm still having some issues with the pre-rendered videos (even with the Use Old AA Method enabled). Not the videos so much but a few times when it's about to go to the save screen, I get a black screen. I can still hear the sounds of the game. If I alt/tab out and back in, I can then see the save screen.
Could you post an screenshot ? Vista/XP ? Forceware version ?

I know that the patch has several issues under Vista. As soon as i get my Q9450 i'll install Vista & i'll start to work in a fix.
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-08, 12:07 PM   #91
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

Running XP (sig below) and 169.21 drivers. How do you take a screenshot in Bloodrayne?
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-08, 12:17 PM   #92
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

Use FRAPS
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-24-08, 12:26 PM   #93
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Lightbulb Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

Ok, i remember that i tried that Forceware version (169.21), and the game was totally broken:

http://www.coopdb.com/modules.php?na...ewtopic&t=1003

Quote:
There're some issues with the latest nVidia drivers (Forceware 169.21):

- The super sampling AA modes are no longer working.

- The standard AA isn't working properly if you've the 'enhance in-game AA' option off, in the nVidia control panel.


The latest Forceware version that works properly with the patch is the 169.01.
Quote:
I've been testing a new beta version (Forceware 171.16 XP Beta), and this is what i've discovered:

+ The Super Sampling AA mores are working again like a charm.


But:

- They caused instability problems in my rig.



I still cannot recommend them.
Quote:
I've been testing the quadro driver this weekend (Forceware 169.61 XP WHQL):


+ Super Sampling AA modes are working properly.

+ Excellent stability & compatibility with the patch.

+ H264 hardware decoding works perfect !



You can download it at: http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_169.61.html
I'm really happy with these new 169.61 from the Quadro. The most stable driver that i have used on a nVidia card. No hangs while playing h264 videos since i installed them 1 month ago, and the compatibility with my patch is excellent.

Version 169.21 was released for Crysis patch 1.1, and i remember that it caused horrible problems with BR2, even without my patch (a lot of effects were corrupted).

Hope this helps.

And yes, Fraps works great with my patch
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-08, 12:26 PM   #94
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

I don't want to install FRAPS. I have no use for the program and it leaves crap in the system when trying to remove it.
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-08, 12:32 PM   #95
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

OK, I'll try those Quad drivers (I assume they don't need any modded inf). FSAA is working fine in Bloodrayne with 169.21. The issue I saw was the faint circle around Rayne when using Blood Rage.
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-08, 12:45 PM   #96
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch 1.4

Just tried those drivers and I get the same effect of the faint darkish circle around Rayne when in Blood Rage (hitting key number 1). Was the circle always there and I just never noticed it? I'd have to run the game without the patch to tell for sure.

Do I just put back in the original d3d8.dll to run it without the patch real quick?
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.