Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-10-07, 03:19 AM   #1
gbil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers

Ok time I also report a problem

Using the 100.14.09 drivers I can no longer change to another VT while the nvidia driver is loaded. Pressing ctrl+alt+f1 etc while on X results in black screen and the monitors entering standby mode. I can switch back to X just fine though. Also in shutdown after X is killed I see nothing, again screens are black and they enter standby mode. This doesn't happen with 9755 drivers or beta 100x drivers. This doesn't change if I remove any boot option, totally new to these drivers.

Please find attached the bug report.
Attached Files
File Type: bz2 nvidia-bug-report-100.14.09.log.tar.bz2 (43.9 KB, 203 views)
gbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-07, 07:56 AM   #2
obra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 66
Default Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers

Strange. I had this problem with previous beta drivers, 100.14.09 solved it for me.
obra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-07, 09:06 AM   #3
Cadynum
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 56
Default Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by gbil
Ok time I also report a problem

Using the 100.14.09 drivers I can no longer change to another VT while the nvidia driver is loaded. Pressing ctrl+alt+f1 etc while on X results in black screen and the monitors entering standby mode. I can switch back to X just fine though. Also in shutdown after X is killed I see nothing, again screens are black and they enter standby mode. This doesn't happen with 9755 drivers or beta 100x drivers. This doesn't change if I remove any boot option, totally new to these drivers.

Please find attached the bug report.
I got the same problem.
Cadynum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-07, 09:27 AM   #4
gbil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by obra
Strange. I had this problem with previous beta drivers, 100.14.09 solved it for me.

Guess what fixed it for you broke it for me

Hope when they solve it for me doesn't break it for you again
gbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-07, 02:24 PM   #5
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers

@gbil: there's a known regression with VESA console interaction that was introduced between 100.14.06 and 100.14.09; if you're using a VESA console, I'd recommend using a standard VGA one for now. This should work better again in future drivers, though only VGA is presently fully supported.
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-07, 04:07 PM   #6
gbil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by zander
@gbil: there's a known regression with VESA console interaction that was introduced between 100.14.06 and 100.14.09; if you're using a VESA console, I'd recommend using a standard VGA one for now. This should work better again in future drivers, though only VGA is presently fully supported.
Hm, so no 100.14.09 drivers for me since I can't run my 1680x1050 display on 640x480... I'll wait for new beta in which hopefully it will be fixed.
gbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-07, 08:54 AM   #7
almatic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers

I have this problem as well, the suggested solution means again huge letters in the console
Please fix this.
almatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-07, 03:59 PM   #8
jarodcanal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by gbil
Ok time I also report a problem

Using the 100.14.09 drivers I can no longer change to another VT while the nvidia driver is loaded. Pressing ctrl+alt+f1 etc while on X results in black screen and the monitors entering standby mode. I can switch back to X just fine though. Also in shutdown after X is killed I see nothing, again screens are black and they enter standby mode. This doesn't happen with 9755 drivers or beta 100x drivers. This doesn't change if I remove any boot option, totally new to these drivers.

Please find attached the bug report.
Hi,
I had exactly the same problem.
In my case it appears with nvidia drivers 9xxxx but it is still present with 100.14.09 drivers: the virtual consoles are there but there is not video signal sent to the screen, and you can switch between X and virtual consoles without problem (and there is no problem accessing virtual consoles using the nv driver, the problem only appears when using nvidia driver).
(I have it with Ubuntu 7.04 and with Kubuntu 7.04 (same machine))
I solved it modifying my boot options, adding "vga=792".
Now my /boot/grub/menu.lst has the following line:
Code:
kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.20-16-generic root=UUID=9924d035-b141-4e2b-922
a-013cf2c1cddd ro quiet splash vga=792
(for possible values for vga parameter have a look at :
Linux framebuffer super mini howto)
Now I can access my virtual consoles even when I am using the nvidia driver under Ubuntu 7.04.
I hope this helps you.
Regards
jarodcanal is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-18-07, 08:44 PM   #9
obra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 66
Default Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers

To those of you with working FB-consoles: Are any of you using tvout or running multiple screens?

I am, and this is the result: http://fredrik.obra.se/corruption.jpg

obra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-07, 04:09 AM   #10
gbil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers

My console switching problem solved with 100.14.11 drivers.
gbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-07, 10:56 AM   #11
choroba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Thumbs down Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers

The problem remains even after upgrade to 100.14.11. I log into KDE, run another session, switch back, switch to the new session - and all I can do is to press the RESET button
choroba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-07, 11:53 AM   #12
gbil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by choroba
The problem remains even after upgrade to 100.14.11. I log into KDE, run another session, switch back, switch to the new session - and all I can do is to press the RESET button
You will need to open a new thread with a bug report according to the sticky since your problem has nothing to the one I had.
gbil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Drivers Receive Windows 8 Certification News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 06:30 AM
Enhance Max Payne 3, Diablo III with GeForce R300 Drivers News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 07:30 PM
Creative drivers ? SparrowHawk General Hardware 39 11-18-02 09:03 AM
Radeon 9700 not all that? sancheuz Other Desktop Graphics Cards 200 10-12-02 10:31 PM
Nvidia Stereo Drivers Soudontsay NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 08-26-02 11:48 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.