Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-17-07, 07:01 PM   #1
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Moving page file

I've read quite a few reports that placing the page file on another hdd gives a sweet boost in performance, Any one here do this? Any truth to it?

Thanks for comments all!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-07, 08:42 PM   #2
rflair
W OOO OOO
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: T.O. Canada
Posts: 714
Default Re: Moving page file

I've done this for as long as I can remember, back to Win2K. I think it works, at best gives a slight performance boost at worst maybe get rid of a slight hicup here and there.
__________________
Vista x64
Intel Q6600 (3.6GHz 1.45v)
ATI 4890
Sharp Aquos 42" 1080p
ASUS P5K-E
8.0G OCZ RAM
Rig is ON 24/7
rflair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-07, 09:02 PM   #3
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Moving page file

Thanks for the reply. I think I'll give it a go. Do I just make the primary static then create a new one on the other hard drive? Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-07, 09:36 PM   #4
rflair
W OOO OOO
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: T.O. Canada
Posts: 714
Default Re: Moving page file

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
Thanks for the reply. I think I'll give it a go. Do I just make the primary static then create a new one on the other hard drive? Thanks.

First delete the old one, remove the settings windows setup for it, choose 'no paging file'. Then create the new one on a different drive, choose 'custom size', I set mine to 2048 inital and max size.

Windows will want to reboot after the changes are made.

I've always made my page file half of my system memory, having 4 gigs I set it for 2 gigs, when I had 2 gigs I set it for 1 gig, but thats me. Others set equal pagefile size to their system RAM. One exception is if you have only 1 gig of RAM then I would set pagefile to double system RAM. And others with lots of RAM 4 gigs plus sometimes do away with the pagefile entirely, I don't recommend this as Windows was designed to acces a pagefile, but Windows will run without a pagefile, just not something I would do.
__________________
Vista x64
Intel Q6600 (3.6GHz 1.45v)
ATI 4890
Sharp Aquos 42" 1080p
ASUS P5K-E
8.0G OCZ RAM
Rig is ON 24/7
rflair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-07, 09:40 PM   #5
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Moving page file

Thanks man, appreciate the help.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-07, 07:46 AM   #6
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Moving page file

It's not really a performance boost but more of a way to remove the pagefile from fragmenting your system. This really is moot if you set it be non dynamic by giving it a default value.

I just have my pagefile set to 1.5x my physical memory.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-07, 10:25 AM   #7
SwedX
*BANNED*
 
SwedX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 554
Default Re: Moving page file

If I remember corectly one should allways have the pagefile on the C: drive if thats where your OS is and have another drive just for games.

But I just have one drive but will go for a Raptor soon. will get at nice boost in loading stuff in games and the pagefile on the C: drive should do its thing without interuption from the gaming drive that will be greeeat
SwedX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-07, 03:01 PM   #8
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Moving page file

I've got it on my F: drive atm with a couple of games, with Vista on my raptor. I can't really say there's any "boost" to speak of, but things seem a bit smoother overall, might just be my imagination too as this is a squeaky clean install.

Appreciate the info guys.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-18-07, 03:11 PM   #9
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Moving page file

It's better to put the pagefile on a separate disk, on a separate channel if EIDE/IDE, from any application that would actively/heavily use the pagefile. If most of your applications are on one physical disk then moving it to a separate disk is a wise move. Moving it from partition to partition on the same physical disk will not yield measurable performance improvements; they key is to move it to a separate spindle/channel/controller.

That being said, with an abundance of physical memory, why is the pagefile even used since it's the slowest form of emulated RAM. Strange that applications are specified coded to use such an antiquated and inefficient method of memory management.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-07, 03:20 PM   #10
lduguay
Un-Ripped
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canaduh!
Posts: 1,968
Default Re: Moving page file

BSD unix since the beginning, was copying the whole executable image to the swap partition, and was paging in code pages from there. It was locking the executable file so you get a "text busy" when trying to delete the file. Most R3.2 Unix implementation was paging from the executable directly. Not sure how Linux is doing this now.

EDIT: The Windows Server 2003 has a rather complex paging scheme, and i would not call it antiquated.
__________________

Evga X58|I7 965 3.8GHz|Ultra 120 Extreme|Evga GTX 480 SC|2 x Intel X25-M 80GB RAID 0|Intel 520 - 240 GB|WD Black Caviar 1TB|6GB Corsair XMS3 1600C8 |Corsair 1000W PSU|Antec Twelve-Hundred|DELL U3011|Logitech G500|Logitech G19
lduguay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-07, 03:36 PM   #11
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Moving page file

Linux avoids the locking issues by loading the file to mmap and executing it from there. Linux doesn't swap to disk unless physical RAM has been exhausted; 2.6 kernel allows us to adjust swapiness to avoid cache causing swap.

Not sure about BSD and copy of file to swap for execution, that doesn't sound right.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-07, 04:00 PM   #12
lduguay
Un-Ripped
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canaduh!
Posts: 1,968
Default Re: Moving page file

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilghost
Linux avoids the locking issues by loading the file to mmap and executing it from there. Linux doesn't swap to disk unless physical RAM has been exhausted; 2.6 kernel allows us to adjust swapiness to avoid cache causing swap.

Not sure about BSD and copy of file to swap for execution, that doesn't sound right.
It might not sound right, but that's how it was designed in the 70's and 80's.
Memory management and virtualization was non existant on microprocessors at that time. So they came up with those scheme that was valid at that time. But now with tons of RAM, you can memory map the executable alongside with all dynamic shared libs.
__________________

Evga X58|I7 965 3.8GHz|Ultra 120 Extreme|Evga GTX 480 SC|2 x Intel X25-M 80GB RAID 0|Intel 520 - 240 GB|WD Black Caviar 1TB|6GB Corsair XMS3 1600C8 |Corsair 1000W PSU|Antec Twelve-Hundred|DELL U3011|Logitech G500|Logitech G19
lduguay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Rise of Object-based File Systems for HPC News Archived News Items 0 05-09-12 01:10 PM
RPM Source problems LaoTzuTao NVIDIA Linux 10 01-19-03 05:15 AM
Can't install NVIDIA_kernel.XXXX.XXXX.src or regular rpm noeffort NVIDIA Linux 15 12-17-02 01:22 PM
Where is my log file? Frink NVIDIA Linux 20 09-19-02 09:59 PM
Why are the mods moving threads? Mike89 Feedback Forum 13 08-30-02 04:17 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.