Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-17-07, 11:50 PM   #1
pkirby11
Registered User
 
pkirby11's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 927
Send a message via AIM to pkirby11
Default Anyone seen or tried WHS?

Just curious if anyones given Microsofts new Windows Home Server a go? I got on the RC1 test and I have to say it's got a nice simple feel to it. I really like the ease of backing up and sharing files, not to mention the whole remote access through a website is cool. When I get a chance I'll post some more thoughts and screen shots if you'd like.

Also please don't tell me I could do this on Linux already. I know that and I'm not trying to start a war, I just think MS has a hit here. Familys will love how easy it is to setup and how it makes taking files with you a snap. So far it's working quite stable too.
pkirby11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-07, 07:43 AM   #2
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: Anyone seen or tried WHS?

Maybe I'll setup an old box and test it out. What are the minimum requirements?
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-07, 10:15 AM   #3
pkirby11
Registered User
 
pkirby11's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 927
Send a message via AIM to pkirby11
Default Re: Anyone seen or tried WHS?

You need at least a 1GHZ proc, 512MB or RAM and I think at least a 70GB harddrive if I remember correctly. It also doesn't back up older file formats, it will only back up NTFS file systems which seems to be causing fits because one of my old boxes was FAT32 and then converted to NTFS. It does still have it's bugs and issues but depnding on price it's not bad. You can attach or back up a total of 10 computers on one license which isn't bad for Microsoft.

Any way, I'll post some screens of the console later, that's one thing nice about it, once it's setup you don't need to run anything from the server it's all done remotley through the Home Server Console. I'm enjoying besides the little backup snafu, I might get the full retail version as long as I can get it in OEM.
pkirby11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.