Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-20-07, 05:02 PM   #37
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: In-game advertising in Quake Wars...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcrackr
I do believe ritual are where they are because they make mediocre games and can't do more than that. Thankfully you can get away with mediocrity in the casual market so it wasn't actually a bad move.
Ritual said that the revenue generated was barely enough to cover Episode 1 production, not enough for Episode 2. Thus it was scrapped.

Personally I liked the game, and I think it is a shame to see the episodes scrapped, they were even working on a new DX10 engine for some future episodes.

Maybe advertising could have saved them? Tough to say, but it certainly wouldn't have hurt.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 05:35 PM   #38
Dragunov
Mister Anderson ... !!!
 
Dragunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: In-game advertising in Quake Wars...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
Many popular online games also have new patches, new maps, etc. released. Continued development of games is not free. BF2142 has had many patches since its released.

Also, we pay to go to the movies and see plenty of advertisements, before and during the movie. This is really no difference, and I see absolutely no issue with it as long as it fits into the context of the game.

This is another source of revenue for game developers, and another incentive for developers to code PC Games, could be a good thing.
And I stopped playing BF along time ago, every patch brought new bugs, new memory leaks and didn't fix the bugs they had to fix

They promoted the X-Fi for BF2142, but I heard a clicking sound (like scrolling between classes in setup menu) when moving the mouse around ingame
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- WD Caviar 750GB
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL

3D mark 05: 13321

3D Mark 06: 8065
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 07:29 PM   #39
flukester
*BANNED*
 
flukester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 505
Default Re: In-game advertising in Quake Wars...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
Ok. Replace Ritual with Looking Glass Studios.
OK
flukester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 08:15 PM   #40
ClosetFanBoy
Thorazine shuffle
 
ClosetFanBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Elk Grove Ca.
Posts: 829
Default Re: In-game advertising in Quake Wars...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elvin Presler
I don't mind static in game ads, like the Burger King sign in front of a burger joint looking building in the game or billboards with ads in racing games. It looks like part of the game then.

What I don't like, and will NEVER by a game that has, is the dynamic kind where it connects to the internet and some ad server to stick the ads in as you play. That is just spyware in my book and no matter how minimal, it is going to waste my bandwidth and decrease performance at some level.

I could easily imagine trying to play the game sometime and having it crash to desktop with an error about "Master Server failed to respond" when all it was is the ad server somewhere was down! I just don't like having extra junk tied to anything I have to pay for. The buggy copy protection is bad enough without dynamic, spyware, advertising servers now too.

If they are so desperate for money to provide "extra content" or whatever ridiculous excuse they are using to line their pockets, I think they should just go the hell out of business. Any company that rams ads into a retail product isn't getting mine, that's for sure.
Agree. I dont mind ads as long as my bandwidth (I don't care if it's only robbing me of 1ms, I'm a fierce competitor) is not being used. Built in, great! Otherwise, I don't like the idea.

In any event, they have me cornered, been waiting for this game forever and I will get it regardless...
__________________
In order to find his equal a man is forced to converse with God.

iPhone junkie...
ClosetFanBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 11:36 PM   #41
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: In-game advertising in Quake Wars...

How much additional bandwidth will the adds take? To most of you..it may seem small..for us Aus players who are stuck in the stone age / cave man internet...every bit counts as once you reach your limit (10gb) your net is shaped to dial up speeds...when i am on those speeds..i can barely play bf2 on local servers...so..will the adds make it just plain impossible?...as long as they are not huge adds i dont mind...but i still don't get why they need to do it.
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 11:40 PM   #42
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: In-game advertising in Quake Wars...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86
im sure it wont take away from the environment/gameplay.

it will probably only be in MP.
This is QW...its 100% online MP...lol
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 11:57 PM   #43
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: In-game advertising in Quake Wars...

You can play offline with bots actually... Still, I agree it's a multiplayer game for sure.

I don't mind ads that look realistic. In the Clancy games they generally do it right with everything where a normal billboard would be. There was one level in R6: Vegas where the Axe ads were too in your face, but other than that they did a good job...

Then there's something like Trackmania where they're all over the place and very intrusive. Bad show, I say.
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-07, 02:54 AM   #44
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default Re: In-game advertising in Quake Wars...

I don't mind in game ads. But I'm not buying a game where they are tracking what I am looking at over the net... Just gives me the creeps.
__________________
Intel i5-2500K (4Ghz)|2 x Nvidia 560GTX TI (880/2100mhz)|Crucial M4 SSD
12GB GSkill PC3-12800 (1600Mhz 9-9-9-24)|Thermaltake Tough Power 700w|Razer Megalodon 7.1 Headset
BENQ XL2410T 24" 3D Monitor
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-21-07, 04:24 AM   #45
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: In-game advertising in Quake Wars...

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero
You can play offline with bots actually... Still, I agree it's a multiplayer game for sure.

.
Yea..but who is gonna buy this game to play offline with bots. Game has no story. Like BF2..its a game to play online against other players.
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-07, 05:48 AM   #46
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: In-game advertising in Quake Wars...

I don't mind ads if they fit into the game's context. Those big Axe ads on GRAW were ok for me, real cities have ads.
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-07, 08:25 AM   #47
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: In-game advertising in Quake Wars...

That's right, let's just all sit back and let every game be ad-ridden in the future, that's right.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ads.JPG
Views:	76
Size:	39.5 KB
ID:	26351  
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-07, 01:58 PM   #48
Elvin Presler
Registered User
 
Elvin Presler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 633
Default Re: In-game advertising in Quake Wars...

"The company providing the ad system does not and will not store any personal information or data that otherwise can be used to identify you. All they track is if and how long you look at the advertisements."

So much for this game. I won't be buying it now. This is bullshoot. How could they know what we look at and how long? Maybe I am laying around with a sniper rifle and the ad just happens to be in my line of sight? I'm not paying for any game that has an ad server attached to it tracking anything I do in a freaking game. That right there tells you there is extra performance killing code in the game for ads alone. It has to write logs or something to send to the ad server, plus the bandwidth, and worse stuttering and delays you can bet your arse it will cause while waiting for the ad server to respond with your freshly customized new Viagra!!!1 ads.

Man, one very promising new game ruined. They may as well slap Starforce, Bonzai Buddy, a keylogger, and Gator spyware right in there with it.
Elvin Presler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(Kotaku) Do We Really Need Video Game Consoles Anymore? [Speak Up On Kotaku] News Archived News Items 1 06-16-12 11:35 AM
(Wired) From Final Fantasy to Star Wars, E3 Brings Next-Gen Game Graphics News Archived News Items 0 06-12-12 06:40 AM
Saturday Crapshoot: Quest For Glory 4 1/2 News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 11:10 AM
Star Wars 1313 running on Unreal Engine 3 on PC at E3, will be linear and light on Je News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 05:20 AM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.