Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-21-07, 06:26 PM   #25
a12ctic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 2,371
Default Re: New C2Ds, what'll become of the old ones?

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
?? It did? I remember it taking some benchies, but would hardly say it mopped the floor with the 7xxxs.

And which chipsets do you mean? AMD uses a few....
All of them are pretty stable nowadays... I honestly haven't had trouble with any of them sense the pre-athlon days...
__________________
AMD X2 5050 AMD Radeon HD 4830 AMD 780G 4GB OCZ DDR2 Antec 300 Fedora 11
a12ctic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-07, 06:36 PM   #26
esir
Crysis
 
esir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Posts: 255
Default Re: New C2Ds, what'll become of the old ones?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Public
Yes, all new C2D/C2Q will use socket 775.
Good news,thanks
esir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-07, 07:01 PM   #27
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: New C2Ds, what'll become of the old ones?

Quote:
Originally Posted by a12ctic
All of them are pretty stable nowadays... I honestly haven't had trouble with any of them sense the pre-athlon days...
That's true, tbh totally honest I brain-farted while typing that. Eh, it happens
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-07, 02:02 AM   #28
Mr_LoL
Bush's Doppleganger
 
Mr_LoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangor North Wales UK
Posts: 5,204
Default Re: New C2Ds, what'll become of the old ones?

I don't trust these new cpus especially the E6650 one bit. You are going to need high fsb's to clock them to lets say 3.6ghz. I think i'll get the Allendales instead.
Mr_LoL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-07, 06:51 AM   #29
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: New C2Ds, what'll become of the old ones?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allaahu_Akbar
I don't trust these new cpus especially the E6650 one bit. You are going to need high fsb's to clock them to lets say 3.6ghz. I think i'll get the Allendales instead.
Yep. Hopefully these new cpus will cause the current ones to drop in price as well.

I'd much rather have an e6600 than any of the other dual cores on that list. If you got an E6550 you'd end up spending twice as much on memory just to get a good overclock out of it, and even then, you'd need a killer motherboard.

To hit 3.5Ghz you'd have to have your FSB at 500Mhz. 3.6 would be a real stretch.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-07, 09:29 AM   #30
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: New C2Ds, what'll become of the old ones?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Yep. Hopefully these new cpus will cause the current ones to drop in price as well.

I'd much rather have an e6600 than any of the other dual cores on that list. If you got an E6550 you'd end up spending twice as much on memory just to get a good overclock out of it, and even then, you'd need a killer motherboard.

To hit 3.5Ghz you'd have to have your FSB at 500Mhz. 3.6 would be a real stretch.
Ouch. E6600's do 3.6Ghz @ 400mhz FSB. If what you're saying is true, that's going to hurt intel's new line of Core 2's with the enthusiast market.

Dang, it's hard to believe I'm saying this, but is it just me or does intel seem like they're regressing on processor architecture already? Originally, the Core 2's were amazing, but now that they've brutally beaten AMD, it seems like they just don't care much anymore.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-07, 10:55 AM   #31
Joe Public
o(^3^)o
 
Joe Public's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 371
Default Re: New C2Ds, what'll become of the old ones?

Well, I don't think they can take into consideration the relatively small group that are extreme overclockers when designing a new CPU. They have to have fast CPUs at stock speeds, and upping FSB and RAM speed is one way to do it. I mean, the fact that you're getting CPUs that do 3.6 GHz is a pure bonus. My E6600 overclocks like s**t, btw. I'm lucky if I can do 3 GHz.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-P55-UD4 - Core i7 860 2.8 GHz - 4GB PC10666 RAM - Samsung F1 1TB drive - 18x DVD RW - GeForce GTS 250 512MB (to be replaced) - Corsair HX750 - LianLi PC2110B case - Windows 7 64
Joe Public is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-07, 11:47 AM   #32
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: New C2Ds, what'll become of the old ones?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Yep. Hopefully these new cpus will cause the current ones to drop in price as well.

I'd much rather have an e6600 than any of the other dual cores on that list. If you got an E6550 you'd end up spending twice as much on memory just to get a good overclock out of it, and even then, you'd need a killer motherboard.

To hit 3.5Ghz you'd have to have your FSB at 500Mhz. 3.6 would be a real stretch.
Yes, this is true, the e6850 would be a 333MHz stock FSB rather than 266MHz.

Memory shouldn't be an issue unless you run a 1:1 divider.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-22-07, 11:47 AM   #33
ynnek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,364
Default Re: New C2Ds, what'll become of the old ones?

Huh? Intel's is bringing out faster chips at lower prices.

Also, we haven't even seen what the new 45 nm chips are capable off..

And sites have said the p35 chipset is capable of some really high FSB's... couple that with DDR3 ram..

So we'll see.
ynnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-07, 12:12 PM   #34
Mr_LoL
Bush's Doppleganger
 
Mr_LoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangor North Wales UK
Posts: 5,204
Default Re: New C2Ds, what'll become of the old ones?

Well roll on the E4500. How much does having less cache than the others affect performance?
Mr_LoL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-07, 12:55 PM   #35
ynnek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,364
Default Re: New C2Ds, what'll become of the old ones?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allaahu_Akbar
Well roll on the E4500. How much does having less cache than the others affect performance?
You might find this of interest

http://xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/dis...0_4.html#sect0
ynnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-07, 01:50 PM   #36
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: New C2Ds, what'll become of the old ones?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
Memory shouldn't be an issue unless you run a 1:1 divider.
From what I've heard, you almost always want to run 1:1 on an intel system. If you have the FSB running faster than the memory, then the whole system has to "wait" for the memory.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.