Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-20-07, 10:55 PM   #1
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Windows XP not seeing >2GB

Ok guys. So i'm dual booting XP 32bit with Vista Ultimate x64. I have 4GB of ram. Vista sees all 4 no problem. But XP only sees 2GB. I've tried adding the /PAE and /3GB switches to the boot.ini....but it doesn't do anything. I think it has something to do with the fact that I'm using the Vista bootloader...

So what am I missing?

Thanks!
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 11:11 PM   #2
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Windows XP not seeing >2GB

How much it sees under 32bit OS depends on how many devices you have in your system that needs drivers to function, and the amount of video RAM on your video card. For me, XP SP2 sees about 2.75GB.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-07, 03:33 AM   #3
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Windows XP not seeing >2GB

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amuro
How much it sees under 32bit OS depends on how many devices you have in your system that needs drivers to function, and the amount of video RAM on your video card. For me, XP SP2 sees about 2.75GB.
Yes I'm aware that I will never see the full 4GB in XP....but I should see more than exactly 2GB (2048MB). That's all it shows. So I should see somewhere near 3.3GB I think because I only have 1 8800GTX....

What did you have to do to make XP see 2.75GB? I see you also have a dual boot system.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-07, 06:28 AM   #4
ginfest
"Oderint dum metuant"
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 142
Default Re: Windows XP not seeing >2GB

I have seen this behaviour with my P5B-D With the "memory mapping" feature on , Vista x86 only recognized 2GB, with it off, I had 3.2GB usable (this depends on your particular devices)
When I installed Vista x64 I had all 4Gb usable with it on, I'm not sure how much x64 "sees" with the switch off
Not sure if this is just the Asus/AMI bios function or the way memory mapping works?
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 |Asus P6T Deluxe |3x2GB Gkill DDR3 |EVGA GTX 580 |LG L246W LCD|2 Seagate SATA HDs|Plextor 716A DVD-R|Windows 7 Ultimate x64|

Heat
ginfest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-07, 08:05 AM   #5
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Windows XP not seeing >2GB

Quote:
Originally Posted by einstein_314
Yes I'm aware that I will never see the full 4GB in XP....but I should see more than exactly 2GB (2048MB). That's all it shows. So I should see somewhere near 3.3GB I think because I only have 1 8800GTX....

What did you have to do to make XP see 2.75GB? I see you also have a dual boot system.
I didn't do anything particular. My Vista x86 sees 2.83GB if I remember correctly.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-07, 10:44 AM   #6
ginfest
"Oderint dum metuant"
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 142
Default Re: Windows XP not seeing >2GB

Guess I wasn't too clear ?
When the Asus P5B Deluxe BIOS memory mapping feature is enabled XP (x32) will not see more than 2GB. Why I don't know. When dual booting with a x64 OS like Vista x64 you need the feature enabled to see all 4GB. So you either have to keep enabling/disabling the memory mapping or be happy with 2GB in XP
Disable the memory mapping in the BIOS and XP will see whatever is left after the devices, in my case it was 3.25 GB
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 |Asus P6T Deluxe |3x2GB Gkill DDR3 |EVGA GTX 580 |LG L246W LCD|2 Seagate SATA HDs|Plextor 716A DVD-R|Windows 7 Ultimate x64|

Heat
ginfest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-07, 02:37 PM   #7
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Windows XP not seeing >2GB

Quote:
Originally Posted by ginfest
Guess I wasn't too clear ?
When the Asus P5B Deluxe BIOS memory mapping feature is enabled XP (x32) will not see more than 2GB. Why I don't know. When dual booting with a x64 OS like Vista x64 you need the feature enabled to see all 4GB. So you either have to keep enabling/disabling the memory mapping or be happy with 2GB in XP
Disable the memory mapping in the BIOS and XP will see whatever is left after the devices, in my case it was 3.25 GB
Ahh! That explains it. I do have memory mapping on so that I see 4 GB in Vista x64. I can't try this to see if it works now because I'm away for the weekend but when I get back on Sunday I'll see if that works. Thanks!!

I guess I'll just have to live with 2GB in XP.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-07, 08:58 PM   #8
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,959
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Windows XP not seeing >2GB

This has bugged me for the longest time too. Why is memory remapping effecting 2 or 4 gigs of ram? And why do devices need it if 4 is installed?

What if im only installing 2 gigs of ram and have memory ramapping enabled than, i only have half that 2 gigs? This needs a sticky or more looked into.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is online now   Reply With Quote

Old 06-30-07, 10:37 PM   #9
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Windows XP not seeing >2GB

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bigman
This has bugged me for the longest time too. Why is memory remapping effecting 2 or 4 gigs of ram? And why do devices need it if 4 is installed?

What if im only installing 2 gigs of ram and have memory ramapping enabled than, i only have half that 2 gigs? This needs a sticky or more looked into.
If you only have 2GB of ram installed and have memory remapping enabled, WinXP will see 2GB as will Vista. It only starts screwing things up when you have more than 2GB installed. As long as you don't have a 32bit OS and a 64bit OS running in dual boot this won't be a problem at all. It's when you throw in a 64bit OS that you need different bios settings to see >2GB in both OS's.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 06:20 AM
Sync it up: Hands on with the preview of Windows 8's cloud sync service News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 08:30 PM
$15 Windows 8 upgrades available from Microsoft through January 2013 News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 11:50 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.