Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-31-03, 05:40 PM   #51
johnod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Conshohocken, PA USA
Posts: 4
Default

YAY!!!! My UT2003 FPS went from 2-6 to 50!!!!
hehe
johnod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-03, 05:42 PM   #52
dagger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 6
Default

Andy:

Do u know what should i do ?
dagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-03, 05:44 PM   #53
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

dagger: are your kernel sources complete? Is /lib/modules/2.4.19/build pointing to them?

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-03, 05:47 PM   #54
mborgnia
Quadro4 500 GoGL
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bethesda, MD, US
Posts: 18
Question Any explanation for me Andy?

I got a Dell Precision M50 equipped with a Quadro 500 GoGL GPU. I did not upgrade to 1.4191 because of the 2D slowdown.
Now I am trying the new version with some trouble, here are the questions/problems:

1 - Is the issue of laptop suspend fixed? I though t I had read something in the pdf presentation for the new installer.( see http://www.nvidia.com/docs/lo/2867/S..._Advantage.pdf)

2 - When closing the lid (without suspend) my screen get distorted (stretched horizontally). This has been happening ever since I got the computer. But before this release (i.e. with 1.3123), I could reset the distortion by switching back and forth from console (Alt-Ctrl-F1 Alt-F7). Now, it renders the keyboard non-responsive. Any clues?

In summary, I could live with 1 and but 2 is killing the machine for good and I can't afford it. Any thoughts (or should I go back to 1.3123)?

Thanks in advance

Mario
mborgnia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-03, 05:48 PM   #55
dagger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 6
Default

yes their are.
dagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-03, 06:02 PM   #56
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Dagger:

It's a bug - you can do one of two things:

1) enable procfs support in your kernel
2) change nv.c to read
Code:
#ifdef CONFIG_PROC_FS
static void nvos_proc_remove_all(struct proc_dir_entry *entry) {
    while (entry) {
        struct proc_dir_entry *next = entry->next;
        if (entry->subdir)
            nvos_proc_remove_all(entry->subdir);
        remove_proc_entry(entry->name, entry->parent);
        entry = next;
    }
}
#endif
and rebuild. (you're adding an #ifdef and #endif)


This will be fixed in a future release.

Thanks!

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-31-03, 06:12 PM   #57
ErroR|51
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Linux From Scratch, with no package management system installed. It also has an extremely patched kernel (an assortment of various patches I've found over the past few months), so I highly doubt that anyone has built a binary module that will work with the kernel.
~

Ahh.. lfs... interesting...
Haven't tried these new drivers yet... But I believe it's a simple bash script that automates the compilation steps, so you should be fine with it.
ErroR|51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-03, 06:37 PM   #58
mcpherson
Scientific Visualization
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Alamos, NM
Posts: 2
Default

Problems on an Redhat machine.

The driver update installed fine, but my machine hangs when I startx. I ran with the same XF86Config (except "nvidia") as before. I do see one warning in the log file:

(WW) Open APM failed (/dev/apm_bios) (No such device)

Other than that, no errors. The last line in the log file is:

(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/nvidia_frv.o

Any ideas? When this tool eventually gets the kinks worked out it's going to be nice.
mcpherson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-03, 07:05 PM   #59
gmoney
HP ZD7000 Linux (5700 Go)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Santa Barbara
Posts: 14
Default APM support?

It sounds like there is supposed to be apm support in the driver but it's not working on my Mandrake 9.1 box. The XFree86 log shows that it succesfully opened /dev/apm_bios and everything looks okay, but when I suspend my Inspiron 8200 with a Geforge4 440go and re-awaken it, the screen comes up with garbage and the system is unusable. I've tried enabling and disabling agp and other options but none seem to work. Does power management only work with acpi? I have full procfs support and can supply and information needed. I also notice that my custom cursor flickers quite a bit which never happened with 3123. On the bright side, the performance in this release is at least 20% better than 3123.
Thanks for the great work,
Dan
gmoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-03, 07:26 PM   #60
vjih
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1
Default

I've been testing this new driver for couple of hours now and I have the following problems:

1) gnome-terminal output is slower compared to default "nv" driver

"time ls -l /dev" takes about 1.5-2 times longer with "nvidia" driver

2) tv-out picture isn't positioned on the center of the screen (an inch thick black border on the top of the screen)

3) tv-out outputs garbage once turned off (used to be black screen with older versions)

---
Redhat 8.0/Gnome
Athlon XP1800+
MSI K7T266 Pro2
Gainward GeForce3 Ti200 128MB (Philips chip for tv-out)
vjih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-03, 07:29 PM   #61
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

vjih - please send a detailed report to linux-bugs@nvidia.com.

Thanks!

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-03, 07:31 PM   #62
pkzln89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Thumbs down Still no APM support? Screw you NVIDIA!

From the README file:

---------------------------------------

KNOWN LAPTOP ISSUES

o Power Management is not currently supported.

-------------------------------------

Screw you NVIDIA, I'm never ever going to buy anything made NVIDIA ever again.

I've bought a Dell Latitude C810 laptop ~1.5
years ago, after reading that NVIDIA provides
Linux drivers and I'm still waiting for a driver,
that will actually allow me to use the 'suspend-to-memory' feature. It's a freaking
laptop - I shouldn't have to reboot every time I close it.

A very disappointed NVIDIA GeForece2Go
owner.

PS. Please don't suggest me the hack that
enables APM - I've seriously screwed my
laptop when I tried to use it - had to flash
BIOS. I also know that I can unload NVIDIA
driver from kernel and then suspend, but that kind of defeats the whole point of suspending - once I killed all my opened windows/editors I might as well shut it down.
pkzln89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-03, 08:16 PM   #63
pbharris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chicago,, IL
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to pbharris Send a message via Yahoo to pbharris
Default Re: Still no APM support? Screw you NVIDIA!

Quote:
Originally posted by pkzln89
From the README file:

---------------------------------------

KNOWN LAPTOP ISSUES

o Power Management is not currently supported.

-------------------------------------

Screw you NVIDIA, I'm never ever going to buy anything made NVIDIA ever again.

I've bought a Dell Latitude C810 laptop ~1.5
years ago, after reading that NVIDIA provides
Linux drivers and I'm still waiting for a driver,
that will actually allow me to use the 'suspend-to-memory' feature. It's a freaking
laptop - I shouldn't have to reboot every time I close it.

my IBM with an ATI mobility does the same thing - i don't think think it is an nvidia issue. btw - i like both nvidia and ATI.
pbharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-03, 10:56 PM   #64
pkzln89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Default

I dunno, I don't have an IBM, but I've seen several reports on www.linux-laptop.net about Thinkpads T23, T30 etc with various versions of ATI Radeons -
and everyone says that suspend works fine.

Generally it all comes down to the comapny's
policy - I think ATI's policy is that they don't
really support Linux, but they don't stand in the
way of people who volunteer to write drivers
for ATI, and provide them with the necessary information. NVIDIA does not
provide any specs.
.
I would even consider paying for some
commercial Xserver like the one from XiGraphics - but they can not write a driver
for NVIDIA, because NVIDIA won't let them to.

So next time I'll be looking for a laptop it
will most definitely not have an NVIDIA card.
pkzln89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-03, 03:34 AM   #65
ceddy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to ceddy
Default works well

Just to share my experience with the new driver build.

It seems to work very well so far (10min running with my TNT-based PCI card on intel 440BX mainboard chipset under Debian Sarge.

No more 2D slowdown, startup launch time is good too (unlike ver 1.0-3xxx).

If the driver proves itself to be rock solid as far as stability is concerned, it would be the first driver release to fully and correctly support my hardware.
ceddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-03, 03:51 AM   #66
bactrimel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 20
Post 2D speed, again

I've wrestled with 4349 for a couple of hours and it seems that I can't get rid of a >50% 2D/redraw slowdown, compared with 3123. Toggling "[No]RenderAccel" and tweaking around the AGP settings doesn't seem to make any difference (apart from occasionally freezing the kernel ). BTW, I had exactly the same symptoms with 4191.

The problem becomes particularly noticable when dragging or resizing gtk/gtk2 windows. In some extreme cases, you can now actually *watch* the Mozilla browser window being redrawn (well, it was slow anyway)

Back to good-ol' 3123 for now...

[note: I'm using "standard" Red Hat-Issue XFree86 4.1.0 RPM's]

BTW, the new installer rocks! Nice work, guys!
__________________
CentOS 6 + KDE 4
GeForce GTS 450
bactrimel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-03, 04:15 AM   #67
nutball
International God of Sex
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: en.gb.uk
Posts: 655
Default

No go here. Installer thing seemed to run fine (nice idea guys), but starting X seemed to put the machine into a hard-lock. I think it was spinning on something. I put the IgnoreDisplayDevices in the XF86Config, though it doesn't seem to have helped.

I'll post back more later when if I can find some diagnostic info.
__________________
Got nuts?
nutball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-03, 05:56 AM   #68
nutball
International God of Sex
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: en.gb.uk
Posts: 655
Default

OK, some more information. This is on a dual-processor Athlon box (Asus A7M266-D mobo, 2 x 1700XP+ processors, 1GB RAM, GF3 Ti200, driving a flat-panel via DVI).

When I boot the UP kernel X starts quite happily, however the SMP kernel X hard-locks the machine after a few seconds and I have to reset.

I've tried the 'noapic' option in lilo.conf, didn't help.
__________________
Got nuts?
nutball is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-01-03, 07:25 AM   #69
awesley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Default drivers work fine

Great work guys.

linux-2.4.20, RedHat 8.0
T'Bird 1.33GHz, 512Mb DDR333
ASUS A7V333
GF4 ti4600

Installed easy, works fine.

I've enabled fast writes & SBA with no problems. performance in neverwinter nights is v. good.

glxgears gives approx 5000 fps :-)

As a long time programmer / linux support person I am most impressed with your linux support.

regards, Anthony
awesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-03, 08:36 AM   #70
XSIWILL
Registered User
 
XSIWILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to XSIWILL Send a message via AIM to XSIWILL
Default

First off kudos to the folks at Nvidia for automating the installation of the drivers!

I was able to install them but when starting X I only see the X mouse cusor and nothing else. when I run lsmod it tells me that the driver is loaded.

RH 8.0
2.4.18-24smp
GeForce3 Ti200 128mb
__________________
XSI Base
XSI Montreal
Softimage
XSIWILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-03, 08:45 AM   #71
SpaceMunkey
Registered User
 
SpaceMunkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 17
Default Drivers working fine so far... :-)

It looks like the ''blank console'' issue I was having is now gone with the new drivers. Even tv-out is still working, and that makes me happy, since the system is mostly a media station. I'll see how long this perfection lasts...
SpaceMunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-03, 10:00 AM   #72
jingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1
Default delay

The delay when starting up Xfree has grown from 5 sec. on 3123 to 26 seconds with those new drivers.....
tried using option "NoDDC" but didn't help.

Is this delay because of hardware probing or monitor probing, and how can I prevent it????

I on a Gentoo system! Geforce2 MX400!

Everything else seems fine!
jingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-03, 10:11 AM   #73
cbreaker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
Default

Anyone have any idea exactly WHICH TV-Encoders support overscanning with these drivers?

The driver does not support my GeForce Ti4600's Philips 7108.
cbreaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-03, 12:05 PM   #74
3777
Registered User
 
3777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Andy Mecham
bwkaz: Your system will work with the installer. If it doesn't for some very strange reason (and i'd like to hear about it...), you can do an --extract-only and get the source wrapper with Makefile that way.

--andy
Hi Andy,

I have Red Hat 8.0 2.4-18-27.8.0 .....and I can assure you your installer DID NOT WORK for me AT ALL. Thankfully I was able to download the Tar.gz files............If Nvidia takes this away they are making a HUGE MISTAKE!!!!

P.S. The only method that's ever worked for me in Red Hat are the Tar GZ's!!! Please reconsider.....

P.P.S. The installer program wouldn't even run, and yes I was logged as root and the execute box was checked!!!

Last edited by 3777; 04-01-03 at 12:10 PM.
3777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-03, 12:10 PM   #75
cbreaker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
Default

You can extract the files from the nVidia with a command line switch. Then, it's basically like the old tarball, but both kernel and glx component are together.

Either way the nVidia installer worked fine for me. (Gentoo Linux)
cbreaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Day of Defeat: Source and Half-Life 2: Deathmatch Updates Released News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 09:50 PM
CUVILib v1.2 released News Archived News Items 0 05-17-12 07:40 AM
295.49 (long-lived branch release) for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 05-03-12 10:42 AM
SOF2 1.02 Patch Released! PsychoSy Gaming Central 5 10-17-02 05:08 AM
nvidia drivers in a motherboard with AGP 1.0 (motherboard MVP3+) knocker NVIDIA Linux 1 08-19-02 01:57 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.