Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-02-03, 10:05 PM   #126
tarzan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Smile request for powermanagement support

Hi, first of all I would like to say that the installation of the driver is very nice. It worked without any problems and has a easy-to-understand user interface. But I would really appreciate powermanagement support as soon as possible. Gradually the new kernel releases (2.4-prepatch or 2.5) have more and more stable ACPI-support and it is a pity that I can not use any kind of suspend. I am able to unload almost every module which does not support powermanagement but unloading the nvidia module means stopping the Xserver which makes suspending pretty useless.

Thankx for regarding this request
tarzan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-03, 01:13 AM   #127
Haesslich
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Alton, IL
Posts: 2
Default 4349 doesn't seem to work with dualhead

I tried installing 4349, and the secondary head on my GF4 TI4400 immediately stopped giving any output.

XFree seems to think that there's a screen there, as I got no error messages and I can move the mouse through the secondary display and back.

I switched back to 4191...
Haesslich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-03, 01:59 AM   #128
bammbamm808
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 37
Send a message via ICQ to bammbamm808 Send a message via AIM to bammbamm808
Default Please please please continue source tarballs

As an old slacker and current Gentoo user, I find the source tarballs the easiest most reliable way to get your drivers installed and working. Honestly, I barely even know what to do with .rpm's.
__________________
Too tired....no sig.
bammbamm808 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-03-03, 04:42 AM   #129
janoc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1
Default Re: 4349 doesn't seem to work with dualhead

I have the same problem with my Quadro 4 900XGL. When I enable Twinview, my machine locks up hard, with some vertical lines on my primary (VGA) display. I have two flat panels, one connected over VGA, the other over DVI connector.

When I change the line Option "ConnectedMonitor" "crt, dfp"

to "crt, crt", then it starts, but of course my DVI connected panel does not work :-((

My configuration, for the record :
DELL Precision 530 Workstation, dual Xeon 2.4 GHz, 1GB of RAM, kernel version is 2.4.21-0.16mm-mdkcustom (enabled low-latency and preempt patches, works fine with 3132 driver), running Mandrake 9.1.

The previous versions of the driver (3132 and 4191) were working, with 4191 having some screen corruption from time to time.

I am running with the AGP disabled, does not help to cure the lockups.

Jan


Quote:
Originally posted by Haesslich
I tried installing 4349, and the secondary head on my GF4 TI4400 immediately stopped giving any output.

XFree seems to think that there's a screen there, as I got no error messages and I can move the mouse through the secondary display and back.

I switched back to 4191...
janoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-03, 10:27 AM   #130
BrianzaMan
Dragon Flame
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Andy Mecham
johnod:

There's a new setting that might help you. From the README:

Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "string"
This option tells the NVIDIA kernel module to completely
ignore the indicated classes of display devices when
checking what display devices are connected. You may
specify a comma-separated list containing any of "CRT",
"DFP", and "TV".

For example:

Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "DFP, TV"

will cause the NVIDIA driver to not attempt to detect
if any flatpanels or TVs are connected.

This option is not normally necessary; however, some video
BIOSes contain incorrect information about what display
devices may be connected, or what i2c port should be
used for detection. These errors can cause long delays
in starting X. If you are experiencing such delays, you
may be able to avoid this by telling the NVIDIA driver to
ignore display devices which you know are not connected.

NOTE: anything attached to a 15 pin VGA connector is
regarded by the driver as a CRT. "DFP" should only be
used to refer to flatpanels connected via a DVI port.

Can you try this?

--andy
Will be a great work for Nvidia add this feature on FREEBSD drivers too please?

Bye
BrianzaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-03, 11:52 AM   #131
daantje
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3
Lightbulb

Installed the drivers on a fresh Red Hat Linux 9 system with a GeForce 4 ti4200.

It worked like a charm, I even installed the drivers succesfully on an SuSE 8.1 system.

Both using the .run file. i think you guys did a good job.
__________________
?????
daantje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-03, 01:50 PM   #132
Scythe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1
Default

Just installed 1.0-4349 from nvidia's suse rpm's and it works great!

Some sys specs:

AMD AthlonXP 1100
GF3-Ti200
Suse 8.1 ( using XFree 4.3.0 )

Thanks to NVidia for supporting the linux community so well.

Regards,

Scythe.
Scythe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-03, 03:17 PM   #133
LordMorgul
Electrical Engineer
 
LordMorgul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 872
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cservin
Andy: I have the latest 1.32 Release of q3a and have tried with and without DGA mouse.

If anyone else has Quake3 and is using this Driver without mouse problems please let me know.
I am running this driver under RedHat 8.0 with a 2.4.20 kernel and geforce 4 ti4400.

ID pointrelease 1.32b, note the b... a subsequent bug fix release of 1.32.

Wonderful success with approx 5% fps gain from 41.91 and significantly more stable (I experienced regular hardlock graphics failures when loading quake3, not an issue with other games interestingly, but 43.49 is not doing this yet).
You may look into other mouse driver options that work for your mouse.
LordMorgul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-03, 03:25 PM   #134
geoffclem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Darwen
Posts: 8
Default

I wish NVidia would spend their time on getting the driver to be stable rather than wasting their time on providing "fancy" installers when the install process was a piece of cake anyway.

The last version I can use with any stability on my system is 1.0-3123.
geoffclem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-03, 03:33 PM   #135
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

GeoffClem: please start a new thread describing your problems.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-03, 03:36 PM   #136
jgshanks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2
Thumbs up Works with RedHat 9

New Driver works find on RedHat 9.0. I'm going to try the dual-head output tonight. I would prefer RPMs, but the installer seems to work OK.

Info:
Asus A7M266-D/AMD 760MPX Chipset/Athon MP 2000+
GeForce 4 MX 64Mb
RedHat Linux 9.0
jgshanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-03, 03:39 PM   #137
geoffclem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Darwen
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cservin
Andy: I have the latest 1.32 Release of q3a and have tried with and without DGA mouse.

If anyone else has Quake3 and is using this Driver without mouse problems please let me know.
You need the 1.32b release.

File: linuxq3apoint-1.32b.x86.run

Location: ftp.idsoftware.com/idstuff/quake3/linux/

--
Geoff
geoffclem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-03, 04:17 PM   #138
hcarty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 10
Default Toshiba laptop support

I apologize for posting this twice, I had two tabs open and entered the reply into the wrong one.

Is support for twinview and hotkey switching on Toshiba laptops (28xx specifically) in the works? Or is it something that's just not going to happen?

Thanks for your help,
Hez
hcarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-03, 04:57 PM   #139
Icephreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3
Default

Driver release 4349. Slackware 9.0. Error during compilation. See boldface text. I have an NVIDIA GeForce440 Go in a Dell Inspiron 8200 notebook.

XFree86 Version 4.3.0
Release Date: 27 February 2003
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 6.6
Build Operating System: Linux 2.4.20 i686 [ELF]
Build Date: 01 March 2003
Before reporting problems, check http://www.XFree86.Org/
to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/XFree86.0.log", Time: Thu Apr 3 17:37:20 2003
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/XF86Config"
(EE) LoadModule: Module nvidia does not have a nvidiaModuleData data object.

*** If unresolved symbols were reported above, they might not
*** be the reason for the server aborting.

Fatal server error:
Caught signal 11. Server aborting


When reporting a problem related to a server crash, please send
the full server output, not just the last messages.
This can be found in the log file "/var/log/XFree86.0.log".
Please report problems to xfree86@xfree86.org.

XIO: fatal IO error 104 (Connection reset by peer) on X server ":0.0"
after 0 requests (0 known processed) with 0 events remaining.
Icephreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-03, 05:14 PM   #140
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Icephreak: This looks like an error in your XF86Config file - you shouldn't have
Code:
Load  "nvidia"
anywhere in the file. Please check the README for directions on how to edit your XF86Config file. If you're still having problems, please start a new thread and attach your XF86Config and /var/log/XFree86.0.log files.

Thanks!

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-03-03, 05:24 PM   #141
Icephreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Andy Mecham
[b]Icephreak: This looks like an error in your XF86Config file - you shouldn't have
Code:
Load  "nvidia"
anywhere in the file.
Man, where's my brain. I could swear I followed the README to the last word. Giving it another go. :-)

Thanks!

- IP
Icephreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-03, 05:47 PM   #142
Icephreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Icephreak

I could swear I followed the README to the last word.
And so I had. I did not have that line in my XF86Config. I'm including the relevant parts of my X config:

Section "Module"
Load "type1"
Load "speedo"
Load "extmod"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "Device"
BoardName "GeForce4 440 Go 64M"
BusID "1:0:0"
Driver "nvidia"
VideoRam 65536
Identifier "Device[0]"
Option "FlatPanel"
Option "NvAGP" "0"
# Option "NoLogo" "1"
Screen 0
VendorName "NVidia"
EndSection

And the relevant part of my XF86Config log:

(II) LoadModule: "glx"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.so
(II) Module glx: vendor="NVIDIA Corporation"
compiled for 4.0.2, module version = 1.0.4349
Module class: XFree86 Server Extension
ABI class: XFree86 Server Extension, version 0.1
(II) Loading extension GLX
(II) LoadModule: "nvidia"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/nvidia_drv.o
(EE) LoadModule: Module nvidia does not have a nvidiaModuleData data object.
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(II) Unloading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/nvidia_drv.o

*** If unresolved symbols were reported above, they might not
*** be the reason for the server aborting.

Fatal server error:
Caught signal 11. Server aborting





- IP
Icephreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-03, 08:25 AM   #143
Dibbler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 9
Unhappy KT400

Well the new installer worked a treat, and the 400fps increase in glxgears was very welcome indeed, but there is STILL no NvAGP support for the KT400 chipset, and 2.6 is still a long way off yet.

Is this chipset ever going to be supported by Nvidia, can we at least be informed as to wether this will be functional in a later revision of the drivers?
__________________
There is No Spoon!
Dibbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-03, 10:08 AM   #144
Wrawrat
Registered User
 
Wrawrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Quebec City, Canada
Posts: 13
Send a message via ICQ to Wrawrat
Default About KT400

Dibbler, the KT400 is supported by the 2.4.21-pre6 kernel, so it should be supported in the next revision (2.4.21).

You can also try the customised kernel sources from Gentoo Linux if you are using it.
Wrawrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-03, 10:37 AM   #145
Dibbler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 9
Default KT400

Wrawrat:

I'm running 2.4.21-pre4, which has agpgart support for the KT400, the aperture size is correctly detected, but the nvidia drivers lock on startx, giving me a screen full of random rubbish, this with the agpgart module loaded before startx is attempted, and the correct changes made to XF86Config-4. The 4191 drivers did this, as do the new 4349's.

I might take your advise and try the pre6 tho, but roll on 2.4.21 :-)
__________________
There is No Spoon!
Dibbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-03, 01:05 PM   #146
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Icephreak: that almost looks like something was corrupted during installation. Can you try reinstalling the driver?

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-03, 01:57 PM   #147
Dibbler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 9
Default KT400

Andy, I was kind of hoping for a reply to my above question?
__________________
There is No Spoon!
Dibbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-03, 02:06 PM   #148
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Dibbler: we're looking into it.

Thanks!

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-03, 04:06 AM   #149
zeb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 52
Default anisotropic filtering

I could setup FSAA using environment variables as explained in the README file (wow !).
However, I have some troubles with the anisotropic filtering.

Actually it seems to work, but the efficiency of the filtering is a lot lower than under Windows or with my other GC (a Radeon 8500). Under windows, there are "Application" and "Agressive" filtering levels, and it seems that anisotropic filtering under linux is like "Agressive".

Is there a way to have a stronger aniso filtering under Linux ? Are there equivalents to application, balanced and agressive ?

Thanks
zeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-03, 07:23 AM   #150
CrLf
Linux Power!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lisbon, Portugal, E.U.
Posts: 61
Default Re: KT400

Quote:
Originally posted by Dibbler
Wrawrat:

I'm running 2.4.21-pre4, which has agpgart support for the KT400, the aperture size is correctly detected, but the nvidia drivers lock on startx, giving me a screen full of random rubbish, this with the agpgart module loaded before startx is attempted, and the correct changes made to XF86Config-4. The 4191 drivers did this, as do the new 4349's.

I might take your advise and try the pre6 tho, but roll on 2.4.21 :-)
Do you mean support for the KT400 in AGP 2.0 or APG 3.0 mode (8x). I thought AGP 3.0 was only supported in 2.5.x.
CrLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Day of Defeat: Source and Half-Life 2: Deathmatch Updates Released News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 09:50 PM
CUVILib v1.2 released News Archived News Items 0 05-17-12 07:40 AM
295.49 (long-lived branch release) for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 05-03-12 10:42 AM
SOF2 1.02 Patch Released! PsychoSy Gaming Central 5 10-17-02 05:08 AM
nvidia drivers in a motherboard with AGP 1.0 (motherboard MVP3+) knocker NVIDIA Linux 1 08-19-02 01:57 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.