Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-05-03, 10:19 AM   #151
daantje
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3
Exclamation

I have the KT400 chipset, and is currently running in AGP 4x mode (version 2.0). this works fine on my machine.
I am running RedHat 9 kernel 2.4.20-8.
__________________
?????
daantje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-03, 01:22 PM   #152
Dibbler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 9
Default KT400

AGP 3.0, The kernel sets it up correctly, allegedly.

Linux agpgart interface v0.99 (c) Jeff Hartmann
agpgart: Maximum main memory to use for agp memory: 439M
agpgart: Detected Via Apollo Pro KT400 chipset
CONFIG_AGP3
agpgart: Forcing KT400.
agpgart: AGP aperture is 64M @ 0xf8000000

There is unfortunately no way to force this mobo into AGP 2.0 mode, if it detects a 3.0 capable card sitting in the AGP slot.

The nvidia drivers lock up the machine using either agpgart, or nvidia nvagp, this with correct changes made to XF86Config-4.

The mobo is an ASUS A7V8X, with a Gforce 440MX 64 Gainward Golden sample GPU.
__________________
There is No Spoon!
Dibbler is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-05-03, 09:53 PM   #153
wordsahoy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1
Smile Re: request for powermanagement support

I'm not sure of your context here but if you are using RH 8 (maybe 9) and gnome then to get DPMS working on the monitor I had to set my $HOME/.xscreensaver file to contain:

dpmsEnabled: True
dpmsStandby: 0:09:00
dpmsSuspend: 0:10:00
dpmsOff: 0:15:00

Now a xset q shows:

DPMS (Energy Star):
Standby: 540 Suspend: 600 Off: 900
DPMS is Enabled
Monitor is On

Of cours in the /etc/X11/XF86Config file we have:

Section "Monitor"
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Hope this is of use.

Regards,
Mostyn
wordsahoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-03, 12:23 PM   #154
dominate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 9
Default Re: Please please please continue source tarballs

i have the exact same problem.... has this been discussed in detail anywhere else yet?

I also have a CRT and a LCD, if that is a common thread. Rolling back seems to have fixed the problem for now....

Quote:
Originally posted by bammbamm808
As an old slacker and current Gentoo user, I find the source tarballs the easiest most reliable way to get your drivers installed and working. Honestly, I barely even know what to do with .rpm's.
dominate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-03, 04:52 PM   #155
subnova
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
Default

I read the read me file like 100 times….
This is what I did I d/l the new drivers from the site
Version: 1.0-4349
Operating System: Linux IA32
Release Date: March 31, 2003
I am running clean installation of mandrake 9.0.

Then I do this:
sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4349.run
it does this without any errors.
Now I try and edit my XF86CONFIG-4 file
Change the line to read this:

Driver “nvidia”
Load "glx"
And then deleting these lines
Load “dri”
Load “Glcore”
Now I restart my computer and my x windows doesn’t load it gives me these error:
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module!
Now I go to the read me file… it has this problem in the Q/A section and I can’t figure out how to fix this.
Any help would be helpful.
I also would like to add that I have been doing a lot of reading before posting this but I cant get this to work

i also did this:
modprobe nvidia
the i do startx

Freezes my computer.
Ctl-Alt-BS doesn’t work
And Ctl-Alt-Delete doesn’t work
So I have to hit the power button.

Here is my log file
http://www.geocities.com/dk8996/XFree86.0.log

I have asus mobo and geforce4 ti4200 agpX8

plz help
thank you
subnova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-03, 05:01 PM   #156
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Please follow the directions in http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...&threadid=9614 and start a new thread.

Thanks!

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-03, 11:48 PM   #157
Falcdragon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1
Default

I hope you keep the tar.gz files available as the installer will not allow me to install the driver with multiply kernels on the system.

It detects that it's already installed the driver for one of the other kernels and simply refuses to proceded. Which means That I least need the NVIDIA_kernel.tar.gz file to compile the module for my custom kernel.

Last edited by Falcdragon; 04-06-03 at 11:54 PM.
Falcdragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-03, 12:09 AM   #158
ortxe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1
Default Console not working

I have looked everywhere for an answer to this. Ever since I started using NVIDIA drivers, after I start X whenever I try to get to my consol via <CTRL><ALT><F1 - F6> I get an out of range for my monitor display. Many people have had the same problems yet NVIDIA has not seem to post a solution to this for ages now. My machine spec is

P2.4G
NVIDIA GForce 4 MMX 64MB Ram
kernel 2.4.20
Redhat 8
XFree 4.2

Attached is my XF86Config

I have been tearing my hair out. So much for closed source binaries!
ortxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-03, 12:38 AM   #159
tarzan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Default Re: Re: request for powermanagement support

[quote]Originally posted by wordsahoy
[b]I'm not sure of your context here ....

Thanks for this hint but what I really meant was the following: The kernel modul nvidia should have the functionalities needed to turn the graphic card off when suspending. I am aware that this is only useful for kernels which are not yet supported by NVIDIA. But on the other hand, only NVIDIA has the information needed to implement it.
tarzan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-03, 08:38 AM   #160
jackangel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Moscow, RU
Posts: 12
Default

All of you people are encouraged to ask nvidia to release all their linux/freebsd drivers as open source. I've created an online petition where you can sign it, later I'll send it to NVIDIA by snail-mail. Please, consider it seriously, it's very important issue. If we can get NVIDIA release their drivers open-source, kernel hackers will quickly fix many bugs and boost their performance, also possibly simplifying installation process or converting the driver architecture to standard DRI.

Here's the petition:
http://www.petitiononline.com/hwopennv/petition.html
jackangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-03, 06:27 PM   #161
t0nystump
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2
Angry Its.... all....... gone...................

Removed? What?


The object you requested was not available. Either it no longer exists on our database, or you do not have the proper permissions to view it.

Last edited by t0nystump; 04-09-03 at 06:31 PM.
t0nystump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-03, 07:40 PM   #162
Krovikan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Question SuSE

Hello,

I have a SuSE 8.1, why i need install the driver with the RPM?
Don´t work the installer with SuSE?
And other "question":
Wich RPM i must install first, Kernel or GLX?

I read over 200 posts about 1.0.4349 and only i see 4 or 5 posts about SuSE and nothing with my questions.

Thanks
Krovikan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-03, 07:43 PM   #163
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

SuSE sets things up in a specific way so you can use SaX; hence, there are SuSE RPMs. If you don't use SaX, you're welcome to use the installer.

The RPM dependencies require you to install the kernel RPM first.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-03, 07:47 PM   #164
Krovikan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Thnks Andy
Krovikan is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-10-03, 11:43 PM   #165
smileyxx
Registered User
 
smileyxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to smileyxx
Default Re: Works fine on my Mandrake 9.1 system

Damn, it fails on my mdk 9.1 box.
The kernel-sources package does not match the running kernel.

`uname -r` = 2.4.21pre4-1mdksmp


But the kernel source rpm is kernel-source-2.4.21-0.13mdk.

I get unresolved names in nvidia.o.

In addition, there kernel is compiled with gcc 3.2.1, but the installed gcc is 3.2.2.

So this release was a complete failure on my Mandrake 9.1 box. Can you post more details on how you got it to work?

Quote:
Originally posted by Kenneth
So far...

/Kenneth
smileyxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-03, 11:48 PM   #166
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

I assume you downloaded that kernel from a mirror somewhere, as that's not the kernel that mdk9.1 ships with. There's probably a matching kernel-source rpm available from the place you downloaded the update kernel. You'll get unresolved symbols if they don't match - see the README for more details on that.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-03, 03:09 AM   #167
Olaus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Will the 4349 driver overwrite/uninstall the driver that I currently have installed
(4191? I'm not quite sure, but I think so, it is the version previous to 4349 I guess)
with no problems, or should I try to uninstall the old driver first?
If the latter, how should I uninstall it?

(My english is maybe not very good, I'm from Sweden )
__________________
Slackware 9.0 - just for fun!
Olaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-03, 12:47 PM   #168
smileyxx
Registered User
 
smileyxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to smileyxx
Default Mandrake 9.1

Andy, you were right. I figured it out soon after my post. The upgrade from mdk 9.1-RC2 to 9.1 final did not change the default image in lilo.

Everything works great now.

Quote:
Originally posted by Andy Mecham
I assume you downloaded that kernel from a mirror somewhere, as that's not the kernel that mdk9.1 ships with. There's probably a matching kernel-source rpm available from the place you downloaded the update kernel. You'll get unresolved symbols if they don't match - see the README for more details on that.

--andy
smileyxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-03, 01:56 PM   #169
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Olaus: The installer will automatically uninstall older drivers for you.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-03, 04:06 PM   #170
auberge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Default ALI 1541

I'm one of the unfotunate who have a ALI 1541 hostbridge. The former driver didn't work, and since the new readme stated that on systems with a 1541 chip the agp feature was disabled (stability problems), i had hope that this new driver/installer would work. To bad, the new driver/installer does not work either. When I try to run Tuxrucer on my mandrake 9.1 system, the game exits, leaving me with a resolution of aboy 640x480. Restarting the x-server is the only thing that works.

I looked in the /proc/driver directory and i noticed that the agp function is still enabled. Is their a way to force the agp function off? Below the response of the system:

cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status
Status: Enabled
Driver: AGPGART
AGP Rate: 2x
Fast Writes: Disabled
SBA: Disabled

cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/host-bridge
Host Bridge: Acer Laboratories Inc. [ALi] M1541
Fast Writes: Not Supported
SBA: Supported
AGP Rates: 2x 1x
Registers: 0x1b000203:0x1b000102

cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/card
Fast Writes: Not Supported
SBA: Not Supported
AGP Rates: 4x 2x 1x
Registers: 0x1f000007:0x1b000102
auberge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-03, 04:41 PM   #171
softchicken80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1
Lightbulb

First, thanks to nvidia for their support!

I installed the newest drivers on a stock RH 9 system, worked the first time somehow, all subsequent driver reinstalls hosed my X server (needed a hard reboot).
Here's what I found out: there are two glx X modules that come with the new driver. For some reason, the nvidia installation program was installing the wrong one.
I did a './nvidia-installer --force-tls=new' and forced the new glx extension to be installed. This fixed all my lock up problems.
Hope this helps all Mandrake 9.x & RH 9 users!
softchicken80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-03, 08:09 PM   #172
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

auberge: add
Code:
Option  "NvAgp" '0"
to the Device section of your XF86Config file.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-03, 10:19 PM   #173
Seminole
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2
Default The link to the Drivers is dead.....

The object you requested was not available. Either it no longer exists on our database, or you do not have the proper permissions to view it.

Thought it was a permission thing so I registered.
Seminole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-03, 10:27 PM   #174
M3Freak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Default

softchicken80:

I gave what you said a shot, and my X problems are gone. Although X started up fine for me and worked like a charm, it would always lock up when I would load an OpenOffice app.

I went back to the nv driver provided by XFree, and the X/OpenOffice issues were gone. After I saw your posting, I gave it a shot, and OpenOffice Writer and X are sitting there running happily now.

So, the nvidia binary only drivers are okay, but like you said, you have to use "--force-tls=new" when installing the driver.

Thanks for the tip! Now I can post this handy little advice on bugzilla.redhat.com where I started a bug for OOo.
M3Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-03, 10:46 PM   #175
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

You shouldn't have to force TLS. Is this the boxed or download version of RH9?

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Day of Defeat: Source and Half-Life 2: Deathmatch Updates Released News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 10:50 PM
CUVILib v1.2 released News Archived News Items 0 05-17-12 08:40 AM
295.49 (long-lived branch release) for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 05-03-12 11:42 AM
SOF2 1.02 Patch Released! PsychoSy Gaming Central 5 10-17-02 06:08 AM
nvidia drivers in a motherboard with AGP 1.0 (motherboard MVP3+) knocker NVIDIA Linux 1 08-19-02 02:57 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.