Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-07, 01:59 PM   #13
///MVinny
WSP Most Wanted
 
///MVinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: Pioneer DFP/ GeForce4 DVI-HDMI Finally got 1080i but doesn't look right...

Good move starting clean. Let's see:

Code:
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1920x1080"; removing.
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "1280x720"
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "720x480"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 1280 x 720
Need some more details though: startx -logverbose 6
then repost the xorg.0.log.
///MVinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-07, 02:51 PM   #14
tld
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 47
Default Re: Pioneer DFP/ GeForce4 DVI-HDMI Finally got 1080i but doesn't look right...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Writher
I had installed the latest drivers available in portage using "emerge nvidia-drivers"
Portage has everything up though x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-100.14.09:

Code:
equery list -p nvidia-drivers
[ Searching for package 'nvidia-drivers' in all categories among: ]
 * installed packages
[I--] [ ~] x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-1.0.9631-r1 (0)
 * Portage tree (/usr/portage)
[-P-] [ -] x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-1.0.8776-r1 (0)
[-P-] [M~] x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-1.0.9746-r1 (0)
[-P-] [M~] x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-1.0.9755-r1 (0)
[-P-] [M~] x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-100.14.09 (0)
...you just have to unmask up to whatever your card supports.

I have one machine with a GeForce MX420 and I have this in my /etc/portage/package.keywords:

Code:
<=x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-1.0.9631-r1 ~x86
...and by the way...as far as I'm concerned, Gentoo is the only way to go for a myth box

Tom
tld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-07, 03:06 PM   #15
Writher
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: Pioneer DFP/ GeForce4 DVI-HDMI Finally got 1080i but doesn't look right...

Odd. I thought I had started it with verbose logs on before. I did it again, I noticed that if I start with KDM login - the KDM screen is a barely readable 720p, once I type in my password the screen flickers and it switches to 480p. If I login with startx from the console it goes directly to 480p. Here is my new Xorg.0.log:

Xorg.0.log
Writher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-07, 04:05 PM   #16
///MVinny
WSP Most Wanted
 
///MVinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 39
Thumbs up Re: Pioneer DFP/ GeForce4 DVI-HDMI Finally got 1080i but doesn't look right...

Code:
(II) NVIDIA(0): --- Building ModePool for PIO PRO-R06 (DFP-0) ---
(II) NVIDIA(0):   Validating Mode "1920x1080":
(II) NVIDIA(0):     1920 x 540 @ 60 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0):     For use as DFP backend.
(II) NVIDIA(0):     Mode Source: EDID
(II) NVIDIA(0):       Pixel Clock      : 74.25 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0):       HRes, HSyncStart : 1920, 2008
(II) NVIDIA(0):       HSyncEnd, HTotal : 2052, 2200
(II) NVIDIA(0):       VRes, VSyncStart :  540,  542
(II) NVIDIA(0):       VSyncEnd, VTotal :  547,  562
(II) NVIDIA(0):       H/V Polarity     : +/+
(II) NVIDIA(0):       Extra            : Interlace
(WW) NVIDIA(0):     Mode is rejected: VertRefresh (120.1 Hz) out of range
(WW) NVIDIA(0):     (59.000-61.000 Hz).
Okay - One thing at a time, start with this in xorg.conf and report back:
Code:
Option "ModeValidation" "NoVertRefreshCheck"
///MVinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-07, 07:25 PM   #17
Writher
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: Pioneer DFP/ GeForce4 DVI-HDMI Finally got 1080i but doesn't look right...

Thanks for your help, this one didn't do it - but maybe closer. Started at 1080i, but half the data is off the screen and it looks like this:

KDM
Desktop1
Desktop2
You get the idea

New Xorg.0.log

My xorg.conf with the one change
Writher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-07, 12:59 PM   #18
///MVinny
WSP Most Wanted
 
///MVinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: Pioneer DFP/ GeForce4 DVI-HDMI Finally got 1080i but doesn't look right...

The modes are valid now, it just looks like some of the timings are incorrect which may explain the crappy picture. There's another mode interrogated in the xorg log using a different pixel clock speed. How about making trying some of your custom mode lines, including this one with the diff pixel clock speed. I'm looking and I haven't seen this particular mode used in your configuration before.

Code:
(II) NVIDIA(0):   Validating Mode "1920x1080":
(II) NVIDIA(0):     1920 x 540 @ 60 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0):     For use as DFP backend.
(II) NVIDIA(0):     Mode Source: EDID
(II) NVIDIA(0):       Pixel Clock      : 74.18 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0):       HRes, HSyncStart : 1920, 2008
(II) NVIDIA(0):       HSyncEnd, HTotal : 2052, 2200
(II) NVIDIA(0):       VRes, VSyncStart :  540,  542
(II) NVIDIA(0):       VSyncEnd, VTotal :  547,  562
(II) NVIDIA(0):       H/V Polarity     : +/+
(II) NVIDIA(0):       Extra            : Interlace
(II) NVIDIA(0):     Mode is valid.
///MVinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-07, 06:24 PM   #19
Writher
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: Pioneer DFP/ GeForce4 DVI-HDMI Finally got 1080i but doesn't look right...

Interesting thought, I didn't think a 0.2 different in the VertRefresh would make a difference. I commented out my other modelines, created a custom modeline using the 74.18 and it didn't change anything unfortunately.


At this point I am thinking I should just install XP or Vista, then run whatever Linux stuff I need to within a VM.
Writher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-07, 09:35 PM   #20
Writher
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: Pioneer DFP/ GeForce4 DVI-HDMI Finally got 1080i but doesn't look right...

Any idea how to get around the line:

"Mode is rejected: Mode (1920x1080) is too large for DFP Native Resolution (640x480)"

I am going to try "NoDFPNativeResolution".....
Writher is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-26-07, 10:32 PM   #21
rerushg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Carolina, USA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to rerushg
Default Re: Pioneer DFP/ GeForce4 DVI-HDMI Finally got 1080i but doesn't look right...

Has MVinny deserted you? I'll see what I can do.

I looked at your last xorg.conf file post and note that you don't properly call any of your modelines. In the "screens" section try putting in "my1920x1080" instead of the "1920x1080" that is there.

I've included my own xorg.conf for reference.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xorg.conf.txt (1.4 KB, 133 views)
rerushg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-07, 02:31 PM   #22
///MVinny
WSP Most Wanted
 
///MVinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: Pioneer DFP/ GeForce4 DVI-HDMI Finally got 1080i but doesn't look right...

Quote:
Originally Posted by rerushg
Has MVinny deserted you? I'll see what I can do.

I looked at your last xorg.conf file post and note that you don't properly call any of your modelines. In the "screens" section try putting in "my1920x1080" instead of the "1920x1080" that is there.

I've included my own xorg.conf for reference.
Nah still here! Not getting much time to T/S this, but at the same time don't want any reasons for Whither to go back to the dark-side!
///MVinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-07, 03:58 PM   #23
Writher
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: Pioneer DFP/ GeForce4 DVI-HDMI Finally got 1080i but doesn't look right...

Changed my xorg.conf so this:

Code:
 ModeLine "my1920x1080" 74.25 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1094 1124 interlace +hsync +vsync
matches this:
Code:
Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "nVidia Inc. GeForce4 Ti4400"
    Monitor        "DFP"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "NoLogo" "true"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes      "my1920x1080" "1280x720" "720x480"
    EndSubSection
EndSection
Any idea what this is about:

Quote:
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Unable to use mode "my1920x1080" for PIO PRO-R06 (DFP-0);
(WW) NVIDIA(0): cannot compute backend DFP timings (mode is larger than
(WW) NVIDIA(0): native backend 640 x 480).
Got that for all my custom modelines.
Writher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-07, 07:25 PM   #24
rerushg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Carolina, USA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to rerushg
Default Re: Pioneer DFP/ GeForce4 DVI-HDMI Finally got 1080i but doesn't look right...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Writher
Any idea what this is about:
No. I don't. Maybe because I'm looking at your previous Xorg.0.log and Xorg.conf.
Sorry to keep dragging you through this but would you please post fresh ones (verbose, of course.)
We're gonna get that puppy running tonight.
rerushg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.