Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-26-07, 02:46 AM   #1
nrdstrm
 
nrdstrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Staples Center
Posts: 1,677
Default How to Calibrate an HDTV?

I noticed on AVS forum most seem to use Avia....Is there a better solution? I havn't tried either but tomorrow night I'll use Avia to test...I was just wondering if there was something better that I don't know about...
__________________


On Any Given Sunday!
nrdstrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-07, 02:47 AM   #2
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: How to Calibrate an HDTV?

For DVD and now HD-DVD a lot of people use DVE (Digital Video Essentials) to fine tune their HDTV.
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-07, 12:54 PM   #3
evilchris
 
evilchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,411
Default Re: How to Calibrate an HDTV?

The best bet is to have it professionally calibrated. Avia is ok and will get it better than factory default, which is horrendous.
__________________
[CENTER][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
[/CENTER][B][CENTER]--Communist Party of America--[/CENTER][/B]
evilchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-07, 04:51 PM   #4
GamerGuyX
 
GamerGuyX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kentwood, Michigan
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: How to Calibrate an HDTV?

http://www.imagingscience.com/
__________________
[COLOR="Red"][SIZE="4"]People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people. -[B] V[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR]


[url="http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/user_list.php?s=&t=35216"]Folding for Team# 35216 : NvNews + OSNN + SP[/URL]
GamerGuyX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-07, 04:51 PM   #5
Digital_Trans
 
Digital_Trans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sin City
Posts: 2,796
Default Re: How to Calibrate an HDTV?

After many hours of online research and calibration sessions I have found the perfect settings for my Sony Bravia 46" HD LCD TV Model Number: KDL-46V25L1
These settings look great on both the XBox 360 Elite via HDMI and also on the PS3 via HDMI.

Mode - Custom
Backlight - 5
Picture - 93
Brightness - 50
Color - 50
Hue - 0
Color Temp - (Warm1) or (Warm2) you choose
Sharpness - 8
NR - Off

Black Corrector - Off
Advanced CE - Off
Gamma - Low
Clear White - Off
Live Color
Color Space - Normal
Display Area - Full Pixel
Power Saving - (Low) or (Off) for more brightness, so it's not so dark.
Light Sensor - Off


This might work on other models besides mine give it a try!
__________________
Case: HP Blackbird 002
PSU: Topower 1500W
Mobo: ASUS Striker Extreme II 790i Ultra
CPU: Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9770 Quad 3.8GHz LCi
RAM: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1800 (PC3 14400)
GPU: 3 X EVGA GTX 280 FTW Edition TRI-SLI
HDD: 3 X 150GB WD Raptor-X
HDD: 1 - 500GB Seagate Barracuda
HDD: 1 - 640GB WD Caviar SE
DVD: 2 X Ultra Slim 20X IDE DVD/CD Writer
SPU: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCI-Express
LG Super Multi Blu-ray RW/HDDVD: GGW-H20L
Display: Dell UltraSharp 30" LCD
Gateway XHD3000 Black 30" LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition x64 SP1
Digital_Trans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-07, 05:27 PM   #6
evilchris
 
evilchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,411
Default Re: How to Calibrate an HDTV?

They might not work on the same model either. No two TV's are alike.
__________________
[CENTER][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
[/CENTER][B][CENTER]--Communist Party of America--[/CENTER][/B]
evilchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-07, 05:39 PM   #7
nrdstrm
 
nrdstrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Staples Center
Posts: 1,677
Default Re: How to Calibrate an HDTV?

So what is better to use? DVE or Avia?
__________________


On Any Given Sunday!
nrdstrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-07, 06:28 PM   #8
GamerGuyX
 
GamerGuyX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kentwood, Michigan
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: How to Calibrate an HDTV?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrdstrm
So what is better to use? DVE or Avia?
Don't you dare ask that question on the AVS Forum. It's suicide.
__________________
[COLOR="Red"][SIZE="4"]People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people. -[B] V[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR]


[url="http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/user_list.php?s=&t=35216"]Folding for Team# 35216 : NvNews + OSNN + SP[/URL]
GamerGuyX is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$254.99 - Westinghouse 32" 720p 60Hz LED-LCD HDTV LD-3237 News Archived News Items 0 06-18-12 09:50 PM
$229.99 - HANNspree 32" Class (31.5" Diag.) 720p 60Hz LED-Backlit LCD HDTV SV32AMUB News Archived News Items 0 06-18-12 09:50 PM
$229.99 - HANNspree 32" Class (31.5" Diag.) 720p 60Hz LED-Backlit LCD HDTV SV32AMUB News Archived News Items 0 06-18-12 05:00 AM
Blu-ray 3D Movie Playback With PC on a 3D HDTV Using HDMI 1.4 News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 03:30 AM
HDTV support - computer to HDTV set porksoda NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 10 10-27-05 06:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.