Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-26-07, 10:11 AM   #1
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Vista and Gaming

Recently I've decided that I'd like to get back into PC gaming. To start off I reinstalled HL2 on my green machine. I'm running Vista 32bit with the latest drivers for my 7600GT. So I started up HL2 for the first time and put all settings to max, 4xAA and 8xAF, HDR off, 1280x1024. When the game loaded I checked my FPS and noticed I was in the teens and low 20's. This is unusual because I played HL2 on my 3500+, 6800GT, 1GB 3200DDR system when HL2 first came out and I played the whole game at the above settings with FPS that rarely dipped into the 20's and stayed pretty consistently above the 30's.

Is this performance typical in Vista. Up until now I've totally been oblivious to Vista gaming. I was expecting and performance drop, but that much? In XP I was running a single core 3500+, with a 6800GT agp, and 1GB of ram. Now I'm running a dual core 4200, with a 7600GT and double the ram and my performance is significantly worse than my older system in XP.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-07, 12:21 PM   #2
flukester
*BANNED*
 
flukester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 505
Default Re: Vista and Gaming

Your machine is weaker than mine, memory included. Vista, despite what others would say, is not as lean as XP. There is a load of crap going on in the background. There is a lot of overhead period unless you tweak, drivers are weak and Vista is buggy period. Cut your res to 1024x768, take off AA and imo, you should be better off.

Vista as a gaming OS, imo, is just not the right time yet. There isn't really enough DX10 games yet to substantiate the move to Vista. Even if there were DX10 titles, you'd be crippled with your 7600 and your CPU and ram.

I'd recommend you stick with XP at least until SP1 comes out or you upgrade your PC...
flukester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-07, 02:42 PM   #3
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Vista and Gaming

I've got a little bit weaker of a PC, but the same video card as you. I tried to use Vista but it gave me really poor performance so I reinstalled XP Pro and all is well.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-07, 07:53 PM   #4
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: Vista and Gaming

Vista pretty much requires a higher end machine for good gaming.
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-07, 11:35 PM   #5
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Vista and Gaming

Ok. This basically just confirms my suspision. I just wanted to be sure that I wan't doing something wrong. I plan on building a new machine in the next few months. Since it's going to be a gaming rig I'll be sticking with XP for sure.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-07, 11:48 PM   #6
delas52
:::::::::::::::::
 
delas52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 517
Default Re: Vista and Gaming

I get same 3dmark (05/06) scores in vista as in xp. Also oblivion runs just as smooth in vista.

I did notice css played a little bit slower however, so maybe the source engine is the complication here.
delas52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-07, 12:37 AM   #7
Stoneyguy
Mechwarrior
 
Stoneyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kaplan, LA
Posts: 2,253
Send a message via MSN to Stoneyguy
Default Re: Vista and Gaming

It's my personal experience that Nvidia's performance dropped more then ATI's did when I upgraded my 2 PCs to Vista.
Stoneyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-07, 12:48 AM   #8
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Vista and Gaming

Really a 7800 and dual core is minimum for getting "almost-the-same-as-XP" performance, Vista just raped my single core, especially when it came to HD-DVD playback, more CPU usage than in XP
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-27-07, 01:53 AM   #9
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Vista and Gaming

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxDeadlyxX
Really a 7800 and dual core is minimum for getting "almost-the-same-as-XP" performance, Vista just raped my single core, especially when it came to HD-DVD playback, more CPU usage than in XP
Yeah. My 3800+ is stuggling in Vista. It's really an OS made for multi core. So I have a quad core upgrade lined up. LOL I'd never thought I'd go straight from single core to quad core!
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-07, 03:04 AM   #10
RAY16
Defenestration Specialist
 
RAY16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Land of a Thousand Suns
Posts: 1,039
Default Re: Vista and Gaming

Vista is usable on my ancient system if I just use it for average every-day stuff. If I try and play HD video or play newer games I start to see some issues, though.

Weird thing is, some games get a massive decrease in performance, while others are roughly the same. Take Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter for example, aside from some extra HD swapping due to the higher memory requirements it runs pretty much identical to when I run it on XP. But other games, such as Source engine games get a massive hit to performance. It's a strange mix of Vista being more demanding and some games just not liking it.
__________________
| Xbox/Games for Windows LIVE: NeoHumanity | Steam: RAY16 |
| Random Textual Nonsense | Random Visual Stimuli | Twitch.tv Stream |
RAY16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-07, 07:00 AM   #11
j0j081
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: Vista and Gaming

Vista for everyday use works fine on this system but my cpu is too slow for gaming. I can play cs:s but barely. I'm gonna use Vista for for everything but games.
j0j081 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-07, 07:23 AM   #12
Dragunov
Mister Anderson ... !!!
 
Dragunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Vista and Gaming

No problems at all with gaming, only with some older games ...
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- WD Caviar 750GB
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL

3D mark 05: 13321

3D Mark 06: 8065
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.