Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-28-07, 08:13 AM   #1
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Vista Home Premium - impossible to access Admin priviliges?

Of course in Vista the accounts arent 'real' admin accounts, and there are several programs that need Admin priviliges to work, ie.. PowerDVD to activate the key and Xfire to work properly.

The solutions on the net say to change the Local Groups and Users setting, however this cannot be accessed from Home Premium.

Anyone know how to run things with proper Admin priviliges? Using the "Run as Administrator" on right click never seems to work, and the box in the compatibility tab of all programs for Admin priviliges is greyed out. Help!!!
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-07, 08:38 PM   #2
Darkoz
lurking
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 677
Default Re: Vista Home Premium - impossible to access Admin priviliges?

I'm running Home Premium with a proper full Admin. account.
I'll post the details on how to do it when I get home from work.
__________________
Intel Q6700 - XFX 8800 ULTRA xXx - Gigabyte P35-DQ6 - 4GB Patriot DDR2 800 - x2 Seagate 320GB SATAll - DELL 2408wfp
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-07, 09:12 PM   #3
Darkoz
lurking
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 677
Default Re: Vista Home Premium - impossible to access Admin priviliges?

Here you go, this will create a full Administrator account in Home Premium...........

1- Click Start, and type cmd in the search area, right click on Command Prompt and select Run as Administrator.

2- In the command prompt type net users Administrator /active:yes (Note the capital "A" in Administrator) and press Enter, you will get a confirmation as "The command completed successfully".

3- Click Start, and type regedit in the search area and click Enter, navigate to: [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Policies\System]
Double click on FilterAdministratorToken and set it to 0

Now log-off, and you'll see new account named Administrator is available, click on it to login.

NOTE - It's recommeded if you're going to use this method is to apply it as soon as you do a fresh install of Windows, so you can simply delete whatever administrator you've created in the setup process, and make this one the "real" administrator for your PC, also you can rename this new admin account or change its password like any other account from "User Accounts" in the Control Panel.
__________________
Intel Q6700 - XFX 8800 ULTRA xXx - Gigabyte P35-DQ6 - 4GB Patriot DDR2 800 - x2 Seagate 320GB SATAll - DELL 2408wfp
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-07, 03:31 AM   #4
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Vista Home Premium - impossible to access Admin priviliges?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkoz
Here you go, this will create a full Administrator account in Home Premium...........

1- Click Start, and type cmd in the search area, right click on Command Prompt and select Run as Administrator.

2- In the command prompt type net users Administrator /active:yes (Note the capital "A" in Administrator) and press Enter, you will get a confirmation as "The command completed successfully".

3- Click Start, and type regedit in the search area and click Enter, navigate to: [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Policies\System]
Double click on FilterAdministratorToken and set it to 0

Now log-off, and you'll see new account named Administrator is available, click on it to login.

NOTE - It's recommeded if you're going to use this method is to apply it as soon as you do a fresh install of Windows, so you can simply delete whatever administrator you've created in the setup process, and make this one the "real" administrator for your PC, also you can rename this new admin account or change its password like any other account from "User Accounts" in the Control Panel.
Thanks, that worked! Unfortunately it didn't fix the x64 PowerDVD activation problem, still says I'm not Administrator. Looks like it's a program problem with Vista. Back to 32-bit
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-07, 03:55 AM   #5
Darkoz
lurking
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 677
Default Re: Vista Home Premium - impossible to access Admin priviliges?

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxDeadlyxX
Thanks, that worked! Unfortunately it didn't fix the x64 PowerDVD activation problem, still says I'm not Administrator. Looks like it's a program problem with Vista. Back to 32-bit
Have you tried un-installing PowerDVD and then installing it again under the newly created Administrator account?
__________________
Intel Q6700 - XFX 8800 ULTRA xXx - Gigabyte P35-DQ6 - 4GB Patriot DDR2 800 - x2 Seagate 320GB SATAll - DELL 2408wfp
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.