Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-28-07, 05:20 PM   #1
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Dark Messiah Problems in Vista

I posted this over @ the DM forums to see if anyone could help me, but they gave a bland, dry, worthless answer.

So after you read whats below (if you need to or not) I would appreciate it if someone could help me figure this out.

It could be a Vista thing, or it could be a game or setting thing.
I blame Vista partially, but there has to be some way to get it to work.



Quote:
The game installed fine, all my drivers are up to date, etc

But it never gets past the loading screens.

client.dll has some library failure as well
mm.exe fails to initialize
and sometimes windows explorer crashes!
the game just wont load


im gone through a few different REG settings that i have seen on the forum, but none work for me. Here is the one i am using now:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Valve\Source\mm]

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Valve\Source\mm\Setting s]
"AutoConfigVersion"=dword:00000001
"ScreenWidth"=dword:00000500
"ScreenHeight"=dword:00000398
"ScreenWindowed"=dword:00000000
"ScreenMonitorGamma"="2.500000"
"mat_forceaniso"=dword:00000010
"mat_picmip"=dword:00000000
"mat_trilinear"=dword:00000000
"mat_vsync"=dword:00000001
"mat_forcehardwaresync"=dword:00000001
"mat_parallaxmap"=dword:00000000
"mat_reducefillrate"=dword:00000000
"r_shadowrendertotexture"=dword:00000001
"r_rootlod"=dword:00000000
"r_waterforceexpensive"=dword:00000001
"r_waterforcereflectentities"=dword:00000001
"mat_antialias"=dword:00000004
"mat_specular"=dword:00000001
"mat_bumpmap"=dword:00000001
"mat_hdr_level"=dword:00000002
"VendorID"=dword:000010de
"DeviceID"=dword:00000191
"DXLevel_V1"=dword:0000005f
"key"="1234567890123"
"mm_fxquality_level"=dword:00000002
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-07, 05:45 PM   #2
Ancient
Occasional User
 
Ancient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Too far from the beach
Posts: 619
Default Re: Dark Messiah Problems in Vista

Right-click on the .EXE or shortcut and run as administrator.
__________________
"You know the difference between cannibals and liberals? Cannibals only eat their enemies."
Ancient is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-07, 05:52 PM   #3
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Re: Dark Messiah Problems in Vista

Tried. Doesn't do a single thing.
Even tried running it in XP SP2 mode
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-07, 06:25 PM   #4
Reynaldo
Tremeendo
 
Reynaldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 99
Default Re: Dark Messiah Problems in Vista

I stopped trying to play DM. I got tired of all the crashing, and having to erase the reg keys to be able to start the game. Otherwise I got the client.dll error. Oh well.
__________________

Gigabyte EP45 UD3 - Intel Q6600 @3 GHz - Zotac Geforce 8800GT 512MB @712Core/1900Mem - 4GB Kingston HyperX 1066 Ram
Reynaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-07, 06:27 PM   #5
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Re: Dark Messiah Problems in Vista

Maybe it's not meant to be played on Vista, at least until a patch comes out.
I pray to God they release a patch!
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-07, 06:34 PM   #6
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Dark Messiah Problems in Vista

I never could get that game to work on Vista either. So I convinced myself that it sucked anyway and moved on to STALKER. I recommend you do the same, because STALKER actually is the sh!t.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-07, 06:52 PM   #7
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Re: Dark Messiah Problems in Vista

Oh believe me, I know what STALKER is. Love the game. Its brilliant. I cant wait till the new patch comes out. Hopefully that will fix a lot of the bugs still resting in the game.

Stalker 2 is announced as well.
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-07, 06:52 PM   #8
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Dark Messiah Problems in Vista

Same here. That's the only game I haven't been able to make work. I've given up on it for the moment.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-28-07, 07:03 PM   #9
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Re: Dark Messiah Problems in Vista

I just reinstalled it, and im going to see if I can get it to work

Update:

Game still sucks. Wont work. Forget this ****.
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-07, 07:28 PM   #10
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,260
Default Re: Dark Messiah Problems in Vista

Yeah, I wish eVGA sent me a better game than this piece of junk with my GPU.
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-07, 07:36 PM   #11
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Re: Dark Messiah Problems in Vista

Either they update the game to work with Vista, or I will never touch this game again.

Its not worth the trouble
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-07, 07:46 PM   #12
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Dark Messiah Problems in Vista

it works for me on Vista. It's just a buggy game. I don't think it will ever be patched past the ones released already. I run mine from Steam. It really helps if you have over 2 GBs and at least an 8800 to be able to play through at max settings. Of course when you exit you might see it says it stopped working. i get that a lot.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Now Available - The Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav, 10% Off! News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-22-12 01:00 PM
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
problems with drivers after 295.40 (OpenSuSE 12.1, GeFroce 7900 GS, Phenom II X4) alawa NVIDIA Linux 0 06-09-12 06:37 PM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
Dark Souls PC will use Steamworks News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-31-12 09:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.