Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-01-07, 04:21 PM   #1
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default If you want to see if your OverClock Is Stable

The program ORTHOS does'nt mess around ,even tho I could run my games and benchmarks at 3.7gig at 1.45v ,once I fired up orthos within 8 seconds it had failed.If you can get your overclock threw 30 minutes of running orthos ,then it is stable. I used to keep my E6600 at 3.6gigs at 1.35v in the winter ,but this summer my tempertures are riseing ,so I decided to get the maxium overclock with the lowest voltages ,I am running my E6600 at 1.24v at 3.240gig and my FSB at 1.2v and the rest of them at default except my memory ,I turned it down to 2v instead of the 2.2v default since I am just running it at 720mhz 4-3-3-7-1T and I ran Orthos thirty minutes plus my virus scan at the same time ,so I know it is stable.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-07, 04:52 PM   #2
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Re: If you want to see if your OverClock Is Stable

I think I speak for a LOT of people when I say that we know about Orthos already.

But hey, it was a good post. And im sure some people dont know about it.

I myself use it. Good program.

My room is VERY cold, (i prefer it that way). So I can run 3.6 at stock voltage very smoothly. I run anywhere between stock and 3.2 though. But my backup pc (my grandfather uses it mainly, he's a flight sim x addict) is in a slightly warmer area of the house, it's at 2.6 right now (Orthos tested a-okay) but I may bump it up to 3.2 for him to see if theres any performance increase in FSX
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-07, 05:05 PM   #3
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: If you want to see if your OverClock Is Stable

my system is 40 hours Orthos stable.

after 40 hours i got bored of looking at a computer that i can't use
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-07, 05:19 PM   #4
breathemetal
*BANNED*
 
breathemetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I wish it wasnt the USA
Posts: 4,447
Send a message via AIM to breathemetal
Default Re: If you want to see if your OverClock Is Stable

That was the WORSE part of it all, I hated it

I only did 1 hour tests once I got to 3.0
At 3.2 (my current) I ran it for a day's length
At 3.6 I ran it for 2 days, just to see how strong my HS was

Im stayin at 3.2 though
breathemetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-07, 05:55 PM   #5
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: If you want to see if your OverClock Is Stable

I see no point in running it for days ,If it can do thirty minutes then you are pretty safe that the overclock is good.I am sorry I brought up something you new so well ,but in my case I always used 3DMark06 and ran it two or three times and I consider it stable ,But I had just found Orthos and found out that is runs both cores at the same time.And it was less forgiveing then 3DMark06.My E6600 with pass Orthos at 3.6gigs at 1.35v,but ever since I updated my Evga Bios from P21 to P28 my CPU tempertures increased,I don't know why a bios update would increase the cpu tempertures ,but it did on mine and I am not the only one according to Evga Bios fourms ,I heard that the P.28 bios update included critical microcode updates from Intel and this was the cause of the temperture increase around 5c to 7c .
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-07, 06:01 PM   #6
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: If you want to see if your OverClock Is Stable

Quote:
Originally Posted by john19055
I see no point in running it for days ,If it can do thirty minutes then you are pretty safe that the overclock is good.I am sorry I brought up something you new so well ,but in my case I always used 3DMark06 and ran it two or three times and I consider it stable ,But I had just found Orthos and found out that is runs both cores at the same time.And it was less forgiveing then 3DMark06.My E6600 with pass Orthos at 3.6gigs at 1.35v,but ever since I updated my Evga Bios from P21 to P28 my CPU tempertures increased,I don't know why a bios update would increase the cpu tempertures ,but it did on mine and I am not the only one according to Evga Bios fourms ,I heard that the P.28 bios update included critical microcode updates from Intel and this was the cause of the temperture increase around 5c to 7c .
3dMark is by no means a good way to stress your CPU. It's doesn't even come close to maxing out the CPU.

The bios update could have just fixed the temp sensor. It's not that the actual temp changed, but that it is now being correctly reported.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-07, 04:51 AM   #7
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: If you want to see if your OverClock Is Stable

I'm just going to run it overnight right now. I can't leave my computer running an OC test or stability test for more than 3 hours with me awake, like nekrosoft, lol.
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-07, 10:11 AM   #8
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: If you want to see if your OverClock Is Stable

+1 to not having to run it a long time. If it can make it through the first half hour to hour, it's going to be fine.

Until I found ORTHOS, I was just running multiple stress tests simultaineously
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-02-07, 10:27 AM   #9
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: If you want to see if your OverClock Is Stable

I've yet to come across any process that loads the CPU like Orthos in everyday use, even encoding. What's the point? To me it seems like one more nerd bragging point and nothing else.

FWIW my E4300 is Orthos stable @ 3.2.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-07, 10:47 AM   #10
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: If you want to see if your OverClock Is Stable

Quote:
Originally Posted by stncttr908
I've yet to come across any process that loads the CPU like Orthos in everyday use, even encoding. What's the point? To me it seems like one more nerd bragging point and nothing else.

FWIW my E4300 is Orthos stable @ 3.2.
Thats how I feel too.

I'll run it (or Prime95 on a single core) for 10 or 15 minutes but any more than that is sort of pointless unless I'm actually having a stability problem and need to determine if its CPU related.

The old Palamino Athlon XPs could hardly ever pass prime95 without overheating and crashing the system after a half hour (tried it myself and had two friends try it), yet they worked fine the rest of the time.

If your system can run orthos for 3 days straight, thats awesome. I don't see it as necessary for testing an overclock though.

Back in the day I used to use a 64 bot LAN game of Battlefield 1942 to test CPU stability and performance when overclocking. At the time (2002-2003 i think) nothing else reliably put that kind of load on the system and it was a great way to test things out.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-07, 11:02 AM   #11
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,794
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: If you want to see if your OverClock Is Stable

Orthos is great indicator for stable overclocks using to verify my overclocks...
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-07, 11:44 AM   #12
WeReWoLf
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,015
Send a message via MSN to WeReWoLf
Default Re: If you want to see if your OverClock Is Stable

My rig is Orthos verified at 3.6Ghz with 45 hours. I did that to a) test it and b) to allow the AS5 to settle in.
WeReWoLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computex 2012: MSI Overclock Warranty News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 03:40 AM
Internet Explorer 10: embedded Flash, Do Not Track, and stable standards News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 03:10 AM
$169.99 - GIGABYTE Super Overclock Series GV-N56GSO-1GI GeForce GTX 560 (Fermi) 1GB 2 News GeForce GTX 560 0 05-19-12 10:00 PM
How high of an overclock can I expect out of a GeForce4 Ti 4200? Danno NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 6 08-16-02 11:31 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.