Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-02-07, 10:06 AM   #1
lhafner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Default Difficulty with Changing to Higher Resolutions

Kubuntu 7.04 with XFX GeForce 7100GS - New user to Ubuntu but longtime user of Linux

Everything worked fine with both the open source driver and then later with the proprietary driver installed from the Ubuntu repository but unable to change the resolution to anything but 640x480. Much googling and reading the xorg.conf man page has pointed me in a couple of directions but I'm hoping for some guidance. Here's a snip of my so far unedited xorg.conf file:

--snip--

Section "Monitor"
identifier "MultiSync 95"
vendorname "Plug 'n' Play"
modelname "Plug 'n' Play"
modeline "640x480@60" 25.2 640 656 752 800 480 490 492 525 -vsync -hsync
gamma 1.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
identifier "nVidia Corporation GeForce 7100 GS"
boardname "NVIDIA GeForce 7 Series"
busid "PCI:1:0:0"
driver "nvidia"
screen 0
vendorname "NVIDIA"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "nVidia Corporation GeForce 7100 GS"
Monitor "MultiSync 95"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
depth 24
virtual 640 480
modes "640x480@60"
EndSubSection
EndSection

--snip--

So I think I need to add "1024x768@60" to the modes under Screen and add another modeline under Monitor but its the syntax of the modeline that I'm unable to figure out since I'm a little shaky on what values to use. I'm assuming:

modeline "1024x768@60" xx.x 1024 xxx xxx xxx 768 xxx xxx xxx -vsync -hsync

but even if I'm on the right track I'm unsure about the xxx's. Also how do I determine what to put for even higher resolution lines and widescreen outputs for when I eventually hook it up to my bigscreen TV?

It may also be the case that I'm completely off-base and this should be handled by nvidia-xconfig

I tried:
sudo nvidia-xconfig --mode=1024x768
based on the nvidia-xconfig man file example but it only modified the modes line to:

Modes "1024x768" "640x480@60"

Which seems inconsistent with what I was expecting to see and it still doesn't allow me to change the resolution via the GUI utilities.
lhafner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-07, 10:20 AM   #2
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: Difficulty with Changing to Higher Resolutions

Please see the forum sticky posts: http://nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=46678
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-07, 10:34 AM   #3
lhafner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Difficulty with Changing to Higher Resolutions

I've attached the bug report.
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.zip (25.3 KB, 82 views)
lhafner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-07, 10:42 AM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Difficulty with Changing to Higher Resolutions

1.0-9755 is no longer supported. If this problem persists with 100.14.11, please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 6

and then generate and attach an nvidia-bug-report.log.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-07, 09:37 AM   #5
lhafner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Difficulty with Changing to Higher Resolutions

I gave up on using Kubuntu's add/remove to get the proper driver and resorted to using a third party script called Envy. It now appears I'm running version 100.14.11, but I'm still having the same resolution issue. It looks like Envy did not install nvidia-bug-report.sh so is there a place I can download it from manually?
lhafner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-07, 10:09 AM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Difficulty with Changing to Higher Resolutions

nvidia-bug-report.sh ships as part of the driver installation. If "Envy" isn't providing it, that would be a bug in their packaging schema.

I'd suggest installing the official driver package.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-07, 09:11 PM   #7
Go7300
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 38
Default Re: Difficulty with Changing to Higher Resolutions

It's easier to update your xorg.conf to the proper settings by using the "nvidia-settings" gui program. Do "sudo nvidia-settings" to start it. Then go to the page for X Server Display Configuration and select your monitor settings (1024x768) and the refresh rate (probably 60) from the drop down selection boxes. Then hit "Apply" to apply them. If they're what you want, then hit Save to X Configuration File, and they will be saved in the appropriate place in the file .. make sure you select /etc/X11/xorg.conf.

Then, next time you start X, you will have the proper settings.

You can also use Nvidia-Settings to enable your tv and adjust resolution, the same way.

HTH
Go7300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-07, 05:24 PM   #8
lhafner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Difficulty with Changing to Higher Resolutions

OK, I uninstalled the drivers put in place by Envy and ran the script from nVidia's website. I used the automated script at the end to set it up. The net result is that X now hangs and all I get is a black screen and a blinking cursor. I've attached the log.
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.zip (30.0 KB, 70 views)
lhafner is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-24-07, 05:33 PM   #9
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Difficulty with Changing to Higher Resolutions

1.0-7184 is no longer supported (and doesn't support your GPU). It looks like you've got the 100.14.11 X driver, with the 1.0-7184 kernel module, which is an Ubuntu packaging bug. See the forum sticky posts.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-07, 05:38 PM   #10
lhafner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Difficulty with Changing to Higher Resolutions

While going through the nVidia proprietary install it seemed like the script itself installed the kernel module. Am I just remembering it incorrectly (it has been a couple of days)?
lhafner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing resolutions thekrebster NVIDIA Linux 1 08-08-02 11:01 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.