Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-19-07, 04:10 PM   #1
jman888
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 54
Default 6200 PCI For HL2?

Would i be able to Play At Low/Medium Settings At 640 x 480 or 800 x 600. DX7/8/9
I dont expect too much out of a lowend and old card but I have a Intel Extreme 2 GPU and HL2 is nearly playable after Tweaks
-dxlevel 70 +mat_forcehardwaresync 0 -steam -console -heapsize 500000
Being Them.
I can Get 15-20 FPS normal. So i figure Because a Geoforce 2 owns Intel graphics that a PCI card could Get me 30 FPS.. right?
jman888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-07, 07:32 PM   #2
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: 6200 PCI For HL2?

Should be fine for medium settings, possibly higher. It depends on what your definition of medium is though.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-07, 02:08 PM   #3
bugmeplz
*BANNED*
 
bugmeplz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 427
Default Re: 6200 PCI For HL2?

My system, which I received as a free gift (ex-business hardware):

Dell Dimension 2400
P4 2.8G Northwood
512mb PC2700 (orig. 256mb)
PNY Geforce 6200 256MB DDR2 PCI

Overclocked the 6200 to 320/660 (from 300/532), disabled or removed unused hardware eg. PCI modem, network card, 3.5" floppy drive, COM1 and LPT1, etc., defragmented hard drive.

I run HL2 @ 1024x768, 2xAA, 16xAF, shaders, models and textures set to High, no Vsync, no HDR. I get an average of 40fps with highs of 55 or so, dropping to mid-20s at the worst. I also heavily tweaked HL2 through the console.

Don't listen to the smug, sniffy reviews of PCI cards. If it's cost-effective, and you can get a good card (6200, X1300 and - preferably - X1550 PCI), you can get a lot out of them.
bugmeplz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-07, 03:50 PM   #4
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: 6200 PCI For HL2?

I played HL2 on a 32mb Geforce 2 mx200 PCI and it ran alright at minimum settings at 800x600. I was very impressed to say the least. The card doesn't even have DDR!

A 6200 should have no problem playing the game at medium settings.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-07, 05:15 PM   #5
Bokishi
NV THIS
 
Bokishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hutt Space
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: 6200 PCI For HL2?

I played HL2 just fine at high settings @ 800x600 with my ol' FX5200 PCI and 1 GB RAM.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz
EVGA Z68
Ripjaws X 16GB 1600MHz
EVGA GTX 680
X-Fi Titanium HD
Intel 40GB SSD (SRT Cache)
Hitachi 1TB Boot HDD
7TB Storage HDDs
Coolermaster 750w
Bokishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia 302.17 OpenGL not working 6200 PCI Archmbc NVIDIA Linux 1 06-18-12 11:23 AM
Need a PCI card Mulciber For Sale/Trade 5 01-12-05 07:35 PM
X Failed to load NVdriver c00lr4c3r NVIDIA Linux 13 10-22-02 01:44 PM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 10:16 PM
How to enable PCI latency? Phyre NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 5 09-13-02 01:18 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.