Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-07, 03:57 AM   #1
davuswho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Angry HELP! Timings/Voltage e6600/680i

Hello to all, I am building a system and i have had nothing but problems out of it. bios locking up, ram settings resetting, bad stick of ram..etc..

I'm getting everything RMA'd that is bad. So I can start fresh. However.. I am wanting to make sure I setup the bios properly. I don't want to overclock anything (yet) I just want to setup everything so that it is 100% stable and no more random crashes.

~~My System~~
eVGA 680i Motherboard
Intel e6600 Duo Core 2.4GHz CPU
2x 1gb OCZ SLI-Ready (nvidia branded) PC2-8500 5-5-5-15 RAM
2x 8800GTX 768 Standard vid cards
150gb 10K RPM Hard drive
Onboard Sound
Stock Cooling on CPU
Airflow Case. Using the Antec 900 Case, 120mm fan up top. 2 front intakes and 1 out ... vent on the side.

I'm wanting to know the appropriate voltages and timings, etc to make sure this beast is going to run stable on WinXP Pro (im too afraid to try vista now)

I'm currently using everything on "auto" all of these problems started when i tried to ENable SLI on the RAM, and link them.. or try to keep the clock/fsb both at 1067/1067. it wont run it at all. not at any voltage. so im currently using ram at 800/1067@2.1v and CPU @ 1.2v with factory settings on fsb.
I cant even use a 2nd stick of ram now.. so down to 1gig until ram gets here


Via the nVidia.Monitor here are my temps as im idle now typing this.
CPU 41
System 42
GPU1 58
GPU2 68



I've read many places, sites, forums and have tried various dif bios settings. None of which seem to be running very stable. I called eVGA they had me do a simple bios flash via jumper.. I rebooted and I got an ntldr error /ugg Had to reformat.

So... when i get all these new parts back, I'm wanting to make sure I do everything 100% correct. I'm tired of fooling around with it so much.

Thank you in advance for any hints, tips, links, suggestions you can provide

Thanks,
Davus
davuswho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-07, 01:10 PM   #2
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: HELP! Timings/Voltage e6600/680i

For starters, for some reason seems a lot of people have been having problems with the OCZ PC8500 memory, and not just 680i owners either. Local shop stopped selling it all together as there were just too many DOA sticks, sticks dying within a month and sticks just not capable of running at their stated speeds.

What do you have for a psu??

I had nothing but problems with the 680i boards, rma'd 3 of them but for what ever reason I've had no problems with this LT and neither have any of my friends, no idea what the difference would be.
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-07, 06:56 PM   #3
davuswho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: HELP! Timings/Voltage e6600/680i

I am using a TopPower 1,000 Watt Power Supply. No Power issues here, that is for sure.
davuswho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.