Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-08-07, 01:32 PM   #97
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,869
Default Re: Vista and Good reasons why it's just not needed. Yet.

Admittedly I still use XP far more often than I use vista, but this is more because of driver issues than anything else, which can only be helped by the hardware vendors and not Microsoft. Most of these issues are audio related (intel/sigma don't provide very complete audio drivers for this particular hardware I am using.) I'll probably switch to using vista more often as soon as these are largely resolved.
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-07, 01:40 PM   #98
buffbiff21
*B4NNED*
 
buffbiff21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,002
Default Re: Vista and Good reasons why it's just not needed. Yet.

WOW I totally missed this thread. Evilghost and a variety of other members pummelling flukester... I saw the other one about the VTP, but this...
__________________
GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
buffbiff21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 07:27 AM   #99
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Vista and Good reasons why it's just not needed. Yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by radekhulan
I have noticed this on other forums as well - only people bashing Vista are those NOT using it (as they have no money to purchase it or obsolete HW). I wonder what makes them wanting to bash OS they do not know...

Vista is much more than "visual enhancements". Read this and educate yourself:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_vista
ive used it and its ok. but id rather sit back and let some of the bugs i read about here on nvnews work out. ill move eventually, just not yet.

the biggest problem is that there are many security enhancements, but those arent readily apparent, so ppl dont really tout them. furthermore, the user environment with respect to navigation and launching and stuff is practically the same (actually id say even easier to use). i was able to jump on a Vista PC and use it actually rather easily. (Office 2007 is a diff story, grrr) so, when ppl try out vista they cant see security increases, they feel like the same GUI is used, and all they see is graphics tweaks and eye candy.

so, is it any wonder that they bash it?
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 09:54 AM   #100
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Vista and Good reasons why it's just not needed. Yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by radekhulan
I have noticed this on other forums as well - only people bashing Vista are those NOT using it (as they have no money to purchase it or obsolete HW). I wonder what makes them wanting to bash OS they do not know...

Vista is much more than "visual enhancements". Read this and educate yourself:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_vista
I do own Vista, I actually got a free copy from my University. I had/used Vista for a month or two but it just didn't perform well, thus I went back to having XP on the rig. It prolly would help if I had a nice dual-core CPU and 2GB RAM, but I just don't have the money right now. XP serves my gaming needs way better than Vista.

Now if I ever got a chance to upgrade to a C2D, 2GB RAM and a 8800, AND driver support got better, I'd use Vista.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-07, 05:37 AM   #101
Wolfhound
Moving to new home
 
Wolfhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,358
Send a message via MSN to Wolfhound Send a message via Yahoo to Wolfhound
Default Re: Vista and Good reasons why it's just not needed. Yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm
I do own Vista, I actually got a free copy from my University. I had/used Vista for a month or two but it just didn't perform well, thus I went back to having XP on the rig. It prolly would help if I had a nice dual-core CPU and 2GB RAM, but I just don't have the money right now. XP serves my gaming needs way better than Vista.

Now if I ever got a chance to upgrade to a C2D, 2GB RAM and a 8800, AND driver support got better, I'd use Vista.

That´s true if you plan to upgrade to Vista minimum reqs to have a nice exp. are dual-core and 2 gig of ram
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3,4 | 4Gigs (2x2) OCZ Reaper PC-8500 | Gigabyte P35-DS3R | Western Digital 500G Caviar SE16 SATA2 NCQ | Seagate160 Gig 7200.9 SATA NCQ | Maxtor 300Gig SATA NCQ | Asus Geforce 260GTX | Samsung Syncmaster 930BF 19'' | BeQuiet Straight Power 700W | Cooler Master CM690 |Windows Vista x64 SP2 |Windows XP SP3 [Deceased PSU, no money for new one, stucked with laptop and XBOX 360]

Macbook Pro 13': 4gigs | Core2 Duo 2,53Mhz | 250Gigs HDD |geforce 9400M| aluminium unibody | Mac OS X 10.6.2 Snow Leopard |gentoo Linux 2.631 kernel


Wolfhound´s Brute: http://wolfhound77.mybrute.com
Wolfhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-07, 06:35 AM   #102
OldOfEvil
Parrots + Xanax =
 
OldOfEvil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 662
Default Re: Vista and Good reasons why it's just not needed. Yet.

I dual booted Vista on my Macbook Pro and didn't care for it. It felt a lot more sluggish than XP, and frankly I don't like many of the changes in UI. The few games I did try worked just fine.. Maybe after SP1 I'll give it another look. As it is now, XP is secure, stable and fast enough for me.
__________________
i5 3570k | Sabertooth z77 | GTX 680 (320.49) | 16GB DDR2 | Win7 x64 Pro
OldOfEvil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-07, 06:52 AM   #103
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Vista and Good reasons why it's just not needed. Yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm
Vista seems ok (XP with a visual makeover plus some other small features) but you do have to have a dual core, 2GB and 7 Series card rig in order to get a decent experience. My poor gaming rig ran Vista ok, but slow (games were 2x slower than in XP). But the last time I checked, not everybody on these forums and others have monster PCs with the best of the best. Vista is still new and still needs work performance wise, thank God they didn't throw XP out the window yet. Get it?
Yeah you're right about Dual Core and 2GB Ram... single core simply doesn't cut it on Vista, and even 2GB is minimum if you're running big games.

I mean heck... Vista for me uses 1GB Ram often with nothing running at all. I don't install many background apps either, only AVG really.

Currently I'm running IE7 with two tabs and Xfire/Steam, and it is using 1.2GB. on XP it would be about 400-500
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-07, 07:13 AM   #104
Wolfhound
Moving to new home
 
Wolfhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,358
Send a message via MSN to Wolfhound Send a message via Yahoo to Wolfhound
Default Re: Vista and Good reasons why it's just not needed. Yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxDeadlyxX
Yeah you're right about Dual Core and 2GB Ram... single core simply doesn't cut it on Vista, and even 2GB is minimum if you're running big games.

I mean heck... Vista for me uses 1GB Ram often with nothing running at all. I don't install many background apps either, only AVG really.

Currently I'm running IE7 with two tabs and Xfire/Steam, and it is using 1.2GB. on XP it would be about 400-500
True but has better memory management than XP
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3,4 | 4Gigs (2x2) OCZ Reaper PC-8500 | Gigabyte P35-DS3R | Western Digital 500G Caviar SE16 SATA2 NCQ | Seagate160 Gig 7200.9 SATA NCQ | Maxtor 300Gig SATA NCQ | Asus Geforce 260GTX | Samsung Syncmaster 930BF 19'' | BeQuiet Straight Power 700W | Cooler Master CM690 |Windows Vista x64 SP2 |Windows XP SP3 [Deceased PSU, no money for new one, stucked with laptop and XBOX 360]

Macbook Pro 13': 4gigs | Core2 Duo 2,53Mhz | 250Gigs HDD |geforce 9400M| aluminium unibody | Mac OS X 10.6.2 Snow Leopard |gentoo Linux 2.631 kernel


Wolfhound´s Brute: http://wolfhound77.mybrute.com
Wolfhound is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-10-07, 07:37 AM   #105
Badboy_12345
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: Vista and Good reasons why it's just not needed. Yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxDeadlyxX
Yeah you're right about Dual Core and 2GB Ram... single core simply doesn't cut it on Vista, and even 2GB is minimum if you're running big games.

I mean heck... Vista for me uses 1GB Ram often with nothing running at all. I don't install many background apps either, only AVG really.

Currently I'm running IE7 with two tabs and Xfire/Steam, and it is using 1.2GB. on XP it would be about 400-500
it uses it beacuse nothing else uses the ram.. so vista uses it instead to run better. When a app or game needs it it automatically gives the game/app the ram required
Badboy_12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-07, 08:22 AM   #106
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Vista and Good reasons why it's just not needed. Yet.

thats the point, like badboy said. If nothing else is using the memory, why shouldn't system use it for cache to run your programs faster?
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-07, 08:42 AM   #107
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Vista and Good reasons why it's just not needed. Yet.

Oh, thats good to know
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-07, 09:14 AM   #108
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Vista and Good reasons why it's just not needed. Yet.

Again, 1GB RAM and a single-core CPU just doesn't cut it in Vista. I only use Windows for gaming and nothing else . . . OSX and Ubuntu for everything else.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.