Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-06-07, 07:10 PM   #1
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Major system swap with Vista.

Anyone know how Vista x64 handles a major system change? Like if I went to a P35 board and a Core 2, how would my Vista installation handle it?

I know XP was hit or miss. Most of the time you could just run a repair installation and it'd work fine, but other times you'd have to do a full reinstall.

I haven't heard of anyone doing it with Vista yet.

Only reason I ask is I'm dual booting XP and Vista (actually triple booting since i have another vista installation on my external drive) and its a pain in the ass to redo all of that, not to mention move all of my data around and reinstall programs.

I think I'd have to reinstall XP first and then Vista or the Vista boot manager wouldnt work.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-07, 07:55 PM   #2
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Major system swap with Vista.

I'm thinking that Vista 64 would do quite well. I've done several XP swaps lately and have been remarkably surprised how well it went. I changed from a 939 4800X2 to a Q6600 on a P35 running XP32.

Without formating.

Without REPAIRING!

Major speed increase and stability too. I used the system like that for nearly a week. I ended up formating only to use all 4 GB of memory under Vista 64. I'm not sure, but Vista is supposedly more robust than XP doing this, so good luck. (And sorry I couldn't help with Vista 64 directly).
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-07, 08:22 PM   #3
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Major system swap with Vista.

I think I'll back everything up properly and then give it a try.

If it doesn't work I'll just reinstall.

I think it'll work though.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-07, 09:02 PM   #4
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Major system swap with Vista.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
I think I'll back everything up properly and then give it a try.

If it doesn't work I'll just reinstall.

I think it'll work though.
Yeah, I think it will be fine. I used to be so CRAZY against this practice, then did it myself a few weeks back because I got all the new toys but was too busy to properly format. I was VERY surprised with the results.

Good luck, bro!
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-07, 07:36 PM   #5
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Major system swap with Vista.

I went from my nforce 4 AMD setup to my current nforce 6 Intel setup. Vista would bluescreen on boot like XP would. Vista repair knew the issue and tried to fix it, but it couldn't. I'd say you'll have to reinstall.

My gf went from a VIA P4 setup to a 965 E6600 setup. Same results as me. Although neither of us reset the HAL. Kinda a major step.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-07, 08:10 PM   #6
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Major system swap with Vista.

In the XP days you could go into Device Mangler and set your PC to a "Standard PC" instead of an APCI Computer and change the primary/secondary storage controller drives to "Standard". You'd then shutdown and do your swap; everything would boot fine and all devices would be redetected. It may work with Vista.

I've never had to repair an XP installation on a major hardware swap using that technique.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-07, 08:35 PM   #7
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Major system swap with Vista.

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilghost
In the XP days you could go into Device Mangler and set your PC to a "Standard PC" instead of an APCI Computer and change the primary/secondary storage controller drives to "Standard". You'd then shutdown and do your swap; everything would boot fine and all devices would be redetected. It may work with Vista.

I've never had to repair an XP installation on a major hardware swap using that technique.
I have, it went very smoothly (1.8 p4 to nf3 and amd64).

One thing with Vistas repair..you may have to reboot and run it more than once. So if everything isn't sweet the first time around, run it again.

Good luck man, hope it goes smooth for you.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
Nvidia Tray Icon in Vista? lutikri55 NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 4 10-30-07 03:25 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.