Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-06-07, 08:56 PM   #1
Ihmemies
Naamanka
 
Ihmemies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 17
Default 4x1GB ram + athlon64 + nforce 4 = only ddr333

So..

I have Asus A8N-Sli Premium (nforce4 chipset) with 1302 bios, X2 4400+ (Toledo) and 2x1GB Kingston Valueram dd400 + 2x1GB Transcend Jetram ddr400.

When I have only 2 sticks plugged in, my pc works ok with ddr400. When I plug in all four, it reverts back to ddr333. Why's that? If I try to use ddr400 speed with 4 sticks, I get constant bsod's.

I'm not overclocking or anything, so that should not be an issue. What then? Incompatibility between different memories? Poor bios? Motherboad/chipset issue? I have no idea

Does anyone have suggestions what's wrong? Running the all-encompassing 3dmark05 my score dropped from 8200 to 7600, so the memory speed affects peformance a bit :P

Edit: Let me guess: It's the POS AMD cpu integrated memory controller? \o/
__________________
Asus A8N-SLi Premium || X2 4400+ || 2GB ram || 7800GTX || 666GB hd space || Viewsonic VP930, Logitech G5 etc.
Ihmemies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-07, 09:49 PM   #2
Ihmemies
Naamanka
 
Ihmemies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 17
Default Re: 4x1GB ram + athlon64 + nforce 4 = only ddr333

MC Retarded reporting:

I rule. While bashing out everything else, I forgot the most obvious cause for most issues: the user. So I plugged in the memory sticks again (just in case) and rechecked everything. Seems I had forgotten to switch CAS latency from 2.5 to 3...

...

So everything seems to be ok now

Sorry for all the fuss
__________________
Asus A8N-SLi Premium || X2 4400+ || 2GB ram || 7800GTX || 666GB hd space || Viewsonic VP930, Logitech G5 etc.
Ihmemies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-07, 09:51 PM   #3
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: 4x1GB ram + athlon64 + nforce 4 = only ddr333

It's ok. You're only human after all.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.