Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-08-07, 12:46 AM   #1
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Vista Game Explorer Editor

https://sourceforge.net/projects/vistagameeditor/

HOME PAGE
http://ryzza007.googlepages.com/vgee

so far i can't get it to work, but beta 3 is very close
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-07, 07:09 AM   #2
Wolfhound
Moving to new home
 
Wolfhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,358
Send a message via MSN to Wolfhound Send a message via Yahoo to Wolfhound
Default Re: Vista Game Explorer Editor

I try it when I get home.
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3,4 | 4Gigs (2x2) OCZ Reaper PC-8500 | Gigabyte P35-DS3R | Western Digital 500G Caviar SE16 SATA2 NCQ | Seagate160 Gig 7200.9 SATA NCQ | Maxtor 300Gig SATA NCQ | Asus Geforce 260GTX | Samsung Syncmaster 930BF 19'' | BeQuiet Straight Power 700W | Cooler Master CM690 |Windows Vista x64 SP2 |Windows XP SP3 [Deceased PSU, no money for new one, stucked with laptop and XBOX 360]

Macbook Pro 13': 4gigs | Core2 Duo 2,53Mhz | 250Gigs HDD |geforce 9400M| aluminium unibody | Mac OS X 10.6.2 Snow Leopard |gentoo Linux 2.631 kernel


Wolfhound´s Brute: http://wolfhound77.mybrute.com
Wolfhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-07, 02:39 PM   #3
RAY16
Defenestration Specialist
 
RAY16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Land of a Thousand Suns
Posts: 1,039
Default Re: Vista Game Explorer Editor

I was hoping somebody would release something like this.
__________________
| Xbox/Games for Windows LIVE: NeoHumanity | Steam: RAY16 |
| Random Textual Nonsense | Random Visual Stimuli | Twitch.tv Stream |
RAY16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-07, 03:01 PM   #4
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Vista Game Explorer Editor

I don't get it, his guide shows you how to do it without his program... what does his program do?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-07, 07:32 PM   #5
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Vista Game Explorer Editor

Be careful with what items you alter with this program, I had to reformat because I totally borked the Games Explorer using this program when messing with games which were already detected properly by the Explorer. It's good for adding games which aren't in the explorer though, such as STALKER.

Also aside from Lost Planet, Steam games such as CS, CSS, HL2 etc are really incompatible with the Games Explorer, there are multiple entries added for each and none of them actually WORK in launching the game. Changing the file path with this program didn't help either. So I hid all my Steam games except for Lost Planet, which works well in the Games Explorer.
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-07, 07:39 PM   #6
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Vista Game Explorer Editor

Nice. I've always wanted Stalker in the Games Explorer as more than just an icon.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-07, 09:14 PM   #7
RAY16
Defenestration Specialist
 
RAY16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Land of a Thousand Suns
Posts: 1,039
Default Re: Vista Game Explorer Editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxDeadlyxX
Be careful with what items you alter with this program, I had to reformat because I totally borked the Games Explorer using this program when messing with games which were already detected properly by the Explorer. It's good for adding games which aren't in the explorer though, such as STALKER.

Also aside from Lost Planet, Steam games such as CS, CSS, HL2 etc are really incompatible with the Games Explorer, there are multiple entries added for each and none of them actually WORK in launching the game. Changing the file path with this program didn't help either. So I hid all my Steam games except for Lost Planet, which works well in the Games Explorer.
Thanks for the heads up.
__________________
| Xbox/Games for Windows LIVE: NeoHumanity | Steam: RAY16 |
| Random Textual Nonsense | Random Visual Stimuli | Twitch.tv Stream |
RAY16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 12:06 AM   #8
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Vista Game Explorer Editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
I don't get it, his guide shows you how to do it without his program... what does his program do?
that guide was done before the program. program does what the guide does.


btw, i can't get it to work, maybe i'm doing something wrong.

for those that got it to work, what did you excactly do?
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-09-07, 12:34 AM   #9
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Vista Game Explorer Editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
that guide was done before the program. program does what the guide does.


btw, i can't get it to work, maybe i'm doing something wrong.

for those that got it to work, what did you excactly do?
I selected one of the Steam games which don't work anyway at the beginning of the Wizard, then from there you load whatever game you want to change, put your own settings in and click 'Update'. Then you should see the new entry in the Games Explorer.

Games like Half-Life Source and HL2:EP1 box art which I don't even own showed up, when I looked up the shortcuts for those they were actually other games that I do own like Lost Coast, but the Games Explorer seemed totally confused as to what was what. I think Valve and Microsoft really need to work on this a bit. No game other than Lost Planet seemes to even launch properly from the Games Explorer, regardless of whether Steam is open or not.
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 02:18 AM   #10
Wolfhound
Moving to new home
 
Wolfhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,358
Send a message via MSN to Wolfhound Send a message via Yahoo to Wolfhound
Default Re: Vista Game Explorer Editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxDeadlyxX
I selected one of the Steam games which don't work anyway at the beginning of the Wizard, then from there you load whatever game you want to change, put your own settings in and click 'Update'. Then you should see the new entry in the Games Explorer.

Games like Half-Life Source and HL2:EP1 box art which I don't even own showed up, when I looked up the shortcuts for those they were actually other games that I do own like Lost Coast, but the Games Explorer seemed totally confused as to what was what. I think Valve and Microsoft really need to work on this a bit. No game other than Lost Planet seemes to even launch properly from the Games Explorer, regardless of whether Steam is open or not.
That´s true I have 3 icons that said Half-Life 2: Episode 1 and 2 icons that said Counter-Strike: source, the 3 icons correspond to HL2, lost coast and Episode 1 and the 2 CSS icons correspond to CSS and Insurgency.
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3,4 | 4Gigs (2x2) OCZ Reaper PC-8500 | Gigabyte P35-DS3R | Western Digital 500G Caviar SE16 SATA2 NCQ | Seagate160 Gig 7200.9 SATA NCQ | Maxtor 300Gig SATA NCQ | Asus Geforce 260GTX | Samsung Syncmaster 930BF 19'' | BeQuiet Straight Power 700W | Cooler Master CM690 |Windows Vista x64 SP2 |Windows XP SP3 [Deceased PSU, no money for new one, stucked with laptop and XBOX 360]

Macbook Pro 13': 4gigs | Core2 Duo 2,53Mhz | 250Gigs HDD |geforce 9400M| aluminium unibody | Mac OS X 10.6.2 Snow Leopard |gentoo Linux 2.631 kernel


Wolfhound´s Brute: http://wolfhound77.mybrute.com
Wolfhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 02:19 AM   #11
Wolfhound
Moving to new home
 
Wolfhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,358
Send a message via MSN to Wolfhound Send a message via Yahoo to Wolfhound
Default Re: Vista Game Explorer Editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxDeadlyxX
Be careful with what items you alter with this program, I had to reformat because I totally borked the Games Explorer using this program when messing with games which were already detected properly by the Explorer. It's good for adding games which aren't in the explorer though, such as STALKER.

Also aside from Lost Planet, Steam games such as CS, CSS, HL2 etc are really incompatible with the Games Explorer, there are multiple entries added for each and none of them actually WORK in launching the game. Changing the file path with this program didn't help either. So I hid all my Steam games except for Lost Planet, which works well in the Games Explorer.

Sin Episodes: Emergence works well too, but if you have Steam running and try to run an Steam game from Game explorer, it gives the message saying that Steam is running
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3,4 | 4Gigs (2x2) OCZ Reaper PC-8500 | Gigabyte P35-DS3R | Western Digital 500G Caviar SE16 SATA2 NCQ | Seagate160 Gig 7200.9 SATA NCQ | Maxtor 300Gig SATA NCQ | Asus Geforce 260GTX | Samsung Syncmaster 930BF 19'' | BeQuiet Straight Power 700W | Cooler Master CM690 |Windows Vista x64 SP2 |Windows XP SP3 [Deceased PSU, no money for new one, stucked with laptop and XBOX 360]

Macbook Pro 13': 4gigs | Core2 Duo 2,53Mhz | 250Gigs HDD |geforce 9400M| aluminium unibody | Mac OS X 10.6.2 Snow Leopard |gentoo Linux 2.631 kernel


Wolfhound´s Brute: http://wolfhound77.mybrute.com
Wolfhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 06:22 AM   #12
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Vista Game Explorer Editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxDeadlyxX
I selected one of the Steam games which don't work anyway at the beginning of the Wizard, then from there you load whatever game you want to change, put your own settings in and click 'Update'. Then you should see the new entry in the Games Explorer.

Games like Half-Life Source and HL2:EP1 box art which I don't even own showed up, when I looked up the shortcuts for those they were actually other games that I do own like Lost Coast, but the Games Explorer seemed totally confused as to what was what. I think Valve and Microsoft really need to work on this a bit. No game other than Lost Planet seemes to even launch properly from the Games Explorer, regardless of whether Steam is open or not.
i initially picked UT 2004, and when i tried to edit an entry for a game that wasn't detected by game explorer, settings won't take effect.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(Kotaku) Do We Really Need Video Game Consoles Anymore? [Speak Up On Kotaku] News Archived News Items 1 06-16-12 11:35 AM
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Saturday Crapshoot: Quest For Glory 4 1/2 News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 11:10 AM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Diablo 3: Give a knight a shield, and he kicks you from the game News Archived News Items 0 05-15-12 11:10 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.