Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-11-07, 04:27 AM   #1
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Another "XP capable of DX10" report

yep, you guessed it, Good old Charlie D. over at the INQ spewing more garbage. Oddly enough though this one actually sounds plausible and, it includes nvidia in the reasoning, it's a bit interesting either way. I would post a link to the article but weirdly the site seems to have crashed immediately after I read it....... any MS conspiracy theories are welcome.

Edit: Link: http://www.theinquirer.net/default.aspx?article=40913
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 04:54 AM   #2
Wolfhound
Moving to new home
 
Wolfhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,358
Send a message via MSN to Wolfhound Send a message via Yahoo to Wolfhound
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcrox
yep, you guessed it, Good old Charlie D. over at the INQ spewing more garbage. Oddly enough though this one actually sounds plausible and, it includes nvidia in the reasoning, it's a bit interesting either way. I would post a link to the article but weirdly the site seems to have crashed immediately after I read it....... any MS conspiracy theories are welcome.

Edit: Link: http://www.theinquirer.net/default.aspx?article=40913

Same as always, MS´s conspiracy to force users to upgrade to Vista, what is next? MS known that aliens exist the facts are that they have some in Redmond offices, a friend of mine had seen them, in fact we all saw them, first one is Steve Balmer, commander in chief of the total invasion of our planet. Just kidding, MS said that DX10 what impossible to backport to Windows XP, probably this isn´t the truth, but who knows?
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3,4 | 4Gigs (2x2) OCZ Reaper PC-8500 | Gigabyte P35-DS3R | Western Digital 500G Caviar SE16 SATA2 NCQ | Seagate160 Gig 7200.9 SATA NCQ | Maxtor 300Gig SATA NCQ | Asus Geforce 260GTX | Samsung Syncmaster 930BF 19'' | BeQuiet Straight Power 700W | Cooler Master CM690 |Windows Vista x64 SP2 |Windows XP SP3 [Deceased PSU, no money for new one, stucked with laptop and XBOX 360]

Macbook Pro 13': 4gigs | Core2 Duo 2,53Mhz | 250Gigs HDD |geforce 9400M| aluminium unibody | Mac OS X 10.6.2 Snow Leopard |gentoo Linux 2.631 kernel


Wolfhound´s Brute: http://wolfhound77.mybrute.com
Wolfhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 05:36 AM   #3
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,873
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

I don't get it - how is not releasing DX10 forcing users to linux, in any way shape or form?
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 06:01 AM   #4
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,795
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

That article I think actually blames NVIDIA why there will be no DX10 in XP...memeory virtualisation. Can any confirm?
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 06:38 AM   #5
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfhound
Same as always, MS´s conspiracy to force users to upgrade to Vista, what is next? MS known that aliens exist the facts are that they have some in Redmond offices, a friend of mine had seen them, in fact we all saw them, first one is Steve Balmer, commander in chief of the total invasion of our planet. Just kidding, MS said that DX10 what impossible to backport to Windows XP, probably this isn´t the truth, but who knows?
I doubt it's impossible, but it wouldn't be worth it just from a productivity standpoint alone. To me it's all pretty simple. If an end user doesn't want to pay for the move to Vista and DX10, then stay with XP. It's not like DX9 looked bad, 10 just looks better.

On Balmer...he is a fricken alien, planet assholius. I saw it on MIB. Truth.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 06:51 AM   #6
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUYA
That article I think actually blames NVIDIA why there will be no DX10 in XP...memeory virtualisation. Can any confirm?
I think they mean that memory virtualisation was a requirement for DX10, but it can't be done in XP. So Vista was required. But when Nvidia couldn't do it in Vista either, they made memory virtualisation completely optional for DX10. Threrefore, DX10 can be implemented in XP supposedly, since MV is no longer a requirement... Sounds reasonable...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 06:54 AM   #7
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

If it's so possible, why aint someone done it yet. These storys keep popping up and yet there's still nothing to prove it's possible.

Don't get me wrong, i'd love it to work, but I see no PROOF!
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 08:39 AM   #8
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,795
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony
I think they mean that memory virtualisation was a requirement for DX10, but it can't be done in XP. So Vista was required. But when Nvidia couldn't do it in Vista either, they made memory virtualisation completely optional for DX10. Threrefore, DX10 can be implemented in XP supposedly, since MV is no longer a requirement... Sounds reasonable...
Cheers....my reading comprehension is getting worse but, I did see a hint of NV bashing
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-11-07, 09:21 AM   #9
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaWolf_HK
I don't get it - how is not releasing DX10 forcing users to linux, in any way shape or form?
Because there is no DX10 in XP, I feel that I'm being forced over to Vista. Now you know why I went to Mac/Linux.

Just like in the Crysis DX9 vs DX10 videos, there is not enough difference in visual effects to make me wanna switch to Vista. And like I said in another thread, unless you have a dual-core rig with 2GB RAM, it's pointless to choose Vista over XP. Why waste 10-20 FPS (yes, it's true for my rig, at least on CSS) in your games if you don't have a monster rig?
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 09:37 AM   #10
maxpaynez
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 93
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fats_43
B.S. also nice source lmfao.


Yea... you know what's funny... I play Shadowrun in XP. Don't believe everything MS and NV feed you. In fact Shadowrun runs much better in XP. Imagine that... and they said this:


Shadowrun Vista and Games for Windows LIVE FAQ - Updated 05 June 2007

Q: Is the PC version Windows Vista only?
A: Yep. It uses Microsoft's new Games for Windows - LIVE service.


Source: http://forums.shadowrun.com/forums/thread/53910.aspx

I love how this thread gets buried here so no one will see it, whatever. Anyways - my point was that MS says it's Vista only, however someone released files that allow u to play it in XP. I'm sure this trend will continue.
maxpaynez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 09:47 AM   #11
maxpaynez
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 93
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

Yes, this is from fudzilla.com but confirmed...


Now it is official, the rumor that Gears Of War would be a Vista exclusive game is no more. Did Microsoft really decided to let go of the entire "Games for Windows Live is Vista exclusive" concept? It sure looks like it did.

Maybe the feedback that it got from the Shadowrun and Halo 2 "fix" for XP made Microsoft realise that it is not yet time for Vista exclusive games. Gears of War for PC will include DirectX 10 support on Vista, but it will also work on XP with DirectX 9. You can check out the "E3 2007 MS Press Conference Gameplay" video here.

This is a good thing and we are happy about it, even Viva Pinata that has been announced, will also support LIVE on Vista and XP.



haha less and less moving towards Vista now!! I almost feel bad for those that went and spent $599 for Vista when it first came out. I've seen OEM on newegg now for under $200.
maxpaynez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 10:00 AM   #12
tieros
Registered User
 
tieros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 374
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

Charlie "forgot" to mention that the video part of the hardware abstraction layer in Vista is COMPLETELY different from XP. MS could support DX10 in XP, but it would either be a complete rewrite of HAL, or it would be a tacked-on emulator that would have it's own bugs and suffer from the same context switching that chokes graphics performance in XP currently.

The audio and graphics parts of Vista are brand new, which is why the drivers for those two subsystems are the weakest. But, the new model allows for significant performance increases over XP. It's just going to take the driver writers some time to master the new approach.
__________________
Athlon64 x2 3800@2400MHz º eVGA 8800GTS 640MB º eVGA NF44 SLI mATX mobo
OCZ 2GB DDR400 Gold XTC RAM º Dual Samsung Spinpoint 250GB Sata HDDs in RAID 0
Aspire X-QPACK case w/Enermax EG425P-VE PSU º Liteon Dual Layer DVD Burner º Dual Dell FP 2001 20" LCD
tieros is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Report: Smartphones, Not Computers, Drive the Most Facebook Use News Archived News Items 0 05-08-12 08:10 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.