Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-11-07, 09:05 AM   #13
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

Personally, I think there would be a lot less complaining about all this if they came out with a Vista Gamers Edition. A stripped down version designed for running games as fast as possible, the whole DRM thing is turning out to be just a fiasco... like I said before, the only thing all this DRM stuff has done is made it more difficult for people who buy legitimate stuff to use it. The 's are still out there ing.
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 10:02 AM   #14
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

I don't understand the problem with Vista. I've been using it since it's UK release and the only thing the vexes me is the drivers, which are very close to being sorted. I got the OEM version of Ultimate which cost me about 90 + tax.

I've changed the motherboard twice now and just told them the old ones had died, they gave me a new reg. number there and then, no questions asked.

I find it more stable and faster than XP, it even boots quicker. And the main thing, it's all ready for DX10.

Why fook about trying to get DX10 to work on XP, even if it is possible i'm sure it'd cause more stress than using Vista.

This is just my opinion from my experience the Vista, i'm sure there's a load of u who think i'm talkin' crap, but I quite like it. So there!
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 10:34 AM   #15
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs
I don't understand the problem with Vista. I've been using it since it's UK release and the only thing the vexes me is the drivers, which are very close to being sorted. I got the OEM version of Ultimate which cost me about 90 + tax.

I've changed the motherboard twice now and just told them the old ones had died, they gave me a new reg. number there and then, no questions asked.

I find it more stable and faster than XP, it even boots quicker. And the main thing, it's all ready for DX10.

Why fook about trying to get DX10 to work on XP, even if it is possible i'm sure it'd cause more stress than using Vista.

This is just my opinion from my experience the Vista, i'm sure there's a load of u who think i'm talkin' crap, but I quite like it. So there!
Again (apparently nobody reads my posts), look at your specs. No wonder you're getting a good experience from Vista. Now look at my specs. See where I'm getting at here?
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 10:46 AM   #16
Slammin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,123
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm
Again (apparently nobody reads my posts), look at your specs. No wonder you're getting a good experience from Vista. Now look at my specs. See where I'm getting at here?

Get a job!
__________________
Abit IN9 32x MAX- Kentsfield QX6700 @3520
1.5 vcore watercooled D-Tek Fuzion/PA-160/MCR120/2x MCP655
2x2GB G-Skill 1066 5-5-5-15 2T@1.9vdimm
2x EVGA 580GTX 1.5GB Sli
2x 74GB Sata Raptor Raid0
2x 320GB Hitachi Sata II
X-FI Elite Pro
Dell U3011
Lian Li V2100B
Corsair HX1000
Slammin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 10:47 AM   #17
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm
Again (apparently nobody reads my posts), look at your specs. No wonder you're getting a good experience from Vista. Now look at my specs. See where I'm getting at here?
I agree, Vista runs great on this system. My Abit AN8/4000+ with 2gigs of memory and a 640MB GTS that I use for school doesn't fair so well with it, I put XP back on it. My neighbor (the idiot that she is, wouldn't listen to me) bought a brand new computer from some chain store with Vista on it, sticker right on the non-vented plain Jane toaster-oven of a case claims it's "Vista ready"...... Vista runs like a herd of turtles in a blizzard headed up hill on that POS.
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 11:44 AM   #18
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm
Again (apparently nobody reads my posts), look at your specs. No wonder you're getting a good experience from Vista. Now look at my specs. See where I'm getting at here?
I have a friend who just got a laptop with a Celeron M 1.7ghz CPU and Vista basic installed. It ran like a big stinky bag of poo. But when I delved deeper I saw it only have 512mb of RAM, which was totally used up just running the OS plus about 200mb of page file.

I recommended he install some more RAM, at least another 512mb. He put another Gb in it and it now runs pretty damn well, to say is got a crappy Celeron M chip in it.

Vista uses about 600-700mb just for it's self, so 1 Gb is the absolute minimum required. Better with 1.5 or 2 gig, and as seen as RAM is so damn cheap now-a-days there's no point in not doing the upgrade.

Anyhow, if your system is so poo, how the hell u gonna run DX10 on it. I assume it don't have DX10 card in there, so why would ya want Vista anyway?!?
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 12:44 PM   #19
LycosV
Registered User
 
LycosV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 888
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

Vista is a new operating system for new computers. Sure it doesn't run as good on older systems, but that's been the case for every OS upgrade ever. I can remember shoehorning Windows 95 onto my family's 486SX back in the day when it was brand new. It ran like crap, but I did it anyway so I could see what the future was like. When we finally got a new machine 95 ran like a dream and there's no way we were going to drop it back to DOS/3.1.

Back on topic, it's always possible to program something, in this case making DX10 work in XP, but as has been previously pointed out here, the drivers between XP and Vista are entirely different. You'd have to port DX10 back to XP (If you can do that, you should port it to Macs and Linux instead), AND you'd have to port every driver revision from nVidia and ATI to XP so that you could actually USE DX10 in XP.

Best case you could get would be emulating a connection for your drivers and DX10 and no matter how you slice it that's going to run drastically worse than Vista ever will on your machine.
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 01:17 PM   #20
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs
Anyhow, if your system is so poo, how the hell u gonna run DX10 on it. I assume it don't have DX10 card in there, so why would ya want Vista anyway?!?
I was talking about gaming. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to see that Vista can run a web browser and some office apps pretty standard. But when it comes to gaming, Vista just Tonya Hardings your rig.

I've got a AMD 3800X2 on it's way and plan on upgrading my 7600GT to a 8600GT later this year. I'll bench my system with Crysis once I upgrade and see what numbers I get.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-11-07, 01:54 PM   #21
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm
I was talking about gaming. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to see that Vista can run a web browser and some office apps pretty standard. But when it comes to gaming, Vista just Tonya Hardings your rig.

I've got a AMD 3800X2 on it's way and plan on upgrading my 7600GT to a 8600GT later this year. I'll bench my system with Crysis once I upgrade and see what numbers I get.


wow, thats an awesome verb hahaha.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 02:05 PM   #22
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

Not this guy again with his Windows ME II. He puts a bad name to Armenian people. I'm half Armenian and half Greek.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 02:30 PM   #23
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm
I was talking about gaming. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to see that Vista can run a web browser and some office apps pretty standard. But when it comes to gaming, Vista just Tonya Hardings your rig.

I've got a AMD 3800X2 on it's way and plan on upgrading my 7600GT to a 8600GT later this year. I'll bench my system with Crysis once I upgrade and see what numbers I get.
LOL. Don't forget the drivers still are no-where near perfect yet. It's true that Vista needs more power, but like LycosV said, new OS's always do.

BTW: I doubt a 8600GT will run Crysis very well at all, even on lowish settings. Ya gonna need MORE POWER dude!

Anyhoo, yes, back on topic. I'm no expert, but i'm sure if DX10 was made to run on XP, there would have to be sooo much of the OS changed it would probably run like Vista anyhow. And who the hell is gonna make the drivers, cos i'm damn sure nVidia aint. Sounds like too much of a ball ache.

It would make a very interesting experiment, but as a realistic option for full time use, I can't see it. I am a total pessimist though.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-07, 02:33 PM   #24
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,869
Default Re: Another "XP capable of DX10" report

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm
Because there is no DX10 in XP, I feel that I'm being forced over to Vista. Now you know why I went to Mac/Linux.
Right, but those don't have DX10 either. By switching to those OSes, you don't gain that benefit. So again, how is that forcing you to switch to another OS? It seems to me either you want DX10, or you don't. Choosing no doesn't force you away from XP. This is honestly the most retarded and petty talking point I have ever heard anybody use.

BTW, technology wise DX10 is a large step ahead of XP, linux, and OSX. None of those OSes have a driver configuration that could support many of the DX10 functions (read: programming side, not visual effects side) without taking a huge performance hit. Yes, you probably could emulate or simulate all of the DX10 graphical improvements in XP/linux/OSX, I don't think anybody ever doubted that. But it would require much better hardware to get the same performance that you'll get in vista.

To further that I would say the entire driver model in vista is the best of any OS. It allows the OS as a whole to be far more stable and heavily reduces the chances of ever getting a rootkit installed, because most of the hardware functions that stand a chance at crashing or being exploited are performed in user space rather than kernel space.

For your macintosh that may not matter a whole lot as everything comes from crapple anyways. But some of us like having superior graphics cards, sound cards, etc, that aren't available from the OS vendor. Either that or are cheaper but same or better quality than the OS vendor.
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Report: Smartphones, Not Computers, Drive the Most Facebook Use News Archived News Items 0 05-08-12 07:10 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.