Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-20-07, 09:43 PM   #1
Uberpwnage
Registered User
 
Uberpwnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 898
Default New C2D E6600, temp monitoring is inconsistant

Just built my first C2D system today, got an E6600 for just under $200 on sale at a local store. I wanted the 9x multi instead of the 8x on the E6750. Figured it would hold me over until the G0 quad cores are more common.

Anyway, specs are same as in my sig. After installing windows I ran coretemp and it reports about 30*C idle on both cores and 40*C load. I have 4 120mm fans installed, all at 78cfm. I thought those temps were really good, but when I run Smart guardian or speedfan it reports my idle temp at 45*C so which one is correct?

This is coming from my old AMD rig where coretemp reported similar readings to smart guardian, are the core 2s different? I really want to start overclocking this thing but the temps incosistancies are disconcerting...
__________________
Core i7 980x @ 4.4GHz - EK Supreme HF - BlackIce GTX 360 - MCP655 - Rampage II Extreme BIOS 1639 - EVGA GTX 480 SLI - Corsair Dominator 3x2GB DDR3 1600
2 x 1TB Samsung F1 RAID 0 - Plextor PX-880SA DVD Burner - Dell 3008WFP - Silverstone Zeus 1200w PSU - Lian Li PC-P80 - Razer Mamba - Logitech G15 v2
Windows 7 x64, 3DMark06:30000, 3DMark Vantage: P38000

Eurocom M860TU: X9100 - 9800M GT - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333 - 320GB 7200rpm - 15.4in 1920x1200

Last edited by Uberpwnage; 07-25-07 at 12:47 PM.
Uberpwnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-07, 10:16 PM   #2
Ambrose
Registered User
 
Ambrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 326
Default Re: New C2D E6600, temp monitoring is inconsistant

I started out my overclocking expedition with SpeedFan, using the CPU temp as my guide. I found out though that the CPU temp is not as accurate as the two Core temps. I then got the program CoreTemp and compared the two core temperatures as measured by CoreTemp and SpeedFan and they were exactly the same.

I've heard a lot of good things about CoreTemp so that's what I'm using.
__________________
<Antec 900 Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Case>
<EVGA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard>
<Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3.2GHz>
<Evga 8800 GTX @ 630/1050>
<OCZ Flex XLC 2GB DDR2 800>
<Samsung 500GB 7200 RPM Sata Hard drive>

3DMark06 score: 12243
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...0&UID=11981243
Windows Vista Ultimate

Avid gamer, dedicated student (most of the time).
Ambrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-07, 11:53 AM   #3
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: New C2D E6600, temp monitoring is inconsistant

Ya... my ASUS Ai will say my idle temp is 36c while CoreTemp says its 26c. Quite frankly I love the CoreTemp reading... but I am unsure what to trust so I go with the highest just to be on the safe side.
__________________
Intelฎ Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-07, 11:21 AM   #4
Libertysyclone
I Lie about MPG
 
Libertysyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SL,UT
Posts: 531
Send a message via MSN to Libertysyclone
Default Re: New C2D E6600, temp monitoring is inconsistant

I personally use Everest Ultimate, it has 90% of the benchmark/testing that I need and all of the monitoring utilities I love that it reports on the G15 and all th emonitoring on the LCD is fully programable.
__________________
System=
Q6600@3.8Ghz/ EVGA 790i Ultra/ EVGA 9800GX2/ and some H20
Libertysyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-07, 11:51 AM   #5
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,062
Default Re: New C2D E6600, temp monitoring is inconsistant

Quote:
Originally Posted by $n][pErMan
Ya... my ASUS Ai will say my idle temp is 36c while CoreTemp says its 26c. Quite frankly I love the CoreTemp reading... but I am unsure what to trust so I go with the highest just to be on the safe side.
+1
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-07, 04:07 PM   #6
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: New C2D E6600, temp monitoring is inconsistant

Core Temp, Speed Fan, Intel tat, Everest

They all give a different reading, even when running at the same time, ranging from CoreTemp's 29C* to tat's 44C* @ idle. Which is totally unlike my last AMD setup (6000+) where SpeedFan, Everest and CoreTemp all had pretty close to the same readings.

I've decided not to worry about it at all.... if the CPU melts and ruins the mobo, just gives me an excuse to buy newer better stuff lol.
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-07, 05:29 AM   #7
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: New C2D E6600, temp monitoring is inconsistant

So... if all temperature monitoring software gives different readings, is the BIOS usually accurate at least? I know they used to be the same way, but with on-die temp sensors they must have fixed it. Right?

I just checked with my currect setup and I get totally different temps between core temp and speedfan.

How the hell are they different? I thought they just displayed the numbers that the temp sensor was recording...
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-07, 06:13 AM   #8
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: New C2D E6600, temp monitoring is inconsistant

I get really weird readings from Speed fan with my Q6600. Right now it's listing the CPU temp as 82C!

Even though Abit's own utility reports the usual 25-30C, core temp reports 35C. Might give Everest a try. Would be nice to have temps on the g15 seeing as Sirreal isn't Vista ready.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-25-07, 10:56 AM   #9
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: New C2D E6600, temp monitoring is inconsistant

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
So... if all temperature monitoring software gives different readings, is the BIOS usually accurate at least? I know they used to be the same way, but with on-die temp sensors they must have fixed it. Right?

I just checked with my currect setup and I get totally different temps between core temp and speedfan.

How the hell are they different? I thought they just displayed the numbers that the temp sensor was recording...
It's more than a little annoying isn't it? 15C* difference in 2 progs that are running at the same time... thats 60F* difference!! Maybe the local weatherman is influencing these utilities... he's about as accurate.

Edit: one utility reads System 31C* the other reads it as -65C* wewt... I give up.
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-07, 12:44 PM   #10
Uberpwnage
Registered User
 
Uberpwnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 898
Default Re: New C2D E6600, temp monitoring is inconsistant

Looks like I'm not the only one with this problem lol. I went ahead and started oc'ing, temps aren't really much different then they were at stock, and everything seems to be stable. So far I love my new setup
__________________
Core i7 980x @ 4.4GHz - EK Supreme HF - BlackIce GTX 360 - MCP655 - Rampage II Extreme BIOS 1639 - EVGA GTX 480 SLI - Corsair Dominator 3x2GB DDR3 1600
2 x 1TB Samsung F1 RAID 0 - Plextor PX-880SA DVD Burner - Dell 3008WFP - Silverstone Zeus 1200w PSU - Lian Li PC-P80 - Razer Mamba - Logitech G15 v2
Windows 7 x64, 3DMark06:30000, 3DMark Vantage: P38000

Eurocom M860TU: X9100 - 9800M GT - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333 - 320GB 7200rpm - 15.4in 1920x1200
Uberpwnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-07, 12:52 PM   #11
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,062
Default Re: New C2D E6600, temp monitoring is inconsistant

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcrox
2gig PC8500 Corsair Dominator w/ fan thingy (<---- I think thats the technical term for it anyway)
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-07, 03:12 PM   #12
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: New C2D E6600, temp monitoring is inconsistant

My readings are always all the same! Am I doing something wrong?
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ฉ1998 - 2014, nV News.