Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-21-07, 05:28 PM   #1
bartz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7
Default Change refresh rate in twinview

I followed some steps in de readme file to setup twinview. It works fine, but I want to change my refresh rate. Currently it's 85 Hz, but my monitor give a very high sound at this rate, so I want to lower it to 75 or 80 then this irritating sound is gone, but how can I do this ?

Below, my xorg.conf settings:
Code:
Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor[0]"
    VendorName     "NEC"
    ModelName      "NEC FE1250+"
    UseModes       "Modes[0]"
    DisplaySize     396    297
    HorizSync       30.0 - 110.0
    VertRefresh     43.0 - 160.0
    Option         "CalcAlgorithm" "XServerPool"
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device[0]"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA"
    BoardName      "GeForce 6700 XL"
    Screen          0
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen[0]"
    Device         "Device[0]"
    Monitor        "Monitor[0]"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "usevnc" "no"
    Option         "TwinView" "True"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30.0 - 110.0"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "43.0 - 160.0"
Option "MetaModes" "1600x1200 , 1600x1200"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT , CRT"
Option "NoTwinViewXineramaInfo" "false"
option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       15
        Modes      "1600x1200" "1600x1024" "1600x1000" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1440x900" "1280x960" "1366x768" "1280x800" "1152x864" "1280x768" "1024x768" "1280x600" "1024x600" "800x600" "768x576" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes      "1600x1200" "1600x1024" "1600x1000" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1440x900" "1280x960" "1366x768" "1280x800" "1152x864" "1280x768" "1024x768" "1280x600" "1024x600" "800x600" "768x576" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes      "1600x1200" "1600x1024" "1600x1000" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1440x900" "1280x960" "1366x768" "1280x800" "1152x864" "1280x768" "1024x768" "1280x600" "1024x600" "800x600" "768x576" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       8
        Modes      "1600x1200" "1600x1024" "1600x1000" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1440x900" "1280x960" "1366x768" "1280x800" "1152x864" "1280x768" "1024x768" "1280x600" "1024x600" "800x600" "768x576" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
EndSection
bartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-07, 04:41 AM   #2
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Change refresh rate in twinview

First of all you need a modeline for each resolution which you want to run at 75Hz. These modelines need to be added to the monitor section of the primary monitor (yes, even for the second monitor!).

For instance if one of the modelines is called '1600x1200_75':

Option MetaModes "1600x1200, 1600x1200_75" which will use the 75Hz version for the second screen.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-07, 05:34 AM   #3
bartz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Change refresh rate in twinview

I tried this, but when I add the _75 to the modline, in this case I tried it on the second monitor, and I restart the x server the second monitor switches off and I've a one monitor configuration again.
bartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-07, 06:12 AM   #4
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Change refresh rate in twinview

First you need to calculate a modeline using a modeline calculator. If you didn't add a modeline to the monitor section then indeed the monitor will turn off.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-07, 07:00 AM   #5
bartz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Change refresh rate in twinview

I think it's not totally clear to me where to put this modline. I changed the modline in the srceen section because there's already a modline. Do I have to put it in the monitor section only or in both sections ?
Maybe you can show me using my xorg.conf file shown in the start post, thanks.
bartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-07, 03:04 PM   #6
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Change refresh rate in twinview

A modeline is something like this:
ModeLine "1400x1050_75" 155.85 1400 1496 1648 1896 1050 1051 1054 1096 -HSync +Vsync

In this case it is for 1400x1050 and it is called '1400x1050_75'. It can be used by putting '1400x1050_75' in the metamode. A modeline is calculated using a modeline calculator (gtf is one of them).
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Refresh rate fix for all Detonator drivers AshG NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 45 04-27-03 04:55 PM
New 40.41 refresh rate fix ???? Smokey NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 8 08-30-02 01:32 PM
Refresh rate fix for opengl? Zarich NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 1 08-29-02 02:47 PM
Refresh rate not fixed in SP3 Creole Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 2 08-03-02 11:32 AM
Multi monitor refresh rate problem ascully General Hardware 6 07-31-02 02:56 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.