Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-25-07, 08:09 PM   #1
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Beware of CCleaner

I had many troubles lately with X-Fi crackling sounds when in Game and Entertaiment modes, but not in Audio Creation (ASIO) mode. I uninstalled, reinstalled, etc., drivers and ALchemy 1.04, but it always went to crackling in Game mode eventually.

Finally, I realised, that CClearner "cleaning" was causing this. I can reproduce it. When I install Vista drivers and ALchemy from scratch, it works. If I run CCleaner once, it will break X-Fi EAX modes and only Audio Creation will continue working after reboot.

Permanent solution: uninstall CCleaner and never use it again. There is a nice little Windows utility for cleaning anyway...

// SORRY - mod, please move this to Vista forum
__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-07, 07:30 AM   #2
RAY16
Defenestration Specialist
 
RAY16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Land of a Thousand Suns
Posts: 1,039
Default Re: Beware of CCleaner

I've never had any problems with CCLeaner in XP, so it must be either a Vista or system specific issue. I would suggest you give the creator information on what you've discovered so that even if you personally decide to stop using it the creator can still fix it for the people that want to continue using it.
__________________
| Xbox/Games for Windows LIVE: NeoHumanity | Steam: RAY16 |
| Random Textual Nonsense | Random Visual Stimuli | Twitch.tv Stream |
RAY16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-07, 07:36 AM   #3
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Beware of CCleaner

I've had no probs either. Are u selecting tick-boxes other then the default ones??
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-07, 08:05 AM   #4
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Beware of CCleaner

Hmm... I can't say I've noticed anything significant like this and I've been using CCleaner for about 3 years.

I'll keep this in mind though.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-07, 08:42 AM   #5
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Beware of CCleaner

Although I myself have never used CCleaner, I have heard several reports of it screwing stuff up. Honestly, I don't trust ANYTHING that deletes keys out of my registry unless its an uninstaller. Watch what you install, research the keys it uses, and do the work yourself.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-07, 09:26 AM   #6
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Beware of CCleaner

I've never experienced any problems with CCleaner either, but I'm using WinXP Pro also. However, I bought Uniblue's RegistryBooster2 and I love it.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-07, 09:30 AM   #7
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: Beware of CCleaner

I use the default clean mode all the time without issues (on both Vista and XP). When I start to worry is by using the "Issues" tab (reg cleaner). I don't tend to use this mode anymore, unless absolutely necessary.
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-07, 09:49 AM   #8
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Re: Beware of CCleaner

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs
I've had no probs either. Are u selecting tick-boxes other then the default ones??
Default run, latest CCleaner, Vista x64 Ultimate, latest X-Fi and ALchemy drivers.
__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-26-07, 10:01 AM   #9
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Beware of CCleaner

Quote:
Originally Posted by radekhulan
Default run, latest CCleaner, Vista x64 Ultimate, latest X-Fi and ALchemy drivers.
I'm using the Strikers sound card so I must have avoided this. Aint there something u can un-tick to stop it removing this file.

Also, I NEVER run any regestry cleaner without doing a back-up 1st. Why risk it, it only takes a few seconds!
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-07, 10:20 AM   #10
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Beware of CCleaner

I get the same thing with Vista business 32-bit, if I run CCleaner I start getting snap crackle and pop when playing games. I reinstalled the X-Fi drivers and it's back to normal.
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-07, 05:12 PM   #11
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Beware of CCleaner

Never a problem here using defaults. Audigy 4 though, so i may not be seeing it either.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CCleaner 3.20.1750 News Archived News Items 0 06-25-12 05:00 PM
Patent trolls beware: app makers partnering up with legal community News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 08:00 AM
Pirates Beware: DVD Anti-Piracy Warning Now Twice as Fierce News Archived News Items 0 05-09-12 03:10 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.