Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-30-07, 06:58 PM   #73
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Could this be what fixes Vista for a lot of us?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH0DAN
This fuked up RT,and so it goes ! I like other here,need RT.
Did you use vistabootpro to disable driver signing? I thought someone else said that worked for them. I'll be trying it in a bit too.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-07, 07:04 PM   #74
AdamK47
 
AdamK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 984
Default Re: Could this be what fixes Vista for a lot of us?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH0DAN
This fuked up RT,and so it goes ! I like other here,need RT.
Ahhh.. it's good never having to worry about this sort of stuff. I flashed my BIOS to the OC level I wanted before Vista was even officially released. No regrets.
AdamK47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-07, 07:11 PM   #75
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Could this be what fixes Vista for a lot of us?

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
Did you use vistabootpro to disable driver signing? I thought someone else said that worked for them. I'll be trying it in a bit too.
nvm, my bad. No RT here either.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-07, 07:17 PM   #76
rflair
W OOO OOO
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: T.O. Canada
Posts: 714
Default Re: Could this be what fixes Vista for a lot of us?

This screwed with RT on Vista x64 for me also but something strange happened, RT offered to disable driver signing for me, didn't work, I then rebooted, hit F8, choose no driver signing, booted into windows, Vista reported it didn't load the RT driver but RT worked and its driver was loaded.
__________________
Vista x64
Intel Q6600 (3.6GHz 1.45v)
ATI 4890
Sharp Aquos 42" 1080p
ASUS P5K-E
8.0G OCZ RAM
Rig is ON 24/7
rflair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-07, 07:28 PM   #77
ekovalsky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 31
Default Re: Could this be what fixes Vista for a lot of us?

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1
Did you use vistabootpro to disable driver signing? I thought someone else said that worked for them. I'll be trying it in a bit too.
Vistabootpro, BCD Easy, etc won't work since they all just use the same permanent fix that the patch disabled. They add the same string to the BCD store that this command line entry does:

bcdedit.exe /set loadoptions DDISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS

As far as I know, using F8 on every boot is now the only way to load unsigned drivers. Strangely Rivatuner does still work, but the Vista Peerguardian 2 packet driver will absolutely not load without using F8.
ekovalsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-07, 07:31 PM   #78
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Could this be what fixes Vista for a lot of us?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ekovalsky
Vistabootpro, BCD Easy, etc won't work since they all just use the same permanent fix that the patch disabled. They add the same string to the BCD store that this command line entry does:

bcdedit.exe /set loadoptions DDISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS

As far as I know, using F8 on every boot is now the only way to load unsigned drivers. Strangely Rivatuner does still work, but the Vista Peerguardian 2 packet driver will absolutely not load without using F8.
Ok, thanks. What a Pain in the...

I un-installed the hotfixes, still good and smooth like before. *fingers still crossed*
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-07, 07:47 PM   #79
leafo
Registered User
 
leafo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 79
Default Re: Could this be what fixes Vista for a lot of us?

Just installed them. I don't notice any change in copying a large directory of many files.

rthdribl.exe runs about 10% faster though.
I have not tried any full screen games yet though.

Anothing thing that I noticed that is annoying me is that pidgin's smooth scrolling effect is laggy now.
leafo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-07, 08:47 PM   #80
DRen72
Eastern Pipistrelle
 
DRen72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Cave
Posts: 2,059
Default Re: Could this be what fixes Vista for a lot of us?

Guys, why not use EXPERTool to overclock?
I do and it works fine with the 8800GTX.

http://www.gainward.com/en/support/XPRT_50.zip
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k
Video: EVGA GTX 780 / 24" BenQ FP241WZ LCD
Motherboard & RAM: ASRock P67 Extreme6 / 16GB DDR3 RAM
Storage: Corsair Force Series GT 265GB SSD / Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB / Two Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB drives
Optical Storage: Pioneer BDR-206DBKS
Sound: Sound Blaster X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
OS: Windows 8 (64-bit)
Other: Antec P183 Case / Corsair AX-1200 Power Supply / Logitech G5 (v2.0) / Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Console: XBox 360 Elite
DRen72 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-30-07, 09:13 PM   #81
TheSmJ
Registered User
 
TheSmJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Farmington Hills, MI
Posts: 83
Default Re: Could this be what fixes Vista for a lot of us?

Installed on Vista Ultimate x86. Everything seems fine.

Then again I hear its the x64 versions having the issues. If you have this version installed it may be best to wait a week or two for the official beta release.
__________________
CPU: Intel E8400 @ 4 GHz - Motherboard: abit IP35-Pro - Video Card: EVGA 8800 GTS 512 - RAM: 4GB Patriot Viper Fin - Hard Drive: 300GB Maxtor SATA2 - Heatsink/Fan: Custom Water system - Windows 7 x64
TheSmJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-07, 09:19 PM   #82
terror_adagio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 29
Default Re: Could this be what fixes Vista for a lot of us?

Apparently Microsoft will be releasing either a second beta or final versions of these patches sometime in August.

But the one's we have now are nice to have to tide us over!
__________________
Dell XPS M1710: Intel Core Duo 2 T7400 2.16Ghz, 4GB DDR2-667Mhz, 100GB 7200RPM, nVidia GeForce Go 7950 GTX 512MB, Windows Vista SP1, nVida Forceware 169.28
terror_adagio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-07, 09:27 PM   #83
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Could this be what fixes Vista for a lot of us?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRen72
Guys, why not use EXPERTool to overclock?
I do and it works fine with the 8800GTX.

http://www.gainward.com/en/support/XPRT_50.zip
Thanks, I'll give it a go.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-07, 12:07 AM   #84
leafo
Registered User
 
leafo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 79
Default Re: Could this be what fixes Vista for a lot of us?

heh, the directx tool included with expertool thinks I use DirectX version -1
leafo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Unity 5.12 Fixes Ubuntu OpenGL Performance Problems News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 01:20 PM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
A Lot Of Tamriel Estate: The Elder Scrolls Online News Archived News Items 0 05-04-12 06:00 AM
Nvidia Tray Icon in Vista? lutikri55 NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 4 10-30-07 03:25 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.