Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-30-07, 09:30 AM   #1
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Cant overclock past 3.25GHz stable?

Ok, im trying to clock my cpu past 3.25GHz .... i cant seem to manage to get it stable past 3.25GHz even with 1.45v, with my with my fsb at 400 and my memory at 800MHz thats a ratio of 1:1 that would take my cpu to 3.61GHz(ive also loosened my memory timings 5-5-5-15 ect) ..... now at this speed it loads the bios just fine! .... windows loads but before the desktop comes on i get a flash of a blue screen and the system just reboots,.... i would like to get my system stable at at least 3.4GHz however the same thing happens, any chance anybody could point me in the right direction i.e ratio, voltages, fsb, ect .... my current over clock is rock stable on 1.3v(orthos tested)......... as stated im trying to get my cpu to 3.4GHz.. anybody help me out here?

Below is my current settings, if you need anymore info let me know!


EDIT: wrong part of the forum... sorry! :P
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-07, 09:51 AM   #2
MaUiLoCaL
Registered User
 
MaUiLoCaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 511
Default Re: Cant overclock past 3.25GHz stable?

The only way you will reach 3.4GHz is by increasing your Vcore and even possibly your memory voltage. At least on my board 1.4 volts does the trick.
MaUiLoCaL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-07, 10:00 AM   #3
T.h.o.m.a.s.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 214
Default Re: Cant overclock past 3.25GHz stable?

you just have a less good core , mine does 3.6 at stock voltage , you just have to be lucky sometimes
T.h.o.m.a.s. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-07, 10:11 AM   #4
Libertysyclone
I Lie about MPG
 
Libertysyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SL,UT
Posts: 531
Send a message via MSN to Libertysyclone
Default Re: Cant overclock past 3.25GHz stable?

Aye, its your CPU I have tried pumping 1.6v to mine and can only get to 3.4 stable so I backed it down to stock Volts and run at 3.2Ghz. Sorry for your loss, I am in the same boat.
__________________
System=
Q6600@3.8Ghz/ EVGA 790i Ultra/ EVGA 9800GX2/ and some H20
Libertysyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-07, 10:14 AM   #5
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Cant overclock past 3.25GHz stable?

Ya know, overclocks aren't guaranteed. That's why they don't sell them running that fast.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-07, 11:46 AM   #6
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Cant overclock past 3.25GHz stable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaUiLoCaL
The only way you will reach 3.4GHz is by increasing your Vcore and even possibly your memory voltage.
So its nothing to do with the memory timings? .... looser means for a better over clock?
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-07, 11:49 AM   #7
hirantha
SUC SUDO
 
hirantha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NY, Staten Island
Posts: 2,211
Default Re: Cant overclock past 3.25GHz stable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATOJAR
So its nothing to do with the memory timings? .... looser means for a better over clock?
yep higher the RAM timing like 5.5.5.15 you have a better chance of pushing the processor MHz forward.
__________________
Intel i7 3770K
16 GB DDR3
Evga 670 SLI

Look me up in AION and GW2
Game Tag: Famorak
hirantha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-07, 01:06 PM   #8
Mr_LoL
Bush's Doppleganger
 
Mr_LoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangor North Wales UK
Posts: 5,205
Default Re: Cant overclock past 3.25GHz stable?

Mines the same. I have hit a wall at 3.2ghz. Anything higher even with more vcore becomes unstable. Damn.
__________________
Core i5 2500K@ 4.5, KFA2 GTX 570, Gigabyte Z68, 8GB Corsair XMS 1600MHZ, Antec Truepower New 650w, Coolermaster Storm Sniper, 1TB Samsung F1, Yamakasi Catleap 27", Samsung 245B, Asus Xonar DG...blah blah blah
Mr_LoL is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-30-07, 01:16 PM   #9
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,069
Default Re: Cant overclock past 3.25GHz stable?

His CPU is throttling.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-07, 04:38 PM   #10
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,858
Default Re: Cant overclock past 3.25GHz stable?

Make sure in your BIOS you have all the speedstep and other energy saving settings off.It always the luck of the draw when it comes to overclocking.I got lucky with my E6600 ,it will do 3.6gig at 1.31v ,but some of them need more juice and some just will not overclock that high.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers

Last edited by john19055; 08-04-07 at 06:56 AM.
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-07, 04:44 PM   #11
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Cant overclock past 3.25GHz stable?

Ahh so the C1E Support & Speedstep will affect the overclock?
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-07, 01:01 AM   #12
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,069
Default Re: Cant overclock past 3.25GHz stable?

yes disable both.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.